After Work Pints

I’d say yer man is another problem drinker.

He has serious issues with drink.

He’s afraid to go for a pint on his own because he knows he’ll wake up 12 hours later on a park bench with his pants around his ankles.

Has that happened here before? :eek:

I’m sure it started out as a few drinks after work, but alcoholics never know when to stop. You can spot them a mile away here. They flip-flop between rational debate and frantic outbursts of rage.

That’s everyone here, including and especially yourself.

These are usually lads in their 40s and 50s.

The type of person who wouldn’t have dared in their 20s/30s to have gone for a relaxing pint by themself as they didn’t have comfort in their own skin. They met the wife in the comfort of a group of friends from school/college or when out on the piss. From cradle to the time they walked down the aisle, they always had someone there to hold their hand. Their unhealthy attitude to alcohol in those years meant getting blathered at home with the wife, at dinner parties with her dickhead mates or with groups of 'lads". When the marriage inevitably falls apart, they turn more to drinking in excess and can’t cope being by themselves in the big bad world. The mates are rearing kids and have no interest, the wife hates your guts.

The beer belly procured from years of poor diet and excess drinking at weekends makes them even more self loathing and unable to form new relationships. A few embarrassing work party incidents later, they’re unemployed and staring down the bottom of the fifth Guinness at 2 o’clock in the afternoon.

There’s a sense of autobiography about that.

and a smell of bullshit

I’m far too young for that.

I see it with my pals though, eyebrows raised if someone decides to do something by themselves. How many lads don’t bother going back to a sport they love in their 20s or 30s, if they fell out of it in their younger years for example? They need a group of school/college friends and/or a bird to do anything. Men are brutal at forming new relationships, beyond work, after they “settle down”.

There’s good reason for that though. Most people are self absorbed cunts and the older you get the less tolerance you have for such cuntishness. A nice quiet few pints is infinitely better than listening to some wanker drone on about his life.

Horseshit. Ive made loads of e-friends the past few years

Why would you need to make loads of new friends in your 40s as a matter of interest?

Did ya not read my post? To save one from doom.

Loving the new avatar btw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBK4quPVNGk

The man is a genius. One man highlights reel. Better than Cullen at his best

there’s a law in Germany about purity, its called the German purity law, there’s no chemicals in this stuff, its unreal

Where did you pick those up? Careful on those continental beers they’re not watery piss. I had six pints of franziskaner last night and have been feeling them all day. I was fair shook when I woke up this morning.

I got them in Aldi, I have drank a six pack every day this week, and am fresh as a daisy in the morning, I jump out of the bed with a real sense of purpose in fact. I might have 2 tonight, you need to check they have the message on the back stating “German purity law” that means there is no chemicals in it, my only complaint is it blows the arse of you in bed with farts all night

got myself a naggin of whiskey and a 10 spot

I’d say that naggin of whiskey would knock you over if you drank it.

Are you still training? You were on a Carl Froch like regime there for a while or maybe you are having a few weeks off?