Heaslip can count himself lucky all the same, but I have no issue with keeping someone like POM on the bench chomping at the bit.
I donât think Heaslip was going to be dropped but he is going to be under serious pressure come next Autumn to keep his place
It would have been a big move to do so. Its actually something I would commend this management team for, they donât do kneejerk reactions, displaying faith and more than not, having loyalty repaid, but if not no one has any complaints when changes are made.
they may have said that but it would be ludicrous for anyone to believe them surely.
were there any changes to the side at all since the appalling display against wales in the worlld cup that were not injury enforced?
what is the justification for continuing to select an old tired out of form darcy ahead of mcfadden for example?
there is no sense to it at all.
Ah right, stick two rookie centres in to go to Paris and Twickenham, of course, that would make a world of sense. And fair play to McFadden for passing DâArcy out at Leinster, I must have missed that happening. I am no fan of DâArcy but this is what I was referring to before, change for the sake of change, kneejerk reactions. Iâll give Kidney and Kiss the benefits of the doubt here.
McFadden is too lightweight to play 12 at International level and his hands arenât quick enough either. McFadden isnât able to get his game for Leinster at 12 ahead of DâArcy so why would he get in ahead of him at international level. McFadden is a very average player at test level whoâs versatility papers over a lot of cracks
they dont do reaction knee jerk or any other kind. you can be as sh1t as you like and stay on this team
No you canât. What an incredibly irksome poster you are.
the lightweight mcfadden is exactly the same size as darcy plus ryan has passed out o callaghan with munster which has made no difference to selections of the irish team.
two or three seasons ago no argument but now darcy is in sharp decline and someone else needs to be given a shot at it
any evidence to support your contention that underperformers get dropped?
He is nowhere near as good a defender as DâArcy, Darcy is probably smaller in height but is far more physical. McFadden would struggle at 12 at international level, if we are going to go with a 12 who is a lightweight defender then Paddy Wallace is a far superior option than McFadden
Iâll fire it up when you prove that âsh1teâ players get away with playing International Rugby in the 6N for Ireland.
I find it unlikely Iâll have to.
Ireland won a Grand slam in 2009 under Kidney, that summer the A side went and won the Churchill Cup while the frontline players were off with the British Lions.
Here is the team that played England in the final
Jones, Hurley, McFadden, Matthews, J. Murphy, Sexton, Boss, Healy, Cronin, Buckley, Ryan, Toner, Best, Ronan, Henry.
Replacements: Fogarty, Young, Hogan, Muldoon, Keogh, OâConnor, Downey.
Boss was the only one of those that was an established squad member and 11 of that team have played for Ireland, Two years on from that final 7 of the team went to the last WC (would have been 8 only for Felix Jones injury). You can then add the likes of Mike Ross, Kevin McLaughlin, Sean OâBrien, Keith Earls, Conor Murray and Mike McCarthy to the list of players that have been brought into the national set up by the current management team
While I think it is commendable and right for Kidney not to make changes for changes sake I do think that team needs freshening up. One thing if a team is getting the results and same team is chosen again and again with few alterations but we havenât been and yet those who have consistently performed below standard arenât replaced when able substitutes are available.
Fucking hell :lol:
Two Ireland players, Jonathan Sexton and Donnacha Ryan, have been shortlisted for the 2012 RBS 6 Nations Player of the Tournament.
The shortlist is comprised of all the players who were named as man-of-the-match in all matches across the first four weekends of the RBS 6 Nations.
Sexton was named man-of-the-match against Italy. Ryan was named man-of-the-match against Scotland.
Italyâs Andrea Masi received the accolade in last yearâs Six Nations tournament.
RBS 6 NATIONS PLAYER OF THE TOURNAMENT SHORTLIST:
Sam Warburton (Wales)
Dan Lydiate (Wales)
Alex Cuthbert (Wales)
Mike Phillips (Wales)
Julien Malzieu (France)
Yoann Maestri (France)
Imanol Harinordoquy (France)
David Denton (Scotland)
Ross Rennie (Scotland)
Sergio Parisse (Italy)
Jonathan Sexton (Ireland)
Donnacha Ryan (Ireland)
No Rob Kearney, no Owen Farrell, no Dusatoir!
Ryan???
I believe it was a close run thing between him and Jennings.
http://themetapicture.com/media/funny-Consuela-Family-Guy-No-No.jpg[quote=âmyboyblue, post: 648234â]
For those of you who want to go along and vote for Donncha Ryan, click here
http://themetapicture.com/media/funny-Consuela-Family-Guy-No-No.jpg
Very surprising and frankly shambolic that no England player is in the running for Player of the Tournament considering their resurgence this year. Tom Croft is, for me, the best 6 in the world at the moment while Stuart Lancaster is certainly Coach of the Tournament.