A bit of cop on

Still a fair few cowboys knocking around the IT sector. :frowning:

Heeeeeeeee yaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwww

[SIZE=5]KABOOM[/SIZE]

[quote=“Rocko, post: 764522, member: 1”]Kev, I have a couple of points which I have presented in a numbered list below for ease of reading.
[LIST=1]
[]You are essentially advocating performance-based pay instead of a flat salary structure.
[
]The accountancy profession has one of the most performance-based pay structures of any profession or industry. It’s one of the biggest gripes people have with it.
[]Most socialists would argue that there should be a greater universailty in wages and the culture of bonuses should be done away with.
[
]In trying to present an argument for socialism, you have instead presented an argument consistent with the ideologies of IBEC based around a tiered payment system driven by “good work” which quickly becomes a synonym for profitability.
[/LIST][/quote]

1. No I’m not
  2. So what, not much to do with my points, I never mentioned bonuses. I was talking about being competant (not something Accountancy can take great credit for in recent times) and management (which is responsibility, which deserves SOME compensation)
  3. Yes, that’s true and I agree. AGAIN, who mentioned bonuses? Incremental increases in pay for loyalty and consistency. Nothing about bonuses. If you don’t do your job to a high standard you don’t get more money. If you don’t do it to an acceptable standard over time you get fired.
  4. No I haven’t. Especially as more or less points 1-3 were incorrect and you just trying to angle my points to contradiction.

I realize you see my attack on the “Professionals” as a personal one, but it’s not really. You could be as honest as the day is long. But I doubt it.

Did an accountant fuck you in the ass or something Kev? You seem to have an awful lot of anger towards us.

[quote=“mickee321, post: 764569, member: 367”]Kev’s company provided me with some sound advice for my wedding invitaions ill have you know.
i was suspect tho that they were not paying tax for some reason[/quote]

I never dealt with you, an you are making liabous claims against me now. I’d be very careful if I were you. Wouldn’t want people in Cobh knowing you we’re a regular user of whores now would you?

I saw them up very close over 2 years and they disgusted me the way many carried on.

I have at least 7 or 8 good mates who became accountants though, not one of them is actually an accountant now though. They went thru hell for exams and all that, I admired it to an extent but seemed way over the top to do for something almost every one of them knew they would move away from. They did it for money and a foot in the door and contacts in the business world. And more power to them, just it took alot out of them and some of them look more like 45 than 35 now.

So I know a fair bit about what goes on to be one. But these boys were not out to be the local accountant who screws every small business owner in town. I worked all over Ireland with Accountants and they were screwing people into the ground with over charging and some woeful investment advice. Yet not one of these cunts has had to fold, in fact some of them are busier than ever.

I’m not really talking about the 28 year old Deloitte type Accountant, even if those super companies have an awful lot to answer for as well. Those lads are just punching a time card.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 764609, member: 273”]I saw them up very close over 2 years and they disgusted me the way many carried on.

I have at least 7 or 8 good mates who became accountants though, not one of them is actually an accountant now though. They went thru hell for exams and all that, I admired it to an extent but seemed way over the top to do for something almost every one of them knew they would move away from. They did it for money and a foot in the door and contacts in the business world. And more power to them, just it took alot out of them and some of them look more like 45 than 35 now.

So I know a fair bit about what goes on to be one. But these boys were not out to be the local accountant who screws every small business owner in town. I worked all over Ireland with Accountants and they were screwing people into the ground with over charging and some woeful investment advice. Yet not one of these cunts has had to fold, in fact some of them are busier than ever.

I’m not really talking about the 28 year old Deloitte type Accountant, even if those super companies have an awful lot to answer for as well. Those lads are just punching a time card.[/quote]

Caoimhaoin, Would you say that a lot of accountants are operating in the black economy at this time?

Accountants are too boring to operate in the black economy a nice grey economy would suit them.

I don’t know, you would think a few certainly are, but surely ta fuck most of them realize that the Revenue are watching everything more now and they are not that stupid. I’d say it could be a regional thing.

Kev, with respect thats a steaming pile of shite

Mac, I don’t want your respect, I don’t need it, I have very little respect for you so don’t waste your time.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 764601, member: 273”]1. No I’m not
2. So what, not much to do with my points, I never mentioned bonuses. I was talking about being competant (not something Accountancy can take great credit for in recent times) and management (which is responsibility, which deserves SOME compensation)
3. Yes, that’s true and I agree. AGAIN, who mentioned bonuses? Incremental increases in pay for loyalty and consistency. Nothing about bonuses. If you don’t do your job to a high standard you don’t get more money. If you don’t do it to an acceptable standard over time you get fired.
4. No I haven’t. Especially as more or less points 1-3 were incorrect and you just trying to angle my points to contradiction.

I realize you see my attack on the “Professionals” as a personal one, but it’s not really. You could be as honest as the day is long. But I doubt it.[/quote]
You think of people who do their job to a high standard should get more money. Yet you aren’t advocating performance based pay? I can only admire the logic that allows you to put those two opinions side by side in the same post.

You continue to twist what I say. Yes, year in year if you are reviewed your overall salary can go up incrementally go up for service. Performance is expected.

have to agree with Kev…Accountancy has lost all its integrity…

Ok Kev, your post is still a steaming pile of shite though.

You think you know the trade as you’ve a few mates who studied it who aren’t accountants now. And you dealt with a few others. You know fucking nothing man but since you’ve been called out you’re digging your heels in like the stubborn mule you are. Great entertainment though it must be said.

How do you defame an anonymous internet handle kev?

Youre bang on the money about mac tho

[quote=“artfoley, post: 764647, member: 179”]How do you defame an anonymous internet handle kev?

Youre bang on the money about mac tho[/quote]

In that he has no respect for me? What an odd thing to say.

Earlier in the thread ye were talking about 45k at the lower end and 65-70k (middle?) ‘take home pay’ being normal enough for accountants. Would this be the case or did ye mean gross pay?

Kev coming across as the forum’s Tommy Sheridan here. Maybe his one-legged girlfriend could join the forum and perjure from him.