Is Pat Havern on the juice?
Is he an Ulster footballer?
Advantage Down.
How is John Daly not starting. Should have started hernon in goal
Do Val & PJ not get on?
That team looks to me like itās the strongest in Ireland man for man.*
*caveat: I stopped paying attention to football years ago & didnāt recognise around 50% of the players listed by top 3 GAA journalist Maurice Brosnan in his article this week on All Star candidates.
Brosnan hasnāt a clue so no surprise there
Yerra yerra
I donāt know.
I honestly think PJ is Davy over clare without the all Ireland. Over a great all round squad and has them playing below their potential. Thereās no getting past the goalie sitchation at this stage
You couldnāt be reading anything into a team named on the Thursday after a game last weekend ahead of another this weekend.
This might be the most stereotypical Galway statement ever, especially as Iām slating my own club alumni, but Maurice isnāt fit to ink @Peterswellmanās quill pen.
Sean Kelly is doing well to keep his place, he seems to be gone off the boil completely and done little at all in the past 2 years. Considering the way Fermanagh ripped through us I expect the forward line there are fancying the trip north.
Silke has been shown up in every single championship match this season. Heās a great focal point for your lads on Sunday. I think Kelly is just ran into the ground at this stage and would benefit immensely from a sabbatical. Conroy over FotF Cookie is interesting but Iām assuming theyāre backing the Jimmies man to slot a few 2 pointers.
I thought comer ripped his hammy tying his shoelaces. Hopes he stays safe before Sunday and doesnāt take unnecessary risks
Galway donāt do goalkeepers really, Iād prob stick with Gleeson for the rest of the year for all his faults.
That lad from Clare Galway has no presence on the line, I was dissatisfied with his short kick outs the last day.
I expect ye will make changes, we have awful trouble around the middle winning kickouts so leaving Cooke off doesnāt sound sensible. Silke could be marking Genie Brannigan, you need to keep it all in perspective. Hopefully we get a few minutes of Comer on the field, his is a style that would be well appreciated here.
That looks a strong team with a fine bench to change it up. What changes would you make? And would you take that Conor Carroll (Roscommon) whoās actually a Galway man in goal? Iād agree with assertions here that the jury is out on PJ as Galway manager but 4 Connaught titles and a couple of All-Ireland final appearances is a big leap forward from the 2002-2019 period. Pat Havern will be a proper test for Fitzy. A step-up from mullocking for possession with Aidan Oā Shea.
Same 15 as started last week from first glance
The thing with a lad like Flaherty is that heās only as good as his free runners on kickouts. Him clearing out that Armagh lad last week would give me a small bit of hope but no doubt thereās a traditional clanger coming in due course.
If I was changing things around Iād go:
McGrath
Tiktok
Hernon (a chance at redemption from the Dublin game as rotating fullback)
McHugh (only just because heās been poor enough)
Daly
DOāF
A nice mix of runners and lads that will create goal chances from deep