I never once claimed EPL wasn’t a predictable league. I started off by saying I think it is more competitive than it has been in other years. Whether that’s because top teams are worse or bottom teams better I don’t know but I think it’s the way it is.
Also think there are more decent teams which is the point I was making about Spurs, who puke has dismissed as also rans and he’s probably right, having a deserved win over the European champions. They and City are also rans yet have a lot of very good valuable players. This wasn’t true of the also rans in the EPL before.
Obviously it’s still predictable just think it’s less so this season, that’s all.
Park you fucking legend!!!
Yeah realse that but don’t think that Inter side will be near Champions this season. Same goes for Spurs actually.
As matter of interest do you think winners of the league will get significantly less points this year than previous years? Doubt it myself but could be wrong.
Leeds were also rans 10 years ago and knocked Barcelona, Lazio, Deportivo La Coruna to name a few out of the champion’s league…Newcastle had a decent run in the champion’s league a few years later as well but were still also rans, Villareal back in 2006 and Deportivo La Coruna went on decent runs in the champion’s league in recent times but were still also rans…Don’t think Spurs win tuesday night shows the strength of the league all the same
Probably not but Chelsea not quite as good as people think. they’re the best at hammering the small teams but have had an easy start and dropped points against Villa and City who I think are among the improving second tier.
United even needed a last minute winner to beat European giants Wolves!
Ah look, I just don’t think the EPL is as bad as the revisionists like you make out. Still probably the second best, if not the best league in the world, all things considered.
I’m getting a bit lost now don’t really know what point anyone’s trying to make. let’s leave this type of shit to KIB man and rocko…
Shan, how did Bebe fair today, heard he looked a bit out of his depth
I don’t think EPL is bad by any stretch gola. I just don’t think level of competition is as fierce as revisionists like you make out. At end of day I think the fact that you even think champions will have roughly same points total as always says it all really.
Goodnight Vienna
He was fairly poor. Wasted a good bit of ball. A lot of overhit crosses. I’ve seen him play better though, so I wouldn’t write him off just yet. He’s strong and quick, which takes you farther in the EPL than it does in other leagues. He’ll have to work on his final ball and his composure though.
Just to add that at least he was getting into the right areas but needs to look up a bit more and pick out some teamates instead of shooting at goal. Uniteds team was shocking today. Just great to follow Fc United of Manchesters late win from last night.
When the fuck did Bolo Zenden sign for Sunderland?
He’s there a goodwhile, maybe a year or so but has been injured and just plain shite so he’s kept a low profile.
Andy Carroll.
Thought this guy was meant to be good.
Awful attempt to control the ball following a misjudgement of the bounce by one of the Arsenal centre halves there.
Yes, I saw that but he’s capable of causing defenders serious trouble in the air. I think he’s the main reason they’ll stay up comfortably actually - they’ll pin teams back at home and he’ll be all over crosses into the box.
This Tiote bloke in centre midfield has impressed me for Newcastle today.
Carroll is a handful in the air and has more than decent pace too. Anyone who says or thinks otherwise hasnt seen much of him. I’d agree with Puke, he’ll be the difference between them staying up.
I was watching the Rome derby on my laptop but had the Arsenal-Newcastle game on the TV in the background so I’m going to give my €0.02 on it despite not paying it too much attention.
-
Fair play to Chris Hughton. It’s clear from their organisation and discipline that they’re a well coached unit. Getting Joey Barton to buy into a wide midfield role must take good man management too, for example.
-
Carroll is already a handful (particularly in the air) but will improve as he gets more experience. His awareness should improve and he should get better at laying the ball off to support runners etc. He’s an absolute beast in the air though and he’ll physically torment most central defenders. I watched their first game of the season when they lost 3-0 at Old Trafford and remarked to the lads in the apartment that I didn’t see them being in relegation trouble. The conclusion was based primarily around Carroll’s performance up front on his own that night when he gave plenty of it to Vidic.
-
Arsenal still need to buy a 'keeper. I was going to post earlier about how the Koscielny lad hasn’t impressed me at all, not just today but in other games too. Then he got sent off so I held off on it but I was asking cesc4 about him the other day given he watches most Arsenal games and he said he’s been average at best.
Torres!!!
Sheer class by Torres.
No mention by Andy Gray of John Terry getting completely caught out for the first goal. He came across and covered a routine ball down the line a few minutes later and Andy was straight in giving him big licks for snuffing out the danger.
But they were two quality finishes by Torres, particularly the second. I didn’t think he scuffed the first one myself; I reckon he hit it into the ground to get the ball to bounce over the keeper, who had already committed himself.
Fernando Torres Liverpool’s number 9!!