I’d say it is. Would be going to it but have a couple things on at home on Sunday. That’s a very unimpressive Waterford forward line I have to say, with the exception of Molumphy there’s no one I’d have a lot of faith in. Kevin Moran may trouble Tony Regan with his movement alright though and that might unhinge things a little. Galway forwards don’t look too hot either though. I’d still go with Waterford, based on a solid showing from the backs and one of the young lads up front hitting a good day.
Same out field 15 for Waterford this week, with Adrian Power coming in for Clinton. The only issue really is that Moran is the only target in the half line from puckouts, unless we get a stiff brezze and Power will be able to hit them down on top of Hurney at full forward.
Its still a shadow Waterford team, but Galway should help us answer an few more questions, noteably the ones that hang over liam Lawlor at full back, and its should also be last chance salooon for Murray and Hurney. Salthill hasnt been a happy hunting ground for us in recent years though and would fancy Gallway to take up by 3-5 points.
There’s bound to be a stiff breeze in that place. How would you see the forwards getting on against that Galway backline?
True.
Molumphy will be 11 and will have a free reign as horse Regan doesnt have the mobility to match him, and would fancy Moran to make hay against either Collins or Barry. Hurney doesnt seem up to it, and Joyce and Fergal Moore should be well suited to Shane Walsh and Tommy Connors. Walsh is far better than he showed with limited ball last week and if we do win he will have a big game, and while Connors wont score much he will take watching as he is good to win scrappy ball and lay it off. Shanahan wont miss many frees but needs to contribute more from play, I suppose that is the crux of it, without Mullane/Kelly we are short a ‘dangerous’ forward…
John McIntyre comes across as an awful bollocks
10 seconds in and the Waterford full back is taken to the cleaners under a high ball
Maurice Shanahan is some shaper
Shocking pull there with the goal at his mercy
Another goal from a high ball sent into the full forward line and the waterford full back got his positioning all wrong
The Dubs giving tipp enough of it so far, 6 points to a goal
Dublin beat Tipp by 9 points, doubt too many had that the predictions, Waterford’s full backline was cleaned out by Galway
Tipp look fair shite today
Other than the 2nd quarter period it was fairly handy for Galway in Pearse Stadium today against a toothless enough looking Waterford side it must be said.
The real positives for Galway today were the performances of Moore, Tannion and David Collins, who all excelled on their returns from injury. Tannion can blow hot and cold but picked off 2-2 today with some lovely scores. The intense glare of the low-lying Atlantic sun proving much for the Eastern seaboard softie in goal for Waterford who completely misread it for Tannions 2nd. Collins got a nice point early in the 2nd half and was more than a satisfactory return from him today. On todays evidence he will have no trouble reaching his former heights once he’s fully match fit.
Positions 1-4 were solid today and the return of Ollie will stregthen this line further still with probably Moore moving to wing back. Donal Barry did alright today and along with Tony óg,who’s doing a fine job keeping John Lee’s spot warm for him, will offer decent back up to the HB starting line come the Summer. The Horse Regan ate Moran for breakfast today, Moran looks fairly shite to be honest.
Cahalan was superb at MF for Galway and took off a great score when Donnellan found him in acres of space. No harm in persevering with himself and Ger, who had some lovely touches today at MF, for the time being.
Half forward line was Galways weakest area today I though, Donnellan works hard but can be wasteful, Harte scored a belter of a goal from the ground but otherwise didn’t look too amazing and picked up a needless yellow. Aongus Callanan did alright but can do better. Thought David Burke from St Thomas’s looked good when brought on and he’s most def one to watch.
Tannion might well end up at centre forward, if he was more consistent he’d have nailed that position by now though. Rumour has it that Prince Joe himself is eager to play there come championship, which if Joe eile continues his excellent form at full forward, might well come to pass. Gantley set up the first two goals with some deft touches and has the makings of a top notch target man in the FF line, albeit the fullback line he was up against today would rate at the lower end of the scale. Healy did some nice things in the corner but with the likes of Ritchy Cummins waiting in the wings his days in the starting line-up look numbered.
Blaa’s best imo were Shane Walsh(natural goalscorer this lad) and Maurice Shanahan. Maurice has an awful goofy look about him though, might wanna work on that. Foley wasn’t too bad either at times, indeed they played Galway off the park for the 2nd period of the first half when they moved the ball about really well. Despite conceding four I thought some of Powers distribution was top notch especially during this period with his short puck-outs. In typical Salthill style the glaring sun had turned into hailstones by the end of the match and you could tell the Waterford lads just wanted Davy to bring them home, but that said, theres the makings of a half decent side there, and the return of their marquee names will no doubt add the bite and leadership they need to compete at the highest levels this year.
He’s from Tipp remember
Full to the brim with shit I’d say.
He was shaping to the crowd in the Dublin game even when other lads were getting the scores. It was about all he contributed in the Munster u21 final last year.
I didn’t get to see much today bar the second half of the Dublin-Tipp game. Tipp looked very, very flat and to be fair to Dublin the aggression was pouring out of them. Tipp had no response at all and it’s starting to look more and more like that is the way to beat them. Too many of their lads don’t seem to like it. Callinan is the prime example, he got pushed off the ball so many times I lost count today. Tipp are probably only targeting a few games of course and today wouldn’t have been one of them. That said it was a great response from Dublin in the aftermath of last week’s poor showing. Look to be capable of winning clean, primary possession in the half-forward line, if they can keep that up they might do something yet.
less than 500 people at de duds game- says it all
Dublin beat Tipp? WTF?
I thought Alan McCrabbe was injured? Excellent result for Dublin, even if Tipp were going through the motions. Good to see them back on track, two very surprising results against Waterford and Tipp, and both have fucked up my FTB tipping.
The league is a lottery at this time of the year. McCrabbe scored a heap today alright but there were more impressive performances.
You’re right of course WTB, I’m just surprised McCrabbe was playing as the last I heard after the Wahurfurd game was that he was out for months. Great result for Dublin’s confidence though, a few short years ago, lottery or not, this is the kind of game they would have lost badly. Delighted for Anthony Daly.
:rolleyes: no one in dublin gives a fuck about de duds stick hurling team so cant see why you do?