2016 Bord Gáis Energy Under 21 Hurling Championship

Hi-jinx

What a bunch of fucking tramps.

Easy there mary

Japes

Is that ex Shamrock Rovers player Tony Ward?

Their a disgrace to their county

Few of us happened into o lanigans bar in kk town yesterday, the decor was all about hurling and festooned in Gaa paraphernalia, some soccer shite on the tv, not a game now mind but interviews etc. I asked the goon behind the bar if he’d mind putting on the u21 match, he asked what that was … So I told him it was on TnaG, he reluctantly put it on a small tv in the corner, 10 mins later a crowd of kk townie cunts appeared in and asked for some chavball match to be shown, ye man apologises to us and asked can he switch it back to sky sports …
Kk hurling me bollix.

Surely they could have had a few bottles of cheap champagne in the dressing room.

Or tinker juice.

Brian Molloy spent the entire game yesterday winding Gleeson up. Standing on his toes, shouldering him in the back, constant chat. Gleeson spent half the game calling the ref’s attention to it and Molloy was eventually booked but Gleeson had a stinker by his standards. Interesting to see if other teams try this.

Winding up an oppositions best player?

You get that everywhere in Ireland when Manchester United or Liverpool are playing and it’s on TV. You get sad sacks like @Steven_Naimsith wanting to watch the mighty pool above anything else.

It’s gas really, the obsession muldoons have with English football and English football personalities, even nobodies. For example, some lads with no interest in Irish football clubs like Celtic, Dundalk and Cork City took a keen interest in yesterday’s Celtic-The Rangers clash because Joey Barton was playing.

These lads like Naimsith will be found in the pub debating whether the new stand at Anfield will generate enough revenue to help Liverpool close the gap to “City” and “United”, stating that Joey Barton is great value on Twitter and will dominate “north of the border” and wondering whether Sean Dyche will deviate from his tried and tested 4-4-2.

All the while a hurling All Ireland final is taking place in Thurles and being televised live on another channel.

I get a little bit sad over it at times.

I really want to believe this doesn’t happen.

Me too, mate. Now I think it’s a disgrace that we have to rely on that horrific gaelic language channel to provide live coverage of minor, U21, club and national league competitions while RTE continues to invest resources in covering niche activities like rugby football.

Does any proud Irish patriot really want to watch Leinster locking horns with a bunch of Camerons and Alistairs in Edinburgh or a pack of Aluns and Dafydds in a backwater like Llanelli?

But that’s the path the national broadcaster has taken. All our main GAA competitions should take prime billing on RTE, not just the senior intercounty championship.

But that’s no excuse for the lads turning up to the pub in their English club replica jerseys to chant at the TV in their mock English accents based on the region their favoured team comes from. No wonder Stephen Kenny said he was happy to miss out on the financial benefit from drawing Manchester United in the Europa League if it meant he was spared being part of a match where a stadium full of Irish people were cheering for the English team ahead of the local representatives. It would have been a really tawdry affair and I actually experienced it back in 2013 when Liverpool supporters packed out the Aviva for a pre-season clash with Celtic.

Dont TG4 cover most of the rugby, including the European Competitions?

The mistake Galway made was getting Molloy to do it, he’s one of their best players

They do. RTE have no pro 12 or European Cup rugby anymore. Just the six nations which is designated FTA comp. So @Bandage is talking rubbish

TG4 do sport broadcasting a super service. Loads of GAA, rugby, TDF, Wimbledon etc. Would be great if they had a red button English commentary like S4C do. Soon hopefully. The recent move to HD is also most welcome

Ooooooooooooooooft

CC @bandage