2023 Champions League - Round of Two - The Final - Istanbul Beckons

City have won five of the last six league titles itā€™s far from competitive.

Man United had four good strikers but Iā€™m not sure they were stock piling great players. Sheringham was into his 30s and ole was a crock.

Like realistically youā€™ll be lucky to have four teams challenging for the champions league next year.

Compare the inter v ac teams to 2005 when they last meet.

What about the first touch that went 10 yards in front of him? Are they putting that down as a shot?

Depends on the crowd around tbh. I know a lot of stadiums in England would have everyone standing but you have to play it by year.

You would be maimed if you did it at a GAA match. Them Offaly cunts at the u20s final who had all the signs of not being to a game in decades were standing up every time yer man Screeney got the ball. They werenā€™t long being told to cop on and sit down.

@Bandage is raging there.

Young chaps wonā€™t realise this. Itā€™s always been this. Liverpool. united. All did it. It was grand then though. united has Sheringham, Cole, Yorke and Ole. But itā€™s not ok for City to have Alvarez. Gas cunts.

Liverpool and Manchester United werenā€™t owned by human-rights abusing petro-state regimes with unlimited wealth who are willing to break every rule in the book and paying the worlds most expensive lawyers to bulldoze justice against a half hearted opponent.

You wouldnā€™t really expect City to be able buy the main men from Liverpool, Arsenal or United these days. Back then United used to cherry pick from teams who could compete with them on the field for a short while but couldnā€™t compete with them when it came to money. Like what Bayern do now in Germany.

Thatā€™s a load of cobblers.

Man City will win the epl next season.

Bayern the German league.

Psg the French league.

Barcelona / real in Spain

And Italy will be hard to call but I doubt thereā€™s 10 world class players left in Italy.

Julian Alvarez is probably better than any striker in Italy.

Thatā€™s why the champions league will become really boring. The concentration of the best players is tiny.

Even know the best young players are identified quicker and end up at one of the
Major clubs much quicker.

It was the smart thing to do, develop the odd lad here and there and then swallow uo everyone elseā€™s talent. Itā€™s hard being the smaller fish. Getting Alvarez was a great bit of business by City, fair and square

Without a doubt. Financial Fair Play was then supposed to ensure things stayed that way, the established clubs would continue to take who they wanted from the smaller teams and everyone was to just accept that. The oligarchs and petro-states ruined it for everyone.

Ferguson and the horsey set changed the game when they showed how easy it was to take over a club. In truth they ushered all this in.

Itā€™s fascinating to see how the INTERNET drives a certain type of man to try to come up with increasingly absurd ways to defend the indefensible.

Modern football is very stale alright. Lacks the variety of multiple teams challenging for major honours that you had in previous eras. Iā€™m an eternal optimist and genuinely think if Liverpool add another midfielder and possibly a centre-back then they have the wherewithal to topple City next season.

Iā€™d love to see them charged for the FFP breaches and demoted to League Two but realistically the despot owners would probably just bankroll another rise clearing all before them. They should revert back to the pack a bit when Pep leaves. It would be a very open league at present without Man City.

Your tears are delicious and always have been

As has been pointed out pep eventually had a sort of mental breakdown at Barcelona. Similarly he couldnā€™t handle the pressure in Bayern. He wasnā€™t able for pressure thatā€™s comes at a really big club.

At city realistically thereā€™s never going to be any pressure and heā€™s unlimited budget too. Iā€™d be surprised if heā€™s not there for five or six years at least.

To be fair at Barca heā€™d already won two Champions Leagues by that stage. Including a treble. Iā€™d have great respect for his initial work and using academy players like Pedro and Busquets. Itā€™s hard to warm to him these days though. A narcissist Iā€™d imagine.

There was something very special about his Barcelona team initially alright. The style of football they played was riveting and he done it so many lads whoā€™d grown up at the club.

I was a huge fan despite the hammerings they dished out to man United.

Those losses to inter and Chelsea were disastrous to be fair. I think he had to get out for a finish. I guess with Messi being there too the scrutiny was very different.

Itā€™s a huge pity heā€™s turned into such a cunt. Himself and Messi have done more than most for sports washing and human rights abusing owners. Itā€™s all very sad.

Hang it in the Louvre