2022 All Ireland football final - The Yerras V The Fancy Dans. Name your kitchen

Hard luck @Lazarus ye weren’t far off at all. Ye took almost every chance until the last 10 minutes, but that’s when games are won and lost. Kerry just had a bit more nous and a slice of luck from officials down the home stretch.

Walsh and the Askeaton man were immense, but the wides came at the vital stage.

Comer did some good stuff out the field in the 2nd half but Kerry clogged up the space inside really well.

The free that wasn’t a free for Kerry turned the game on its head. It was a free out and if the ref hadn’t made a mistake, then maybe Galway’d have gone up the field and went a point ahead. Shame really that a poor decision changed the game like that.

Jack O’Connor’s decision to bring in Paddy Tally has been thoroughly vindicated. Kerry have conceded just three goals in 13 matches across league and championship this year, one of those in the dead rubber final league match against Tyrone. And Costello’s goal in the semi-final was a worldy, probably the goal of the year.

1-15 against Tyrone in that dead rubber was the highest total they conceded in any match.

An All-Ireland built on Ulster principles.

Bench was gonna cost us regardless of that free in the end. Lads like Comer and Conroy were bate and Finnerty and Tierney never got going.

Fair play to Kerry they took their chances.

Hard to know if this is just the start for Galway. We had false dawns from underage u-20’s before.

Sid is thrilled Galway lost mate.

Outsiders going into a final need every one of the 15 to reach, find and deliver the very best of themselves (Donegal 1992). Galway had a number of lads who won’t be looking back on this game with any fondness.

The free awarded to Killian Spillane when the ref adjudged that he was being held looked legit to me but he bottled the call on the Galway goalie who might count himself fortunate.

Performances for the ages from Clifford and Walsh, sportingly contested, 36 scores with plenty from play - what more do you want…

no unders at all in this game = poor forwards

I think they’ll be there or thereabouts over the next few years. Have a handful of lads unavailable who you would imagine will be back next year. Nobody really near retirement apart from Conroy who I think will give it another year anyway. Important that management stay on including Cian O’Neill. Have a few lads now who you could genuinely say are amongst the best footballers in the country. McDaid has gone from a marginal name in the game a few months ago (at least outside Galway) to genuine superstar. Just need a small bit more support around them especially coming off the bench. A new keeper an urgent requirement obviously.

Getting back to a final is not easy though. You need a bit of luck as well along the way.

Less scutter from McStay

Scant consolation, but Galway won the hearts if the nation and saved Gaelic football.

Now to give him his due there wasn’t a mention of a “slicer” all day.
He must lurk here, seen the opprobrium and modified his stock of useless phrases.

Piss off now Kevin.

Hard luck Galway. Losing a final is shit.

It was very important at the time alright but Galway were wilting. Kirry would have won it down the stretch either way.

Agree with this. Walsh and Clifford gave masterclasses but something unfulfilling about that game for me. A lot of anonymous displays* and general aimless play too, and bouts of slow tempo keepball with defences well set and back behind the ball. It was entertaining when the tempo quickened but then it would drift again. Those Dublin-Mayo games were played at breakneck speed and intensity.

*one for the GAA cliches thread: when a renowned player does nothing on final day but the team win and it retrospectively becomes a selfless display where he sacrificed himself for the team.

Corrected

No they wouldn’t. Mayo were, are and always will be bottlers. The only team ever to score two own goals in an AI final. Mayo would always play up or down to the standard of their opposition but always lose.

I corrected the post to concur with your opinion

For anyone who is anyone, come to Devitts.

Kev Mc is giving one of the all time great displays. @Aertel220