They really need to sort out the railings to lean on. They are just too low. How do you approach it? One of our party suggested standing in front and leaning back against them as you really need to crouch down if you stand behind them.
I believe they’re all coming down soon enough, H&S issues with them, ie, they’re rotten to the core. I prefer to lean backwards, pace up and down, curse the fact that Costelloe ever left Thurles, etc etc. Considering there were only 12 of us on the terracing it was a missed opportunity.
No doubt about that, i’d say Cork will only play “B” team as well. Galways “B” team you would expect to be stronger than Corks though, going on underage and club success of recent years.
I stood on the terrace for a double header of ours last summer and my back was in bits after it - I’m glad to read they’re coming down. Missed opportunity indeed - did you not notice the person wearing the Roma tracksuit bottoms, Atleti jersey, Celtic zippy and Wexford beanie?
I had presumed you were sitting in the stand so I decided against looking one of the visitors straight on for fear they may have been from New Ross or the likes. A TFK Hoodie would have given it away no doubt.
50% strike rate, great! Garvan Mc had a 100% strike rate!
Setanta’s not an option for ye when ye need consistent goalscorers.
Balling I am, balling! No offense to Enda[a fine Kieran’s man] but I have a couple of inches[+] and a good decade[-] on him.
I think you are quickly dismissive of an article which is showing you a glaring problem in the team and instead of discussing the problem and possible solutions you’d rather try some misdirection. Oh it’s a bad article. It isn’t. Your team needs to be fixed. The O’Grady style remains in some of your players and until you commit to a new style of play and remove players who continue to play like it is 2005 then ye will find it hard to beat anyone. The O’Connors find it hard to play any other way than the short passing.
Cork lads love their asterisks. Always someone to blame or some excuse to be had.
Ye didn’t have that much of a problem scoring goals in 2007.
Nobody is saying we score enough goals, i said it myself that we need to improve. But the modern game can’t be compared to All-Ireland finals of 86 & 90. Thats what makes it a poor article firstly. Bar hammering shite performing teams in All-Irelands KK haven’t exactly been bursting the net either, 2 goals against Limerick and Waterford. 2003 and 2006 they got 1 goal, yet won. Its like the writer heard some old lads at a Cork match bemoaning the lack of goals from Cork and he did a quick bit of googling. Cork beat KK in 2 All-Irelands in the last 11 years without either scoring a goal. It ain’t the be-all and end all.
Why didn’t he do his research on how many points are scored from outside the 45 these days(Alot more). The ball doesn’t go into the full forward line in hurling as much in the modern game as it used to. And hurler being picked for hurling teams these days are far more athletic than the John Fitzgibbons or Seanie Learys of this world. Which has lent itself to midfielders and half forwards scoring much more, generally from play and nearly all points.
By the way Cluain, by blaming Ger (which i’m not, i’m talking about his reign in general) i’m blaming a fellow corkman. Which isn’t really looking for excuses.
I can’t wait till we take over at the top again in the hurling, its going to be great putting these KK fellas in their place.
Goal scoring is still very important even when considering some of the very valid points you have made.
Even in the modern era there are still a good few players with 20+ championship goals to their name. I have 5.
I don’t think it is much of a coincidence that in the games that have knocked Cork out of the All Ireland series in the last 4 years ye only scored one goal while posting scores of 1-13, 0-20, 0-17, 0-15. Lacking a real goal threat puts ye up against the wall right away.
I know we are gonna land hard when we land. I’m trying my best to prepare for it but it will be rough, no doubt about it.
Hopefully we go out in a shootout.
I actually think it is a coincidence. You’d be hard pushed to argue for Cork winning any of those games. We weren’t good enough no matter what system we played over the past couple of years.
But your point about goalscoring is still valid, of course they are a great way of staying in games, or in many cases killing off games. But overall the team (in recent years i’m on about now) who scores the most points wins.
One thing that people either forget or don’t realise, the main reason that Donal O Grady went completely to a Newtown style was that we lost Setanta, it was more to do with that than anything else.
Another thing cluain, to say what you say about the O’ Connor twins is sheer madness, they would have be brilliant hurlers in any era, or with any style of play. Look at Bens goal in Thurles in Munster Final of 2005 for an example. ok they are fast and light, but both are brilliant stickmen, and are also very accurate. Ben would be as good a Cork hurler as i have seen in my life.
Would agree with you about the structure at the moment looks far more even, I would even go on to suggest that division 1 and 2 should consist of 7 teams each as opposed to 8 it would hopefully bridge the gap even more…For arguements sake, next year a divsion one of Kilkenny, Offaly, Tipp, Cork, Galway, Waterford and Clare with a division 2 of Limerick, Wexford, Dublin, Laois, Carlow, Antrim and one of the others would be very competitive…Keep the one up and one down…and possibly have a semi final and final if lack of games is a problem…It would also give each team a bye week
While the O’Connors are of course excellent hurlers I believe that to maximise their abilities you need to play the short game but I don’t believe the short game is in the best interest of the Cork team. Any other style diminishes their usefulness. It’s a difficult situation but I wouldn’t be surprised to see Jerry as a sub this year.