2017 RBS 6 Nations

Will England miss out on the bonus point for collisions?

The Great White Shark of Kelso. The Scottish Borders is the heartland of rugby in Scotland. The six traditional towns/clubs there cumulatively wouldn’t be half the size of Limerick City. Each of the six clubs provided at least one representative to the starting XV for the Grand Slam win of 1984 (11 in total) and the Grand Slam win of 1990 (6 in total).

Jeffrey was one of the first rugby players to ever strike a chord with me. The grand slam match in 1990 was a brilliant occasion I can remember being glued to the box for it. I think it was the first time the Scots had used flower of Scotland as their anthem instead of God Save the Queen. Atmosphere was unreal the English fans had grand slam the shirts the whole shebang.

I was too young to realise the significance at the time but realised years later the match was played at a time of huge opposition to Thatcher in Scotland over poll taxes. Edinburgh is often a morgue for games these days although lot of that down to them being shite for a decade

The scottish rugby set are pro thatcher you half wit

Run along off to a Glasgow Celtic thread. That’s more your area. Glasgow Celtic incidentally a bastion of support for the preservation of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Former Glasgow Celtic players Billy McNeill, Bertie Auld, Davie Provan, Murdo McLeod, Frank McAvennie and Paddy Crerand all prominent advocates of a No Vote in the 2014 referendum in Scotland.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/independence-referendum-football-legends-unite-4173636

Billy McNeill has dementia you cruel cunt.

Mate us rural men have a lot in common with the hard working Scottish border farmers who are broadly Scottish unionists .

The metropolitan financial services people on this site who reside in D4 and in anglicised Malahide have an awful lot in common with the Edinburgh’s financial people who play rugby and educated in Herriot Watts School , Watsons School etc . These people are staunchly pro Union.

Each of us have very little in common with the supporters of Glasgow Celtic to be honest . We all need to understand that fact .

You have a very poor grasp of British geography and politics. The Scottish Borders which backboned those 1984 and 1990 Scotland Grand Slam winning sides was the bailiwick of Lord Steel, M.P., former leader of the Liberal Party. The constituency of Tweeddale, Ettrick and Lauderdale as it then was, was a solid Liberal voting constituency. Not very fertile ground at all for the Iron Lady.

Indeed Tom English recently wrote a wonderful book on the time around this game and Baroneess Thatcher wasn’t popular among Scottish rugby folk . The vote of the Conservative Party declined in Scotland during her stewardship .

Uncle Tom English is a West Brit soup slurper.

Correct. She was despised. The pretend ra lads wouldn’t be interested in facts that mightnt suit their preconceived ideas however

Not a sigh or a cringe in sight

Why you say this ??

they are too thick to understand

Because it’s the truth.

To be honest I am surprised he writes on soccer but explain your evaluation ??

He’s anti-republican.

A cunt.

What did he do that makes him anti republican .

If you heard this prick on Scottish radio over the years and his media bits and pieces, you’d know which way his bread is buttered.

That 1990 Grand Slam match was one of the great rugby occasions of all time, full stop. That great old double act of Jim Telfer and Ian McGeechan completely mugged off a supposedly unbeatable England. It was played on St Patrick’s Day 1990 - Jim Telfer’s 50th birthday. Still sticks in my mind watching it on Grandstand. They had cameras in the Scotland dressing room as the players were coming in straight after the game and when Jim Telfer arrived in, they all serenaded him with a great rendition of Happy Birthday. That was a terrific Scotland back row of John Jeffrey, Finlay Calder and Derek White.

The 1984 Grand Slam was won on St Patrick’s Day as well. Finlay Calder’s twin brother Jim got the match winning try a few minutes from the end. Roy Laidlaw and John Rutherford were the most wonderful partnership at scrum half and out half.