“Glas was right about the rules again.”
Why would anyone care what a vacuous American football-ypmping ‘Hurling was invented in 2018!’ know nothing moron thinks? Or fails to think, rather.
The server had to be switched off in 2019 due to ego meltdown by himself and his buddy.
Lads reaching for the top self, rhot, at 3.30 in the day. Wow
Same fella who slated the greatest hurling manager of all time (for now) btw. He will have his tounge too firmly lodged between his clubmates arse cheeks to speak out down the line you would imagine.
Id say you can trace all this back to the time Peter Casey got a receipt with his change in a bar and had to release a statement about it. A few lads dug in then and couldn’t dig out
I was a prick long before that
He didnt seem to consult the umpires at all. The officials generally seem to have all the tech and are miked up to someone in the stand. He just wanted any excuse not to send him off. It will go down as one of the worst decisions ever made so much so that they will now have to change the rules to stop such an interpretation happening again.
There were 2 points in it in the end and Limerick for all the talk about Clare not registering scores , only scored that goal at the end in the last quarter.
Limerick can do nothing about the referee though and played what was in front of them. Clare panicked a bit and left points behind them. Should be a good final.
You would imagine Dan Morrissey wont be picked based on the skinning he got but then again maybe rabitte isnt as mobile as kelly. I can see Mike Casey being picked for that reason.
This is not entirely true. He did fumble his first two balls but then knuckled down and won two or three balls which he distributed nicely and was playing himself back in when he got the belt.
He wasn’t flowing like against Tipp and that is the problem sometimes - coming into a game like that as opposed to starting
I just hope @Elvis_Brandenberg_Kr has had time to reflect over the last few days.
Nasty nasty stuff. The drink isn’t suited to some fellas
On what exactly, mo chara?
My consistent view that Lohan is utterly overrated as a manager and has pissed away the talent at his disposal?
A return of 1 All-Ireland and zero provincial titles is a niggardly reflection of the generational players he had available to him. Yet, he is loved in Clare despite having a similar record to Davy Fitz, who fellas would burn. Any honest Clareman, and I know a few of them, would admit that he gets a free pass despite several tactical meltdowns over the years.
His teams should have delivered an awful lot more. His obsession with Limerick, who he never beat in a game that mattered to both teams, is reflective of a particular type of Clare mindset that can infect the brains of otherwise reasonable men.
The one All-Ireland they did manage to win was aided by a series of extremely favourable refereeing decisions that manifestly affected the outcome of the game such as the blatant 65 not awarded to Cork that resulted in a Clare score on the restart, the jersey pull on O’Flynn right at the end (and right in front of Murphy’s nose), the non-sending off of David McInerney and several more.
People have lazily bought the narrative because Clare could be exciting and have an endless supply of cheerleaders in the media - Morrissey, Daly, Crowe et al.
Playing clearly injured players in an All-Ireland semi-final against Kilkenny. Leaving the hapless young Nolan floundering for 55 minutes in a Munster Final and then throwing him on the scrapheap. Thinking that Paidi Fitzpatrick could cut it at inter-county hurling. Throwing away a 9 point lead against Limerick in Ennis two years ago and then blowing a 6 point advantage coming down the stretch against the same opposition last Sunday.
How many more examples do people need?
His teams have had an array of superb hurlers and have massively under delivered - that is a cold, hard fact but does not suit the messiah-like narrative that surrounds him. Clare have entertained us all most certainly but they have disappointed and failed more often than a team with their abilities should have done.
Anyway, I can say what I like about Lohan - he’s my cousin.

I’ve said it a few times over the years that he hasn’t had the tactical side of it at all and has made a hames of it loads of times, the time with the sweeper against Kilkenny a prime example. But against that he’s gotten it right on occasion too and put it up to limerick more than any other team until cork came along. He fairly nailed it last Sunday with a number of positional switches that pretty much all worked and exposed a few of our players that we thought were going well.
The sweeper call was made due to the fact that he had three backs who hadn’t training in weeks leading up to the semi final, Cleary had missed the Munster final and Q/F, David Mc missed a good chunk of the RR and Q/F and Conlon picked up a serious head injury v Dublin that required an overnight stay in hospital. Paul Flanagan who was the next man up had also missed the previous few matches with injury.
The sweeper didn’t really work but the reasons for doing so were fairly valid. It was either do that or throw in inexperienced players into the starting line up for an A/I semi final or expose three lads and hope for the best.
Id give you some kind of credibility but then your comparison with Fitz undermines everything you’re saying.
Fitz relied on Kinnerk for that all-ireland then couldnt get out of the way for the next 3 seasons- we didn’t register a single win in Munster for the next 3 years- the teams he prepared were a joke. When Moloney and later Lohan took over we became very competitive again and have remained so.
Let’s face it - if Kinnerk didn’t coach Limerick over the last guts of a decade there wouldnt be that prolific run of titles. That’s the differentiator
Lohan is not a tactical genius by any means, but rule number one of any manager is to get your players running through a brick wall for you and Lohan has certainly done. Thats a skillset that very few people possess.
While Clare have had some of the best players of their generation within their ranks, they’ve also been carrying a few players at almost all times over the Lohan era and have been robbing Peter to pay Paul a good bit.
Bar 2024, I dont think his teams have had much luck either during his reign. Last Sunday being the nadir in that regard.
Cian Nolan was 28 or 29 playing in that Munster final. He had planned to go to Canada at the start of that year but deferred for a year as he got championship minutes in 2022. He emigrated after the club championship rather than being thrown on the scrap heap.
The point you have missed is that while Clare did have generational hurlers which Lohan reenergised - The squad lacks any kind of depth when Lohan took over hence why lads like Nolan, Paudi Fitz, Domhnall McMahon, Aaron Fitzgerald, Colin Guilfoyle, Gary Cooney, Jason Mccarthy, Shane Golden etc were playing championship hurling in those first few seasons.
Limerick are probably the greatest team of all time but Lohan is useless for not beating ye in any meaningful match.Ok.