[QUOTE=“ProjectX, post: 997852, member: 1742”]Dirty greasy conditions suited the kk team.
Huge disappointment that the best team did not win today.[/QUOTE]
Quite obvious from the start the conditions suited the younger & Fresher Limerick legs, KK won through pure grit n Character. Loads to improve on but what a better way to win a semi I can’t think!
Unlike the preoccupying sport across the water oft touted as a funny old game, hurling has one enduring certainty - The better team never loses!
ye had three or four goal chances where the ball hopped in the square and no limerick player drove through and horsed it over the line. we got one cahcne against you lot last year and honan got it over the line.
donal ogrady not getting sent off
kilkennys wides in the first half
I dont want to be running limerick down in any way after such a big performance but dont talk shit
[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 997859, member: 2272”]kilkenny only scored 1-4 in second half
Limerick wasted a lot of chances near the end.
McGrath decision on O’grady strike trip was bizarre. What did he think he gave the free for? How did the umpires miss it.[/QUOTE]
Kilkenny s return quite poor and Limerick finish equally so but the stats showed overriding wastefulness on part of KK.
Bizarre to say the least , McGrath made a point of verbally chastising O’Grady past the point of what was normal after the event and yet no discipiline followed.
thats not what they are talking about
shane dowling broke the ball past delaney in the first half delaney reached back and grabbed his face guard which prevented dowling getting on to the breaking ball with open road to the net.
should have been a straight red.
there were three of them today.
a kilkenny minor in the first half today pulled the helmet off a waterford player by the face guard
tom condon did it in the first half today
as did delaney.
podge collins got a straight red for nothing worse than any of them
[QUOTE=“twiceasnice97, post: 997886, member: 1061”]ye got a shit load of breaks and didn`t take them
ye had three or four goal chances where the ball hopped in the square and no limerick player drove through and horsed it over the line. we got one cahcne against you lot last year and honan got it over the line.
I dont want to be running limerick down in any way after such a big performance but dont talk shit[/QUOTE]
that wide at the end was worse than the sideline cuts vs clare last year
[QUOTE=“twiceasnice97, post: 997886, member: 1061”]ye got a shit load of breaks and didn`t take them
I dont want to be running limerick down in any way after such a big performance but dont talk shit[/QUOTE]
Clare got two big breaks last year - not having to face Kilkenny or Tipperary.
Poor conditions dont suit any team! Todays rain was biblical and is a testament to both sets of players that they could even continue playing never mind gain an advantage.
Limerick by a mile.
KK are strong when they can be controlled and measured, today called for an adaptability that fresher legs and freer(is that a word) expression should have delivered.
[QUOTE=“ProjectX, post: 997894, member: 1742”]The dirty day suited kk.
It was extreme rain today and KK seemed to prefer that.
On any average day, the better team would have won.[/QUOTE]
That kind of shite right there is why I was half hoping KK would win today. I’m sure it isn’t reflective of Limerick people in general, but for whatever reason, a lot of the online followers seem to live in a parallel universe, where they have actually won something of merit in 40 years.
KK have smashed Limerick for as long as I can remember. I can never recall Limerick facing a KK team as clear favorites. Yet, all week, all that could be heard around here was “if we play to our potential, we’ll win and win well”. Now, after the match, apparently the better team lost.
Limerick were in control. On 51 minutes during the heavy rain, the KK number 21 came on and acted the tramp by hitting Gavin o Mahoney with the top of the Hurley. A sending off offence was missed by the ref due to the torrential rain.
no we had to make do with beating the teams we were drawn to play , taking our chance with both hands, refusing to lose when cork scored in added time and with a smile and a large middle finger to those seething about tipp and kilkenny being too sh1t to beat their opponents we partied all the back to ennis on the monday night.
we beat cork tipp kilkenny tipp in 97 and i can assure you the liam mccarthy looked just the same in the family photos then as it did last year
the familys have changed mind you but fortunately we are not getting autographs for our kids from fat ould lads we are getting them from young fit lads which is nice.
next year Clare will be one of the best three teams in the championship and we will see where the draw takes us.
if we win it again without beating tipp or kilkenny or cork or whoever the cup will look the same then too.
[QUOTE=“Thumper, post: 997904, member: 2305”]That kind of shite right there is why I was half hoping KK would win today. I’m sure it isn’t reflective of Limerick people in general, but for whatever reason, a lot of the online followers seem to live in a parallel universe, where they have actually won something of merit in 40 years.
KK have smashed Limerick for as long as I can remember. I can never recall Limerick facing a KK team as clear favorites. Yet, all week, all that could be heard around here was “if we play to our potential, we’ll win and win well”. Now, after the match, apparently the better team lost.[/QUOTE]
I thought Gavin O’Mahony had a quality game today. Michael Fennelly won a fair bit of possession early on but O’Mahony settled into it and ended up being excellent. He was particularly good in the second half. Seamus Hickey has had an absolutely superb year - all the more impressive given the serious injury he was coming back from. Another top class display by him today.