Anyone read Mullane Column today? Backtracking faster then an Italian in a car stuck in reverse. Already saying that Waterford looked tired after their league and championship endeavours to date. His optimism before the championship has been severely dented.
His ghost writer probably felt it best to tone it down for his own career prospects.
I just remember an interview he did reckoning theyâd be scrambling for tickets in September. He made a right fool of himself. Could have been from Limerick
Great respect this morning from Michael Fennelly towards the Waterford panel.
Lovely to see that from the big man!
All Kilkenny people respect those from counties in Div 1A. The rest of the counties are shite!
Donât disillusion yourself. Thatâs a strength of Kilkenny. If they were playing Mayo, theyâd call it 50/50
Locke, when KK lads are interviewed and they shite on about Waterford being a formidable team and ah sure, they have a great set up in Waterford (or insert appropriate county) and I suppose they have a great hurling tradition and look, on their day they can beat anyone, so weâre not taking this lightly at all at all. Weâre just looking forward to a hard battle on Sunday and please god, we can win it etc etc - do they walk away sniggering to themselves, or do they genuinely believe it?
Iâd say Cody has it bate out of email since the double loss in 98 and 99
They are the biggest shower of patronising cunts on the face of the earth. Waterford are a shower of tramps however. Hopefully there are a dozen reds and both teams get fucked out of the championship.
Realistically Waterford need to keep Kilkenny to 20 points or less to win this. Last team to do that were Limerick who still didnât win because they coughed up goals. For their part, Waterford donât hit too far above the 20 point mark when they play top teams themselves. Even in the relatively comfortable win over Clare they only hit 1-21 with a soft goal thrown in.
They will have to put a tremendous clamping on the Kilkenny forwards to win this. What Galway did for 40 mins over the course of the entire game.
Listening to Henry being interviewed this am, and he said that anyone who underestimates this Waterford team needs to take a good look at themselves (or words to that effect)
I would disagree with that.
Any county can be as patronizing as us on any given day.
Tipp restricted them to 17 points in the replay in two fourteen.
Two goals and seventeen points I think youâll find.
Mis-read your post tbh.
I wouldnât be surprised if Waterford gave them a very good rattle, perhaps even beating them. Tbh I havenât watched the Munster final back and Iâm not sure how they managed to collapse so badly in that game. Up to that point, they had looked a very formidable side even at their worst. Obviously they canât concede goals like that against KK.
I expect a much-improved performance from them though⌠whether itâll be enough, I donât know. Kilkenny are more vulnerable than at their peak but theyâre still the best side around. McGrath didnât seem as downbeat after the Munster final as Iâd have expected, he seemed to be confident they can turn it around.
Theyâll need a phenomenal work rate and probably get a couple of goals but Iâm going to say Waterford by 3.
Waterford wonât score enough. Simples. After last years loss there was no anger, or real disappointment. Waterford were almost content they werenât hammered, and that maybe they were on the right path, there has to be doubts about that now. Scars from 08 and 11 are still raw, rawer now that the defensive system couldnât prevent another 20 plus point hiding. Kilkenny will keep them at arms length, win another snooze fest by 6 or 7. Waterford donât believe they can beat them.
Waterford will be ate alive.
All you can do is work hard and be as patronising as you possibly can and hope thatâll be enough to get you over the line