sure heās shit the bed now at Juve and United. Nobody wants the baggage a 37 year old would bring. He would absolutely still do a job at that level and the bigger the game the more chance heāll win you it with something
I think the Saudis could beat Mexico, Mexico have shown nothing in the final third so far. The Saudis have nothing to lose really, they have to go out and try to win. Theyāve played surprisingly progressive football so far.
Lost 2-0 to Poland but they were a little bit unfortunate in that with the missed penalty & rebound, and obviously they just handed them the second goal.
I genuinely donāt think so. I donāt think heāll win his team a big game at this world cup and they will end up being worse with him in the team. His degeneration even from this time 12 months ago when he was scoring PL hat tricks and burying Ireland with those headers has been huge.
likewise Poland could beat Argenitna or at least make it very, very difficult for them. Argentina were equally poor against Mexico until Messi dug them out of it. He surely canāt start Di Maria again like
his work rate against Uruguay was top notch, he ran the dirty lanes, took the lumps, won frees, dropped in. he wasnāt far off getting a goal or two, won his headersā¦ there havenāt been many better out and out centre forward performances at this tournament. Itās a dying breed
They will make it difficult for them but again, I would worry about that mindset thing. I would expect Poland to sit in and play for the draw. They might get it but if Argentina do score, I would worry that Poland wonāt be able to switch it up.
I think Argentina have been fairly average so far; you would imagine that Enzo Fernandez gets the start in midfield now which will help. I canāt see ADM being dropped, he looks like heās undroppable because heās friends with Scaloni & Messi. And stuff like that will cost them as the tournament goes on.
But if Poland do sit very deep, Messi will get a chance or two and he still has that bit of magic.
But Poland have never played on the front foot in this tournament, theyāve gone out very pragmatic each day so I donāt think itās a massive shift in context, theyāre kind of set up to be robust, naturally.
He can still be very good but heās usually shite these days and offers fuck all. Maybe itās just been a lack of motivation at united and heāll prove his worth yet again over the next few matches.
I wouldnāt be backing against him anyway, heās the type of fucker would do it, just to annoy people and prove himself right.
If Poland lose and the others draw do the poles go through?
Yes, if they dont lose by 3
some craic here, the mad bastard
the Frech lad looks absolutely mithered.
Iād say he had to sit longside the cunt for 2 hours in the ground
No, my point would be that if Argentina go 1-0 up and say that the Saudis lead Mexico.
Poland would then need to come out of their shell and get a goal against Argentina, thatās the shift that I think they might struggle with.
the odds say go for it from the start - they need two results to go against them and Lewa is capable of hammering that Argie pair at centre backā¦Itās starting to get cagey now though as you rightly pointed out.
No nuns in Qatar to save.
France have changed 10 of their starting 11, Tchouameni the only survivor.
Denmark have changed from their 3-4-3 to a 4-2-3-1.
Todayās permutations.
France are already through in this afternoonās group, which means that there are 3 teams fighting for one spot.
Itās advantage Australia as they currently sit in 2nd and face Denmark who are in 3rd. Denmark have to win to progress, pretty straightforward there.
Australia technically need to win to be certain of qualifying as, if they draw, and Tunisia win, Tunisia would have a better goal difference. You normally wouldnāt expect Tunisia to beat a French team who look good, but they have replaced pretty much their entire team. Tunisia have played some alright football but have seriously lacked cutting edge. Theyāve brought Khazri back into the starting lineup in place of Jebali to maybe give them that.
So yeah, both Denmark and Tunisia have to win to qualify. Even if Tunisia win, they need a draw in the other game, fate not in their own hands. Australia canāt lose if they want to qualify and have something to hold onto.
In Group C tonight, itās even more interesting.
Poland in pole position (no pun intended) and any result against Argentina will guarantee them a place in the knockouts.
A win for Argentina and they go through. A draw could be enough to go through in second if thereās a draw in the other game or if Mexico win by less than 3. But as Mexico have been so bad, I donāt think they can assume that the Saudis wonāt win and will have to go for the win.
The Saudis know that a win will put them through, a draw would only be enough if Poland beat Argentina by more than 2, which seems unlikely.
Mexico have to win to have any chance. They would also need a favour in the other game, they would need Poland to win or to win by 3 if thereās a draw.
Probably the most interesting group permuations-wise, all have a relatively decent chance to progress so youād hope that theyāll go for it.
Have France gone to a three at the back? Like Guendozi definitely isnāt playing in a front three and Camavinga isnāt a left full as the team is lined up on the graphic
Apparently Camavinga is due to play on the left.
Could still be 5-3-2 though.