A golfer who’s the best of his generation and possibly all time has a decade long breakdown, when he’s revealed to be a serial adulterer finally gets his act together and wins an important golf competition?
The game against Villa is the big one alright, but seem to be coming into form at the right time again.
Lee Trevino was 5 foot 5. Didn’t start playing golf until he was 15. Hadn’t a pot to piss in. Got hit by lightning in 1975, had two back operations and won a major in 1986. He was divorced three times in between as well.
I’m sorry but even by your standards this is total rubbish. Loads of lads win multiple majors in tennis as they’ve a small window and then move on. Golf careers are usually 20 years long with usually 15 - 20 capable of winning any year. If Mcilroy wins 3 majors and no more he’ll be remembered as a great. In the past ten years in tennis at least 5 players have won 3 majors in your so called golden era. Please don’t compare tennis to golf again.
Nadal, Federer and Djokovic are still dominating the tennis landscape and have done so for over a decade. Agassi and Sampras did it before them for over a decade. McIlroy is the Hewitt/Roddick of golf, tasted success early in a weak era but when the new kids on the block arrive he found himself falling away.
Not a valid comparison. A lot harder to win a major in golf than a Grand Slam in tennis. I was reading there this morning that 27 different players have won the 37 golf majors this decade. Just three players Nadal/Federer/Djokovic have won, I thinks its 30 of the 37 tennis grand slams this decade. You probably have 30-40 players in any golf major who has a realistic chance of winning. In a tennis grand slam, there’s 5 or 6 players tops with a chance of winning.
Just looking at the all time list of major winners, Rory has won the most majors in golf this decade, with four. Only 19 players have ever won more majors than him and of contemporary players, only Tiger (15) and Phil Mickelson (5) have won more. He’s not even 30 and he’s hot on the heels of some of the most revered figures in the history of golf. Byron Nelson & Seve Ballesteros won 5 majors, Lee Trevino & Nick Faldo 6, Bobby Jones, Gene Sarazen, Sam Snead & Arnold Palmer 7.
Nobody has won a golf a major since Rory last won one in 2014 that wasn’t a pro in 2014. Please stop making ludicrous comparisons. You are clueless. Stan warwinka has won 3 majors and he’s a journeyman for goodness sake.
Greatest ever comebacks;
- Tiger
- @anon25556527 to TFK
- Jordan’s second three-peat
- Peyton Manning in 2012
- Ronaldo at the 2002 FIFA World Cup
Are you saying McIlroy is a journeyman?
Justin Thomas wasn’t on the PGA tour until 2015. Brooks Koepka wasn’t fully on the PGA tour until 2015.
Rory Mcilroy won his first major in 2011. Since 2011 18 players have won a major. 14 of those 18 are older than mcilroy by 3 years. Of the four than are younger than him 2 were born within a year of him. Please shut up about this new era it doesn’t exist. All four that are younger than him were tour members in 2014 when he won his last major.
They were professionals.
Sure Hewitt had 2 Wimbledons by age 21. I think as it is will be as good as it gets for McIlroy.
No 3 majors in golf makes you a great.
they weren’t qualified to play in the majors Mcilroy won. They weren’t professionals or entered in any 4 of McIlroys major wins. Spieth played in his last one I think
Brooks turned professional in 2012.
Adam Scott was the world number 1 for a while. Hes won a shitload f tournaments.
Mcilroy is only really coming into his peak now. The next 5 years is his time. The average age of a major winner is 31.
on the challenge tour in europe ffs. he qualified to the pga tour in 2014 on sponsors invites and exemptions