Afr

[quote=“Mac”]Bandage - now that I think of it and on a forum where you can say what you want - what the fluck happened with that Tom Mooney thing on An Fear Rua last summer?

I was away for 3 weeks over the Tipp and KK semi final last year so missed it all. Any time I tried to suggest it when I came back, Cahill either deleted my post or closed the thread. I know I disagreed with a lot of what you said about his article but I never fully found out what happened.

I remember something about you posting an article up on this site as a type of an interview and parts of it took the piss out of Cahill but didnt hear much more than that. Care to shed any light on it?[/quote]

I remember seeing his article at the time and I had no qualms with what he’d actually written. I can’t really recall but I think some people on the thread asserted that he spoke a lot of sense and he was the type of figure we needed involved in Wexford GAA or something along those lines. Anyway, I know enough about him and enough people who know him to conclude that he’s a smug idiot. Despite his flowing prose he’s not somebody who concerns himself with GAA either and it’s more of a stereotypical ‘3 weeks in July’ jump on the bandwagon period where he writes a few opinion pieces on Wexford GAA. It actually reminds me of kids who play tennis out on the street for a couple of weeks during Wimbledon every summer and then forget about the game for the rest of the year.

So I basically, in a pretty crude way, said he was a fool and not somebody who should be considered a definitive voice on Wexford GAA. AFR had a go back at me for my ‘mean-spirited attack’ and in fairness I had called him a c0ck or whatever. I think I replied that even if my language was over the top that my general point stood. In hindsight I shouldn’t have called him a clown / idiot / knob or whatever but I stand over the general point still.

AFR then came back with some tripe about Mooney being a journalist who paid his annual subscription to the NUJ and he deserved respect and was above the likes of me. I then said that it’s blatantly ridiculous to suggest an NUJ member is more worthy of respect than anyone else and queried whether other union members are deserving of equal respect or is it just NUJ members who warrant this elite status. I also questioned the practice of putting up articles from local papers up on the ‘discussion forum’ to begin with if he was going to censor debate about them.

Mooney himself came back (if it actually was him) citing his extensive playing career with Bray Emmets and Wicklow and AFR then closed the thread. I knew he was from Bray and I presume he thought I’d just accept his claims and go, ‘wow, I was wrong - he’s actually deeply involved in GAA’ and let it go seeing AFR and others had responded negatively to what I’d said.

But I knew he wasn’t involved through personally knowing a number of journalists from both of the local papers in Wexford. Also, by chance I know a few lads who are heavily involved with Bray Emmets through a former job (one of them is on here). I got them to check his story about being a GAA starlet himself and they said nobody in the club had ever heard of him. I told the lads my online credibility was at stake and to check with all the older club stalwarts and the lads involved on the hurling side (as his story was he’d played hurling rather than football with Wicklow) because I needed to ensure I was right! The lads were wondering why I was so bothered but then I directed them to the thread on afr and they became intrigued themselves and literally followed up out in Emmets with anyone who’s anyone in the club and again not one person had any recollection of the club’s star hurler, who also played with Wicklow apparently, ever having even played with Emmets in either code.

So then I did the mock interview with myself where I had a few little jibes at AFR for getting a hard-on because he’s a fellow member of the NUJ along with a Wexford-based local newspaper editor and also said Mooney had made up stories of his GAA background to earn himself more kudos in the argument. AFR then either locked or deleted the thread and that was that and he wouldn’t allow any more discussion on the topic either for whatever reasons he had himself.

suprised he didnt ban you:rolleyes:

I remember the article alright, and as you say, it wasnt a bad piece, I actually agreed with most of it. But I wouldnt know him personally, and I would know quite a few in Wexford GAA, but I wouldnt be saying a journalist is what we need to boost our county. Altho you took the more direct approach, ie throw a nuke at him and sort it out after!8)

I actually replied to that thread, because AFR had said something about you not knowing what a journalist does or is about, and I said that as far as I was aware, you have family heavily involved in journalism and GAA and it was a bit ironic how AFR can slag someone off for giving abuse about not knowing things about them, when he did the very same thing. but as us usual when he doesnt agree with someone, he deletes posts, like with Mac when he asked what had happened.

I think the point I was making with you was that I was glad that someone was actually saying what Mooney said. Regardless if it was feckin Derek Mooney someone needed to highlight the dire straight we were in. You mentioned that you’d wait until a visionary like Liam Dunne, George O Connor or Liam Griffin was saying this sort of stuff.

It was over that whole affair that I got the first indication that AFR might act like a spoilt child.

That’s fair enough Mac and Gman and I recall either one of you or scalder mentioning that I was hurling the man rather than the ball. It was just that I was annoyed that it seemed that he was being portrayed as some kind of saviour or revolutionary for Wexford GAA when he’s actually not that interested in it at all. I think I made the comparison with rugby in that I could write a load of fluent prose about the international scene and eulogise Murphy’s performance last Saturday while critiquing Jackman’s inability to throw the ball straight into the line-out etc but it doesn’t alter the fact that I’ve very little interest in rugby and only a basic knowledge of the game, much like him and GAA.

Like Mac, I thought AFR’s stance in deleting and locking threads and censoring debate on it as being quite odd. I don’t necessarily think that was a turning point but it seemed around that time he generally began over-zealously policing the place and there seems to have been some rather unnecessary notice or other on the top of the board threatening bans most weeks since then.

He then regularly started chopping off my threads. I set up a few ones to get a bit of banter going on Dating and Stupid Things Mates Have Done and stuff and he deleted each of them. I presume he considered them to be in bad taste even though a load of people were getting involved and telling pretty funny and more or less harmless accounts of their own personal escapades. In truth, I don’t see how my threads were deemed offensive while leering comments under pictures of 16-year-old You’re A Star entrants were not.

its my ball and you play by my rules.

Yeah there was a couple of decent threads you started up there where there was good harmless activity by a good few, and then it was not just closed, but deleted. You should have said the dates were with young girls and then posted the pictures up, that might have saved them!:wink:

Bandage, my old AFR buddy!!

I said Id look in here as there is indeed some strange goings on in AFR land presently. Funnily enough through a bizzare and frankly ridiculous set of circumstances I found myself in a bed this morning alongside a copy of ‘I walked the Line’ Liam Dunes book. Liam makes reference to (p41 or 61) Wexfords backroom team that year. There was a Tom Mooney one of the selectors that season.

Could it be…

BTW, interesting betting section to the site. I might start a specialist rugby betting thread if you dont mind. Too much football around here!

Alright there Daniel. Yeah, fire away on the rugby betting thread - any way of making money is to be welcomed. There’s actually a few rugby heads on here so I’m sure they’ll make themselves heard.

As for the other thing, that would not be him!

Go for it Danny, reckon there’s plenty of money to be made on rugby betting especially with handicaps.

I backed Wales for the Triple Crown at 11/1 before the start of the 6 Nations. Also have them at 8/1 who win the Championship and I have Ireland at 9/2 to win the Championship from before the start too.

Wales are now evens to win the championship and they’re 6/4 to win the Triple Crown. Debating whether to lay them now somewhere to cash in on the margin.

[quote=“Bandage”]Alright there Daniel. Yeah, fire away on the rugby betting thread - any way of making money is to be welcomed. There’s actually a few rugby heads on here so I’m sure they’ll make themselves heard.

As for the other thing, that would not be him![/quote]

I dont believe in coincidence.

If I told you that I was tha Tom Mooney that replied to AFR what would you think

[quote=“dancarter”]I dont believe in coincidence.

If I told you that I was tha Tom Mooney that replied to AFR what would you think[/quote]

I wouldn’t believe you!

[quote=“therock67”]Go for it Danny, reckon there’s plenty of money to be made on rugby betting especially with handicaps.

I backed Wales for the Triple Crown at 11/1 before the start of the 6 Nations. Also have them at 8/1 who win the Championship and I have Ireland at 9/2 to win the Championship from before the start too.

Wales are now evens to win the championship and they’re 6/4 to win the Triple Crown. Debating whether to lay them now somewhere to cash in on the margin.[/quote]

The Handicaps are the road to the poorhouse in general rock I think, not that I have enough discipline to keep away from them. But if the handicap is Wasps -20 and they are 18 up with 10 mins to go there is no real incentive for them to keep the pressure on to cover the spread. in a physical game like rugby human nature dictates that you back off

An exception to this rule would be when ROG is playing, he is always aware of the spread!!

Lay off the Wales bet anyways, you can back them odds against on the day to win if you want. Cant see it happening, Ireland are slightly above average, as are Wales. its the worst championship quality wise for a good few years which has meant reasonable performances are being blown up. France have scored 5/6 tries off lucky breaks and break outs from there 22, England threw away a seemingly invincible position vs Wales.

Wales played well in the seond half of the Italy game and wer supposed to be quaking in our boots?? I dont think so. Italy followed there usual pattern of starting to colapse halfway through the competition and there discipline went.

Ireland by 7-10 Id say.

That figures cause my best guess would be that you were Tommy Mooney yourself!! Thought it was very strange Tommy never came back to the site to chase you further on it…no such thing as bad publicity bandage I guess and you certainly got the Bandage brand out there!!

BTW WTF is the cash thing under the username

[quote=“dancarter”]
BTW WTF is the cash thing under the username[/quote]

There’s a Virtual Bookies where you bet virtual cash on sports events and that shows how much you have left.

[quote=“dancarter”]The Handicaps are the road to the poorhouse in general rock I think, not that I have enough discipline to keep away from them. But if the handicap is Wasps -20 and they are 18 up with 10 mins to go there is no real incentive for them to keep the pressure on to cover the spread. in a physical game like rugby human nature dictates that you back off

An exception to this rule would be when ROG is playing, he is always aware of the spread!!

Lay off the Wales bet anyways, you can back them odds against on the day to win if you want. Cant see it happening, Ireland are slightly above average, as are Wales. its the worst championship quality wise for a good few years which has meant reasonable performances are being blown up. France have scored 5/6 tries off lucky breaks and break outs from there 22, England threw away a seemingly invincible position vs Wales.

Wales played well in the seond half of the Italy game and wer supposed to be quaking in our boots?? I dont think so. Italy followed there usual pattern of starting to colapse halfway through the competition and there discipline went.

Ireland by 7-10 Id say.[/quote]

Sort of agree on the handicaps but it depends on what the handicap is. In matches where the bookies aren’t sure who’ll win then I think the handicap is well worth betting with.

Look at Ireland - Wales for example. Ireland are 8/15 to win and Ireland -5 are 10/11. The reality of the situation though is that if Ireland do win it’s highly probable that they’ll win by more than 5 points. Once the handicap is less than 7 points then it’s worth considering because nobody feels safe when they’re only a score ahead.

Agreed that Wales are overrated though. Thought they were underrated before it started but they’re not as good as they think they are now.

Bandage can we get a statement from you regarding your future on AFR? Are you on gardening leave or have you retired?

Nah, I’m gone from there for good because of the random bannings and censorship.

Dont know anything about the goings on on AFR but have absolutely no time for Tom Mooney. Bandage is exactly right in what he says about the man.

Christ stevie G - you’d swear you worked for The Echo or something. :slight_smile:

AFR has a lovely piece in his article on his site now. Can see him tittering away to himself while he wrote it:

Gowlnacalley

The village of Gowlnacalley is situated about two miles from the town of Cashel, in the County of Tipperary, Ireland.

‘Gowlnacalley’ is an anglisication of the ancient Gaelic name for the area - Gabhal na Calla. According to the Ordnance Survey Field Name Books - compiled in the 1850’s by those great Gaelic scholars, O’Donovan and O’Curry - ‘Calla’ is the genitive version of the Irish word ‘cailleach’, meaning a ‘witch’ or a ‘hag’. ‘Gabhal’ is one of a number of Irish terms for a particularly private but necessary and useful part of the female anatomy.

So, the townland name Gabhal na Calla, might be loosely translated directly into English as ‘The Hag’s Fanny’ or ‘The Witch’s Pussy’.

[quote=“Gman”]AFR has a lovely piece in his article on his site now. Can see him tittering away to himself while he wrote it:

Gowlnacalley

The village of Gowlnacalley is situated about two miles from the town of Cashel, in the County of Tipperary, Ireland.

‘Gowlnacalley’ is an anglisication of the ancient Gaelic name for the area - Gabhal na Calla. According to the Ordnance Survey Field Name Books - compiled in the 1850’s by those great Gaelic scholars, O’Donovan and O’Curry - ‘Calla’ is the genitive version of the Irish word ‘cailleach’, meaning a ‘witch’ or a ‘hag’. ‘Gabhal’ is one of a number of Irish terms for a particularly private but necessary and useful part of the female anatomy.

So, the townland name Gabhal na Calla, might be loosely translated directly into English as ‘The Hag’s Fanny’ or ‘The Witch’s Pussy’.[/quote]
Sweet jaysus. He’s better off not commenting on his site.