All Ireland Hurling Championship 2014

You fucking eejit. This is outstanding

I don’t know for sure, but do remember reading about him coming out in championship last year or maybe year before.

There are several outfield IC hurlers who are " one sided"

OF course the suggestion was he would come out the odd time. But anyway.

I’ve no doubt. But the cannon of a shot from him isn’t going to materialise in open play. It’s a lethal shot off a penalty but no way the time or space is there in open play.

The general point here is being lost a bit. Players of pace certainly have an advantage, but clever, skillful and intelligent players will also always have a chance.

That Ronaldo video is similar to something I noticed a lot of the years with skillful players. In drills and relay games we would have played the guys with excellent skill execution would be as aluable in your team as speedsters. One guy always stood out, who was over weight and slow, but would win skills drills.

Pirlo is soccer is one of the best examples.

Not too many id say. Its a series weak point if there are.

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 853430, member: 686”][quote="caoimhaoin, post: 853376, member:]

Not too many id say. Its a series weak point if there are.[/quote]

It is. One of the Dublin midfielders is. William Egan is. There are others.
Historically there was probably more but lads are better coaches these days.

I remember one of the older lads in my club exclaiming one day about our u16 team “fucking hell, they can all hurl off both sides”. As if this was a spectacular achievement.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 853376, member: 273”]I don’t know for sure, but do remember reading about him coming out in championship last year or maybe year before.

OF course the suggestion was he would come out the odd time. But anyway.[/quote]

But you just stated he is an above average out fiekd player with a wonderful air of authority and now you tell me you think you read about him playing out the field maybe

This type of uncertainty has knocked my faith in the world. Its one thing for you to be talking ’ expertly’ on things but admitting you haven’t a bulls leads me to believe soneone has taken to posting without your permission

[quote=“twiceasnice97, post: 853446, member: 1061”]But you just stated he is an above average out fiekd player with a wonderful air of authority and now you tell me you think you read about him playing out the field maybe

This type of uncertainty has knocked my faith in the world. Its one thing for you to be talking ’ expertly’ on things but admitting you haven’t a bulls leads me to believe soneone has taken to posting without your permission[/quote]

Listen fella, I played against Nash when he was outfield, hurling and football.

You asked when he last played. Obviously I can’t be sure, but clearly you have no idea.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 853450, member: 273”]Listen fella, I played against Nash when he was outfield, hurling and football.

You asked when he last played. Obviously I can’t be sure, but clearly you have no idea.[/quote]
But I don’t have to know kev as I am not trying to advocate him appearing on the end of goal scoring moves in intercounty hurling matchs.
This is going to have ti be filed in a new topic called things kev doesn’t know I am afraid

[quote=“twiceasnice97, post: 853454, member: 1061”]But I don’t have to know kev as I am not trying to advocate him appearing on the end of goal scoring moves in intercounty hurling matchs.
This is going to have ti be filed in a new topic called things kev doesn’t know I am afraid[/quote]
And where did I advocate it?

I used Nash as an example but equally it could be Joe Canning. My idea is based around other sports where there is a set play designed to create an advantage and to capitalise on a partcular strength or to put in place a particular defence for a limited amount of time to prevent at all costs a goal being scored.

Just because it hasn’t been done before doesn’t mean it cannot be done. There is no particular obstruction or interference rule in GAA so you could use players as screens etc

if you look here as an example of ice hockey set plays somebody must be able to bring these and adapt them to hurling/football so that rather than playing off the cuff the team is playing to a precise set piece during parts of the game

http://coachnielsen.wordpress.com/systems/face-offs/

[quote=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 853462, member: 2272”]I used Nash as an example but equally it could be Joe Canning. My idea is based around other sports where there is a set play designed to create an advantage and to capitalise on a partcular strength or to put in place a particular defence for a limited amount of time to prevent at all costs a goal being scored.

Just because it hasn’t been done before doesn’t mean it cannot be done. There is no particular obstruction or interference rule in GAA so you could use players as screens etc

if you look here as an example of ice hockey set plays somebody must be able to bring these and adapt them to hurling/football so that rather than playing off the cuff the team is playing to a precise set piece during parts of the game

http://coachnielsen.wordpress.com/systems/face-offs/[/quote]

That’s the last thing we need TUM. Having worked here in Oz at a reasonable level you don’t want to go down that road. They just coach all individualism out of their players.

I’m all for structures and playing a certain way, but while I like evolving tactics I really hope we don’t go too far. I notice some of the stuff brought from AFL that coaches are using. While some are helpful and valuable and I’ll use them myself in the future (they are very good at on the day analysis and match stats and feedback), there coaching is mind numbing and cancels out creativity. Garlic football and hurling still rely a lot of the individual making a good decision. There is nothing wrong with repetitive training, drills and repetitive game play situations if they are aimed at making you a better decision maker and help you execute your skills to the best of your ability in high pressure situations. But Aussie Rules teaches guys to a pre-designated thing every time. I see certain irish coaches trying to do that and I’d worry about the kind if influence the likes of Walsh from GWS has on the people at the top of gaelic football. I have read some of his thoughts on the sports and would wonder about where he would bring a team.

There’s an innate difficulty in trying to have complex set-plays in hurling due to the fact that it is much easier for a move to break down because of the extra three foot reach every opponent has, and because the iron law of hurling is that it must be played at speed. Because you can score from 60-70 metres out there’s also a very high press required which ultimately leaves less scope for ‘quarter-backing’ as the opposition close and apply pressure at all times. In addition, the distance a ball can be moved in hurling allows for much greater returns from long and fast deliveries in terms of stretching the opposition defence. To an extent, structure can works against this.

None of this is to say that there aren’t lots of micro set-plays involving 2-3 players that enable teams to deal with certain situations, nor that certain patterns are better at creating scoring chances than others. There’s lots of that happening already and the sophistication of such patterns will no doubt increase over time. The idea that hurling is too ‘random’ for you to implement some sort of a set-play is silly, on the contrary hurling games tend to revolve around a relatively small number of basic patterns and there’s significant scope for planning on how to deal with those more effectively.

Ultimately though I think you can only think in terms of the first one or two transfers of possession and within five second passages of play if ‘set-plays’ are what you’re thinking about. Beyond that you’re looking at principles or patterns of off the ball movement more than ‘plays’ as far as hurling goes in my opinion. And that’s been going on for some time already.

You dumb fuck

Presume he said that as a pisstake?

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/609315231/Munster_Crest_normal.JPGMunster GAA @MunsterGAA
2014 Munster SHC Semi-Final - Clare v Cork fixed for Semple Stadium Thurles; Clare v Waterford fixed for Gaelic Grounds - date TBC

What is the logic behind playing Clare v Waterford in Limerick if it comes to pass?

[quote=“chewy louie, post: 857597, member: 1137”]https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/609315231/Munster_Crest_normal.JPGMunster GAA @MunsterGAA
2014 Munster SHC Semi-Final - Clare v Cork fixed for Semple Stadium Thurles; Clare v Waterford fixed for Gaelic Grounds - date TBC

What is the logic behind playing Clare v Waterford in Limerick if it comes to pass?[/quote]

To give Tony Considine something to talk about.

Possibly the wrong way round as Cork v Clare in Limerick sounds more like it.

I am reliably informed that Waterford folk do not like coming to Limerick for matches.

[quote=“The Lopper, post: 857624, member: 1557”]Possibly the wrong way round as Cork v Clare in Limerick sounds more like it.

I am reliably informed that Waterford folk do not like coming to Limerick for matches.[/quote]
Don’t mind that shite, we love it. Big feed in the Texas Steak Out before hand, chips in Donkey Fordes after. Best town in Ireland for a big game.