Afr

Iā€™ll get Ball-Ox to destroy them!

i see one of evoā€™s aliases has signed up hereā€¦a certain finianā€¦fucking dickhaed that fella

Letā€™s run him out of here.

Some smashing reading over on AFR about bandage. Canā€™t believe he always gets the credit for TFK though - Iā€™m the silent genius.

On a serious note that stuff about Canning is pure nonsense. Itā€™s not like the forum has a huge problem with way too much content about Joe Canning. I wasnā€™t over there very much (partly because I wasnā€™t able to register for about a year) so just browsed it sometimes but that stuff about the Cork hurling strike was pure shite. Itā€™s a GAA message board (predominantly) but you werenā€™t allowed talk about the biggest issue in the GAA at the time. Woeful.

Just to update the AFR exiles. Shannonsider has been banned for comments made about Billy Keane. Keane contacted Cahill directly about it and he didnt have much choice or he could have threatened legal action or something like that.

in fookin jfk flying to heathrow later for the rugby not much tie to post

afr is fooked if shannonsider is goneā€¦what is going on over thereā€¦im gone too and probly loads moreā€¦my banning was harshā€¦cold and harsh!!

munster 26- toulouse 24 aet

Billy Keane, guy who writes meandering and whiny rubbish in the Indo or one of the Keane-Collopy Limerick crime gang?

Yeah I got the bullet alright, however I remain unrepentent in my view that Billy is a duff writer. If Iā€™ve been booted off because of some perveived libel threat then fair enough (even though I said nothing of note), but I thought it would have been fair to expect notification of my banning at the very least. I did put up a fair few posts over the years in fairness. Anyway I wasnā€™t even worthy of that so good luck to them over there, place had gone to the dogs anyway without Hud, Bandage and some others, will be even worse now without a proper poster like dancarter. A good time for me to be booted out really, I might hang around here for a while if I can read up a bit on this association football thing. At least Bandage is over here!

Alright SS** (why the 2 stars by the way?).

Were you banned merely for saying you thought his writing is rubbish?

Getting banned for expressing an opinion on a forum is pretty high up in the ā€˜this is a bit strangeā€™ stakes alright.

Bizarrely I think it was actually from a thread a few years ago Bandage if you can believe that. I would have thought the statute of limitations would have saved me but evidently it didnā€™t.

Thatā€™s really odd. I canā€™t believe a journalist would be so sensitive to someoneā€™s opinion of his efforts. Christ, he puts his work out in the public domain and given the readership of the paper he writes in then how could he not expect his pieces to draw comment? Thereā€™s surely no grounds for legal action either but itā€™s a line afr regularly uses when he decides to delete something that he personally doesnā€™t like.

daniel san, what were you banned for? I never witnessed you being aggressive at all over there bar calling a few lads idiots for attempted Munster wind ups.

Oh christ. Im getting some boyos on here to even out this mulla dominance.

I donā€™t bother with any other forums as TFK is simply unmatchable in terms of quality. Honestly.

Thatā€™s gash if its true about Billy Keane. What exactly was said?

A mate of mine used to work for Hogan Stand website and reckons its only a matter of time before GAA players start bringing cases against forums for anonymous abuse/criticism that they get on such media.

Fooking hilarious that a journo (and a fookin bad one at that) would get so wound up about it tho.

Just joined up.Was banned from AFR ,I posted under the name wexford townie.

Today is actually my first time in here and as I already know a few faces I think Iā€™ll hang around, technically and visually it beats the piss out of AFR anyway. When youā€™re no longer welcome on AFR you have to move on.

Ahoy there Kerlogue - what were you banned for? It seems like thereā€™s been another purge over there.

Appendage, did you hear of any cases of players contacting Hogan Stand to complain or anything or was it more your mateā€™s personal opinion?

My own opinion is that posting abusive and vindictive stuff about anyone (journalist, player or whover) is unnecessary unless the person has done something that warrants it, e.g. if one player violently assaults another then I think itā€™s fair game to call him a prick etc.

But I have no problem in discussing a team or individualā€™s performance or a journalistā€™s article and expressing an opinion as to the quality of it. Itā€™s what supporters have done for years and will always do - itā€™s just that itā€™s more prevalent online these days than before.

Credit to Bandage for that. The guyā€™s an IT whizz. Built this site himself from the ground up.

If any of the new lads have any ideas about anything youā€™d like to see on the site feel free to sugges them.

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]Ahoy there Kerlogue - what were you banned for? It seems like thereā€™s been another purge over there.

Appendage, did you hear of any cases of players contacting Hogan Stand to complain or anything or was it more your matesā€™ personal opinion?

My own opinion is that posting abusive and vindictive stuff about anyone (journalist, player or whover) is unnecessary unless the person has done something that warrants it, e.g. if one player violently assaults another then I think itā€™s fair game to call him a prick etc.

But I have no problem in discussing a team or individualā€™s performance or a journalistā€™s article and expressing an opinion as to the quality of it. Itā€™s what supporters have done for years and will always do - itā€™s just that itā€™s more prevalent online these days than before.[/quote]

I canā€™t remember if there were any cases brought. The lad was actually an inter county footballer at the time (since retired as he was and is an incredibly lazy bastard if somewhat talented). I think the HS had some pretty venomous stuff on it at the time and control was alledgedly pretty loose, this was 4 or 5 years ago. There was some pretty nasty shit written about players and he reckoned that a player could argue that his quality of life was suffering as a result.

I would agree with your view as without the debate and discussion it would all be pretty pointless - but I do think that anonymous criticism is inappropriate.

TFK generally doesnā€™t go down that road anyway. There is usually decent comment on here and less of the crap that I used to see on HS and afr back when I was supposed to be studying in college.

Think the gaa stuff lends itself to being a bit more hurtful because as well as comments on performances everyone knows a lad on the panel and tries to add credence to their criticisms by spouting shite they donā€™t have to back up about goings on behind the scenes.

First mention of a lawsuit against TFK and Iā€™m banning Shannonsider and Danny Carter. No point hanging around trying to figure out who did what. Mud sticks.

Donā€™t go thinking I said anything out of the way to get kicked off that site, I didnā€™t, and Iā€™m sure dan is the same. Itā€™s just that the administrator decided to take some hysterical sabre rattling by a talentless hack over the word of two long-standing contributors to his site.