2016 Club Championships

Emo’s near triumph last year will soone be for-goth-en about.

Highly unlikely. Tyrone club football is some bit off the top championships in Ulster, pal.

The field is evening out in Ulster.

Strip away the dominance of Cross and only Galls and Derry sides have only won since Errigal Ciaran won in 2002.

Cross are certainly on the wane, they will still probably go favourites for Ulster but I think they are past their best. Omagh knocked Cross out in 2014 and were edged by Slaughtneil in the final, Trillick lost by a couple of points to Scotstown last year.

Derry and Tyrone are by far the best and most competitive club championships in Ulster. Both Dromore and Killyclogher are good enough to win it with Cross waning.

Tyrone probably has the most competitive championship, but this isn’t necessarily conducive to providing a strong provincial contender. A period of county dominance is often a pre-requisite to provincial success.

How are Crossmaglen shaping up this year? Missing loads again i hear. Clarke and Aaron Cunningham in New York.

Any of the all conquering minor teams of recent seasons making the step up bar the O’Neill brothers?

Not really.

Cross have been the outlier for that, they have just been a step above any county in the province (and in the country) for a considerable amount of time but now teams have the belief they can beat them. They have more or less lost that fear factor in Ulster you feel and with that gone, it is wide open. They would still be regarded, rightly, as the best club team in Ulster but teams fancy it against them now.

If Killyclogher or Dromore come out of Ulster I would definitely feel they have a great chance of winning.

Morgan is gone for the year, they will win Armagh but I think Ulster is anyone’s this year.

Cross and Vincent’s played a friendly this evening. Turned out to be not so friendly. They knocked the bollox out of each other.

Another massive loss. Was reading the Irish News the other day and I didn’t recognise some of the names that played last week. Assumed they were young lads.

Still beat the lard out of the crowd they were up against.

Did both teams have a frank discussion with each other after the game?

H’on Cross :clap:

They have a lot of good young players coming out of minor at the minute.

Oisin O’Neill and Aidan Rushe made big impacts last year, O’Neill in particular is a fantastic footballer and will be one of the main men for Armagh before long.

No punches pulled apparently

FFS will ye spit it out,was there a punch up or not?

Ah I only got a text from a lad who was there. Big brawl. Blood and shots flying. That’s all i got.

Grand,why the fuck didnt you just post that up in the beginning

I did.

Screenshot and post up the message pal, as has become TFK custom.

Is that the auld boy who joined Casements a couple of years back. A fine hot customer

Senior hurling championship quarter results:

St Thomas 2-25 Portumna 4-15
Loughrea 0-16 Mullagh 0-15
Craughwell 1-20 Tommie Larkins 0-16

Intermediate Hurling championship quarter final result:

Ahascragh Fohenagh 0-15 Killimor 0-10