A large cohort wanted this back when they staunchly opposed this, this would have been a position they surely put some thought into and held for years. Setting a referendum is giving them a choice. U turning on a moral issue for votes is totally different.
Yes. Unless the mother is in danger of death herself. Thankfully, It will be illegal to obtain an abortion of a baby/foetus of this age except in these circumstances.
But that law can be changed, by politicians, some of whom think that 8 month old should have no rights. Thankfully the constitution protects these unborn children right now, you agree with that protection, so why vote no and remove it?
Plus a protection for the mother in such a health case already exists! Its there in law, what most reasonable people on the yes side want
For the likes of David Quinn, John McGuirk and Declan Ganley, their primary motivation is to keep their profiles high and to keep or make themselves ârelevantâ.
Quinn must be making a mint from the Irish media. McGuirk is a total charlatan who fancies himself as a sort of Goebbels for hire, an Irish Kellyanne Conway. Ganley thinks he can make himself politically relevant.
Quinn will keep himself in demand because he can talk coherently even his views are insane. McGuirk has such a brass neck that he might be able to make himself halfway ârelevantâ (though he will only ever work for fringe nutcase politicians), but Ganley is dead wrong. Heâs been trying desperately to make himself politically relevant for a decade and has continually failed. There is no market for a Catholic theological party or agenda. Lucinda Creighton thought there was and she fell flat on her face.
There are a few avenues these nutcases will try and pursue if and when they lose this fight. Theyâll try and expand their influence within the Irish medical profession, in order to set up a sort of Catholic-led boycott of abortion in Ireland in which GPs and other medical practitioners who carry out abortions are bullied and publicly vilified. Theyâll wade into the controversy over the National Maternity Hospital on the side of nuns.
Theyâll probably mainly try and focus their attention on immigration and immigrants. But to keep themselves in any way relevant, theyâll have to stray further and further to the right.
One of the main ideas behind the dominance of religion in this state was that Ireland was to be a holy, spiritual, God-fearing, rural place, in opposition to cruel, Godless, industrial, urban England. The conservatives were not wrong in that many Irish people do still sort of have an idea of Ireland as being in opposition to what England is.
But as England continually drifts towards the right, and intolerance there continues to grow and the widespread embrace of insular, right-wing idiocy paralyses their politics, Irish people will continue to recoil against that, and recoil against the ideas of Quinn, McGuirk, Ganley and all the other flat earthers who have never been right about anything in their whole lives.
The idea of Ireland in opposition to England now is that we should and can be a tolerant, inclusive, caring, welcoming, forward-looking society in oppositIon to their insularity, intolerance and harking back an idea of the past that never even existed.
Because a politician has no ability by themselves to change any laws. They have to get a majority within the houses of parliament. Iâm confident Ireland will never vote for abortion for the craic up until 9 months. You are suggesting Clare Daly will sneak in overnight with Wallace and rewrite a law with a biro or something?
Iâm going to have to go with the vast majority of medical professionals on this. Roughly 80% of GPs and Obstetricians are in favour of repeal. As are the heads of the two biggest maternity hospitals in the state. They reckon it stops them giving proper care to patients. Iâm gonna trust their opinions over that of a recently returned lumberjack.
Totally irrelevant point, gonna start screaming mickey harte at cicero now. And there was me thinking you could debate rationally, you were beaten very quickly
You canât move within half a mile of a GPâs surgery these days, what with all the women queueing up to declare themselves suicidal for the craic so they can have a late term abortion.
At least I think thatâs the case - the No campaigners all said in 2013 that thatâs what would happen if the Protection of Life During Pregnancy Act was passed, and I havenât been out of the house since then.
What most people on the Yes side want is not reasonable. What most people on the Yes side want is the choice to kill the unborn baby they brought into the world for any reason they want.
I know pal. Like i pointed out yesterday the snowflakes shriek about a 12 year old rape victim, but have no issue if that same rape victims life was stopped 12.5 years before that!
For every one medical practitioner who has declared themselves as supporting a No vote and who claims that the 8th Amendment doesnât stop them from giving the best medical care to women, there are multiple women who can prove otherwise.
Every No-supporting medical practitioner is flagrantly and categorically lying.
Ah would you stop. A little jibe and youâre jumping on the huff bus. It was reflective of the fact that youâre using the one politician in Ireland who mentioned nine months to scaremonger about actual full-on on demand abortion. Thatâs just silly.
My Ideal scenario is pretty much what is being voted for. Full abortion for anyone before 12 weeks for any reason. I have too many kids already. Iâm sick. I canât be arsed. I hate children. Whatever. After 12 weeks abortion for anyone who needs it on medical grounds, strictly on doctors orders. I outlined this to you before when you said fellas were afraid of saying what they thought.
The issue of rape is a very serious one, which you seem to trivialize. Itâs not a snowflake issue, everyone should be concerned about the victims of rape. One would think in a week where two young women were slaughtered in sex crazed attacks that it would be forefront in Irish peopleâs minds.
Answer a simple question. Should victims of rape be given the option of an abortion pill if they are impregnated as a result of the rape?
Itâs the opposite. Theyâll actually be denying themselves work.
Can we expect you at some stage over the next two days to appeal for a No vote on the basis that couriers will lose business shipping foetal ashes from England to Ireland in the event of a Yes?
I have no idea on the profitability or not of abortion. I doubt many of the medical professionals in Ireland are basing their decision on this angle. But fair play to you, youâve obviously thought about every aspect of this referendum. Apart from the fact that it wonât actually let women over 12 weeks pregnant demand abortions for any reason. That key part seems to have slipped your mind.
Theres already an option on medical grounds in irish law. Surely education, contraception, free morning after pill etc can take care of the earlier group, if not they have a constitutional right to go to the uk, no one is suggesting they be forced to go through with it, but at the same time people are entitled to not want the practice happening here. Campaign for the morning after pill in vending machines, youâll be printing money