@Appendage & I used to watch the women’s singles final at Wimbledon on TV together the day before the Leinster Hurling Final but the split season ruined that lovely little tradition.
I used to love watching T20 Finals Day at Edgbaston the day before Tipp would play an All Ireland Hurling Semi Final, but again that’s dust now thanks to the split season zealots.
The NatWest Trophy final from Lords the day before the All-Ireland hurling final was a great tradition.
I used to love when the AFL Grand final would be on the same weekend as the All-Ireland football final.
The West German/German Grand Prix from Ye Olde Hockenheim on a boiling hot last Sunday in July before a 50/50 Dublin-Meath Leinster football final was sublime. You’d only see the first ten laps at best but something big would generally happen in that time and it was a great ambience and tension builder.
Michael Darragh was spotted tearing down to the local shops on his skateboard the morning of one all Ireland final .
Didn’t he do the cruciate skateboarding at a wedding?
Any venue for Dingle and Castlehaven?
I’d imagine killarney
Killarney makes most sense but no floodlights for a game that could see Extra Time is dicing with danger in December.
Tralee or Mallow I’d say.
Do Clarinbridge play football at all? I know Alan Kerins was a dual player for Galway in the early 00’s but have a feeling he played his football elsewhere. Realistically the Galway hurling championship doesn’t really get going until August anyway. Not like Wexford where you’d need to hopping off the ground in late June.
Tellingly there was only mention of a ban on drinking. Lads free to use recreational drugs and vape to the their hearts content.
played his football with salthill i think
I remember reading Seamus Kennedy’s a few years ago alright (must have been 2019). He was an Arsenal fan iirc. I was slightly surprised that he was only giving himself an 11pm-7am window in bed given some of that would be spent nervously tossing and turning thinking of the final. Although in saying that Jack McCaffrey had a vomiting bug the night before the 2015 All-Ireland final against Kerry and produced a Tour De France the next day. I have an inkling that Tommy Walsh had a similar problem the night before Kilkenny hockeyed Waterford in 2008.
Pairc Ui Caoimh dbl header with intermediate Mungrets Cill Na Martra beforehand is what im hearing.
That was the 07 final against the Limericks.
He was getting sick in the hotel toilet on the morning of the match.
I think it was the Crown plaza they were in.
Was afraid of getting dropped and said nothing,I believe.
That will be a terrible prospect compared to Killarney or Mallow.
If that cork-Limerick road goes ahead, Malow could become the provinces premier club venue
Elite athletes like @Horsebox will say you need to bank your sleep early in the week & to expect a restless night before AIF day.
He’d all the signs of a fella getting sick that morning when I saw him catch a ball over Begleys head
Wouldnt surprise me.The fucker was wired different.
I was in the premium that day and at half time,en route to the jacks,I noticed The Claw pulling on a hamlet.
Not a particularly large man but a dangerous(I wont say evil) looking fucker.Just one of these lads you know by looking at not to fuck with🤣