My ironic wit gets lost on here sometimes. I was only messing SSider. Oh and ignore the attention seeker down in the Talking Balls section. Youāll get to know Ball Ox over time.
[quote=āAppendageā]I canāt remember if there were any cases brought. The lad was actually an inter county footballer at the time (since retired as he was and is an incredibly lazy bastard if somewhat talented). I think the HS had some pretty venomous stuff on it at the time and control was alledgedly pretty loose, this was 4 or 5 years ago. There was some pretty nasty shit written about players and he reckoned that a player could argue that his quality of life was suffering as a result.
I would agree with your view as without the debate and discussion it would all be pretty pointless - but I do think that anonymous criticism is inappropriate.
TFK generally doesnāt go down that road anyway. There is usually decent comment on here and less of the crap that I used to see on HS and afr back when I was supposed to be studying in college.[/quote]
So, do you think we should all register on forums under our real names if we want to critique something Appendage?!
Itās not really possible for anyone who wants to remain in employment given both the amount of time some of us while away during our working days on here and other forums and also given some of the more risque topics we discuss.
Also, I donāt see why you would regard criticism from anonymous online sources as inappropriate compared to say some lad openly having a go in the local paper or in the pub or whatever.
If a player canāt handle a misfit like myself having a pop at him over a poor display online, for example, then Iād argue that he probably doesnāt possess the mental toughness to compete at the top level anyway.
[quote=āBandageā]So, do you think we should all register on forums under our real names if we want to critique something Appendage?!
Itās not really possible for anyone who wants to remain in employment given both the amount of time some of us while away during our working days on here and other forums and also given some of the more risque topics we discuss.
Also, I donāt see why you would regard criticism from anonymous online sources as inappropriate compared to say some lad openly having a go in the local paper or in the pub or whatever.
If a player canāt handle a misfit like myself having a pop at him over a poor display online, for example, then Iād argue that he probably doesnāt possess the mental toughness to compete at the top level anyway.[/quote]
I agree whole heartedly Bandage. You are indeed a complete misfit.
SS**, AFR has suffered a steady decline over the past 6 months or so and itās past the point of rescue at this stage. I havenāt really posted on it for 2/3 weeks now. I look in once or twice a day but I find it difficult to find a thread or 2 that I might be in anyway interested in. Cahill has forgotten that the key to the siteās success was the quality of the posters. The majority of them including yourself gone now.
I was banned for being foolish enough to ask about the nature of some dispute involving some lad called Arrigle and Premierview.To be honest AFR has gone downhill rapidly .I think its heyday was around the time of a certain gobsheen called David Trimble.
I read the first 3 paragraphs of this article yesterday. Another one of Billy Keaneās eulogies about Munster from The Independent. I actually donāt think Iāve seen worse sport journalism.
Around the world in 80 ways as Red Army reaches Cardiff ā the final frontier
Saturday May 24 2008
The Three Wise Men had it easy.
We left Lyrecrompane Central at dawn. Then we took the red eye from Kerry International to Tashkent with a stop for imported Gateaux Swiss Roll at the auntieās house in Berne. Four hours later we were forced to eat dog food on the trek across Siberia to The Cape of Good Hope. The huskies were tasty, but sinewy.
It was plain sailing from there as we rowed our currach round the bend towards Fishguard. We stopped for lunch on what we perceived to be a tiny atoll not far from Zanzibar, but our table was a whale so we rowed into the Sail-In McDonalds in St Malo where we patched the holes in our shoes with what was left of our burgers.
The train to Istanbul was pleasant enough, even if we did have to sleep in the overhead luggage rack with lost Chelsea fans. The flight from the Bosphorous to Cardiff via Buenos Aires with a Knock stopover was fine, bar the warm air turbulence over Offaly. And all on a budget of one dayās dole a day.
Overcharging
Anything, but fly with arrogant Aer Lingus. They pulled out of Shannon and then they have the neck to sock it on to the Munster fans. And theyāll keep blackguarding us until we do something about it. Ryanair gave away thousands of free tickets two years ago. They too are overcharging and thereās talk of online check-in to go the toilet, but at least they put manners on Aer Lingus.
The rip-off continued to Wales. Some Cardiff innkeepers would fleece three travellers answering to the name of Jesus, Mary and Joseph, and charge 20 a day to park the ass. Now for the plug, as they say in Turkey before they empty the baths. Mark runs the honest Munster Bar in Mary Street. His mammy is Mary Keane from Ballybunion.
But will we win?
If we are to win today our forwards will have to surpass the effort of that famous semi-final defeat in Toulouse. The players, even the winners, looked as if every ounce of energy had been sucked from their bodies.
It was if they had been struck down by some terrible debilitating disease. Hands hung limply and the Munster lads couldnāt even speak. Shirts were soaked through from sweat. One man wasnāt able to pull off his jersey. It was stuck to him and he needed help to get it over his head. Torsos were already beginning to turn purple from the bruises and the rake claws were still red raw.
Nearly every Munster player wore the face of the man who walked into doors. One player tried to stand, but was as unsteady on his feet as a new-born colt. And as dehydrated as they were , there was still enough liquid left for tears. Itās going to be that tough today.
I have this feeling Munster will have to score two tries to win. The Toulouse backs are not as tight as they should be or as fast as they used to be, but they can still cause terrible damage if the flow is with them.
We have their match in attack. Lifeimi Mafi knifes through like a slean cutting moist mala; Rua Tipoki could safely dance The Hokey Pokey in a field full of landmines. Dauntless Ian Dowling from Kilkenny senses danger before anyone. If the All Blacks picked Doug Howlett they would be world champions now.
Tomas OāLeary faces a huge task against Byron Kelleher who could easily run the EU and still control the base of the scrum. OāLeary is of course a Corkman. Michael Collins brought down an empire.
Ronan OāGara is crucial. We hope heās fully fit. His kicking from the tee and on the fairways has to be world class. Careless kicks cost tries. Letās face it, we wouldnāt be here today but for him.
Anything
Our pack are prepared to do anything it takes short of dying, but please lads no cracked penalties.
The reason we follow this team is every time they play you get an honest performance and unlike Turpin Air, you always get value for money.
Then again weād cross the Gobi with a mouth full of Cream Crackers to get here.
But will we win?
Les Toulousains wear silk gloves when they pass and Velcro when they catch. The recipient of the first offload must be zapped and smothered immediately he receives the ball.
If the ball goes beyond the first offload we will be chasing a phantom. Ghosts, as any free spirit will tell you, can run through walls; illusionists cannot. Houdini would have had to knock hard to get out if John Hayes and Alan Quinlan sat on top of his trunk.
Munster will win if we play to our almighty best, and then only barely. Our boys are more patient. We know when to strike and from where. That might just be the key.
Write it on the wall Dec.
āThe early bird might catch the worm, but the second mouse always gets the cheese.ā
Sounds a bit of a fruit to me.
Allegedly.
Little did I think Iād come back in here on Sunday evening and see SS** posting in here. Think youāll enjoy it over here anyway lad. Just dont mind that American lad. He likes to talk away to himself. All thats needed here now is Hud, Sid Wallace and Limerick Nomad and Iād say AFR would cease to exist!
Hud is out in his own for me Mac, absolute class act. He doesnāt post as much nowadays unfortunately. Sid is top drawer too. AFR is gone downhill alot, I think the lowest ebb was when a good thread like āLimousin Cattleā got pulled because of a complaint from the Limousin Cattle Breeders Society, I mean it was hilarious, it shouldnāt have been pulled. If AFR couldnāt stand by his posters in that situation then youād wonder does he want us posting at all.
Stop lad, I had tears rolling down my cheeks reading that one. One of the funniest things Iāve ever read on any website. Could never understand what the problem was it. Were the Limousin Cattle crowd gonna sue the website for dematory comments about cattle or something? Reminded me of the animal rights nutters youād see protesting outside Shelbourne Park on a busy Saturday night.
Between that, a ban on discussing the Cork strike, and not being allowed start new topics on Joe Canning. The whole Jay Shermin thing was a loads of balls that could have been avoided as well.
[quote=āAppendageā] but I do think that anonymous criticism is inappropriate.
Quote from this Appendage fella on another thread
āFarmer, you are a fool and are to be pitiedā.
Good job I am a mellow fellow or else I would be taken legal action against the TFK and you, whoever you areā¦
You are also a hypocriteā¦
The aforementioned Limousin Cattle thread. If you have 10-15 mins its well worth a read.
http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=436611&xpos=0
It was a classic alright! What happened was some dude with a sense of humour deficit in the Limousin Cattle Breeders Association complained to AFR and he buckled under the pressure. Absolutely ludicrious, since when canāt you say a bull is cross for jaysus sake? As for the banning of Jay Shermanā¦ wrong decision. Thereāll be no one left there soon.
[quote=āMacā]The aforementioned Limousin Cattle thread. If you have 10-15 mins its well worth a read.
http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=436611&xpos=0[/quote]
its gone to the dogs there alright. and whats worse is he is pissing off the regular lads there and still leaving the idiots ruin the place with their fake accounts to wind up people. I pointed out a few threads where trimble was after making new accounts, and AFR turned on me and sent me an email telling me it was basically his site and he can do what he likes with it. Let him off sure. I think he is so worried abou tgetting sued he doesnt actually see that you cant be sued for some of the things said. As SS** says, someone gave out saying that limousin cattle werent the only ones to be mad in the head, and if that is āpressureā that AFR bends over for then he has no hope.
Ahoy there Shannonsider. Iād be known as Vinegarhill on AFR. Canāt believe a āPower Userā has been banned!! I think I calmed down over there after the Jay Sherman episode as I couldnāt believe heād been banned.
Would agree also about the cattle thread-one of the funniest ever.
Did Paddy Macs Tractor migrate over to AFR?
One of the greats.
How ya Vinegarhill, jay sherman was a great poster over there and sadly got the chop. Reading AFRās reasons for the cull I can understand his dilemma in a way, but the site wonāt be the same without the banned users. Any sign of dancarter back here today?
Maire, not sure if paddy macās tractor migrated, was he the clareman living in spain?
[quote=āSHANNONSIDER**ā]How ya Vinegarhill, jay sherman was a great poster over there and sadly got the chop. Reading AFRās reasons for the cull I can understand his dilemma in a way, but the site wonāt be the same without the banned users. Any sign of dancarter back here today?
Maire, not sure if paddy macās tractor migrated, was he the clareman living in spain?[/quote]
Iād say Dan could be still be nursing the post Heineken Cup hangover
Anyone know if the AFR jay shermin is related to the TFK ben shermin??
A fair bit of bitching going on over there,funny as fook.