Be an odd thing for a hurley maker to do.
You fucking inbred hick cunt. Its lucky you wont be there Sunday.
Be an odd thing for a hurley maker to do.
You fucking inbred hick cunt. Its lucky you wont be there Sunday.
[QUOTE=“myboyblue, post: 950690, member: 180”]Be an odd thing for a hurley maker to do.
You fucking inbred hick cunt. Its lucky you wont be there Sunday.[/QUOTE]
Errr, you’re from Laois.
Well done, you’ve shown you’re capable of retaining knowledge and using it at a later time. I honestly didnt think you had it in you.
You’d want to go easy with the compliments. You’ll get yourself a reputation.
TFK Exclusive: Danny Sutcliffe’s broken hand hasn’t healed properly. They’ve decided to “rebreak” it and carry out an operation. He’ll miss Dublin’s Leinster semi-final against Wexford and their subsequent qualifier game.
@myboyblue I’ll be down Sunday, I’ll bate you all over the piss poor shopping centre adjacent to the grounds.
Where would one get cheap tickets for this walkover? I also intend to wear a saffron and white choker on one wrist and a maroon and white one on the other, to make a bold statement regarding my allegiances.
I will also be there on Sunday. Any parking suggestions welcome bearing in mind I’d be coming from a much more civilised part of the country then the Eastern seaboard
So heading East afterwards?
[QUOTE=“maroonandwhite, post: 950849, member: 1406”]@myboyblue I’ll be down Sunday, I’ll bate you all over the piss poor shopping centre adjacent to the grounds.
Where would one get cheap tickets for this walkover? I also intend to wear a saffron and white choker on one wrist and a maroon and white one on the other, to make a bold statement regarding my allegiances.[/QUOTE]
Drop me an IM before throw in mate, I’ll walk you in for free, just make yourself known and its a done deal. You shouldn’t miss Galway getting scored on more than your little sister.
Check your PM’s
Ger Cunningham says, for health and safety reasons, the GAA will have to put a stop to the dead-ball technique used by the likes of Cork keeper Anthony Nash.
In his guise as county selector last year, the legendary Cork goalkeeper heralded Nash’s style and claimed Clare’s Patrick Kelly broke rules in moving off his line to block a shot in the drawn All-Ireland final game.
Having stepped down from the role at the end of the season, Cunningham is still an admirer of the Kanturk man’s style of pushing the ball yards ahead of him before striking penalties and 20 metre frees.
However, he is now concerned about the danger the ferocity of his strikes poses to players on the goal-line: “For the moment it doesn’t matter; it is going to be there for the Championship. We see other teams doing it as well and other fellas trying to perfect the art of what he is doing. I tell you it is a fairly frightening place to stand 12 yards away from an Anthony Nash penalty.
“When Anthony throws it up like he did against Tipp in the league semi-final, he was nearly into the penalty (spot), so where is that going to end? “What’s to say the next fella won’t throw it in even further? So I think it is an issue and the GAA will have to look at it.”
Like another Cork goalkeeper and Irish Examiner columnist, Dónal Óg Cusack, Cunningham predicts a player will eventually end up injured.
“Someone is going to get a belt of a ball. I stood on the line last year when he was practising and I’m telling ya, you are just saying ‘don’t hit me, please!’ “Other teams like (Kilkenny)… TJ Reid was at it. I am sure Joe Canning will do it and other teams are seeing this works.”
Like Cusack, Cunningham regards the solution for penalties as the ball being struck before the 20m line, with only the goalkeeper permitted on the goal-line.
“In years gone by, they have changed from five or six on the goal-line to just three, and I would suggest just the goalie, but start outside and strike on the 20m line.”
Cunningham dismissed the idea of making the sliotar heavier. “Hurling is better now because the ball is good. There is more consistency because the sliotar is good, the touch is better and the ball has helped that and they won’t change it.”
However, he does give tentative support to Galway’s proposal next year to prevent goalkeepers from using oversized hurleys in taking frees and penalties.
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/cunningham-fears-nash-style-270155.html
Cut it to two on the line, or allow the defenders to advance as soon as its lifted. Job done.
The managers putting 12 players on the line don’t seem to be bothered by health and safety issues
Galway’s proposal to not allow the use of oversize hurleys will sort this out. After Nash draws a swipe at a few with a normal sized bas and mishits a few and draws a few fresh airs and makes a tool of himself it’ll be the end of this story.
It is hard to police in a game though
Ultimately in any sport the attacking team who is fouled should have the advantage from a penalty - limit numbers on the goal line seems sensible way to achieve that and don’t allow penalty taker to cross 20m line
I actually don’t think where nash hits it from is the advantage - piece in paper on Sunday which said 20m versus 13m is only a difference of 200 miliseconds response time (3oo versus 500) and human blink is about 300
Way Nash hits the free allows him to generate massive power in the shot as he is effectively volleying the ball and there is also a psychological element to it
[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 950948, member: 2272”]It is hard to police in a game though
Ultimately in any sport the attacking team who is fouled should have the advantage from a penalty - limit numbers on the goal line seems sensible way to achieve that and don’t allow penalty taker to cross 20m line
I actually don’t think where nash hits it from is the advantage - piece in paper on Sunday which said 20m versus 13m is only a difference of 200 miliseconds response time (3oo versus 500) and human blink is about 300
Way Nash hits the free allows him to generate massive power in the shot as he is effectively volleying the ball and there is also a psychological element to it[/QUOTE]
That’s a cut of 40% in response time which when dealing with such tiny margins is massive. I don’t think Nash’s shot is any more powerful than Cannings or anyone else’s, it’s the distance he’s hitting from is the problem.
It’s easy police. Nash trots down the field, ref takes a glance across, oh ho that looks like a goalies hurley there Anto, no dice lad. Cork lads grumble, Nash gets another hurl, mishit, save, ball cleared down the field, goal at the other end, Cork lose the All Ireland.
[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 950954, member: 1533”]That’s a cut of 40% in response time which when dealing with such tiny margins is massive. I don’t think Nash’s shot is any more powerful than Cannings or anyone else’s, it’s the distance he’s hitting from is the problem.
It’s easy police. Nash trots down the field, ref takes a glance across, oh ho that looks like a goalies hurley there Anto, no dice lad. Cork lads grumble, Nash gets another hurl, mishit, save, ball cleared down the field, goal at the other end, Cork lose the All Ireland.[/QUOTE]
Nash doesn’t use a goalie hurley to hit them though. I have no idea is the hurley he is using is regulation or not but it looks fairly big but unless the ref is going to pull out a meassuring tape in the middle of the game it is very hard for him to enforce that rule
http://www.irishexaminer.com/media/images/a/AnthonyNashCorkHurling_large.jpg
Has more to do with velocity and timing than the size of the bas. I think that’s one of the lesser important factors in any advantage he may be gaining. Give him a smaller bas Hurley dimension wise but put a bit more weight in the heel and after a nights practice he’ll have it.
The safety issue is a load of cock. There is no doubt insurance companies are pushing this line. Nobody whatsoever has been hurt yet. You are far more likely to get hurt in many other ways. They are wearing helmets, any dangerous area is protected.
The solution is they want to regulate correctly is very simple, as suggested, don’t go past 20M line. Throw the ball in for infringements. And just have the keeper in goal so it’s not so tempting to just pull lads down.
[QUOTE=“chewy louie, post: 950955, member: 1137”]Nash doesn’t use a goalie hurley to hit them though. I have no idea is the hurley he is using is regulation or not but it looks fairly big but unless the ref is going to pull out a meassuring tape in the middle of the game it is very hard for him to enforce that rule
http://www.irishexaminer.com/media/images/a/AnthonyNashCorkHurling_large.jpg[/QUOTE]
Always looked to me like he was using an oversized hurl. That pic doesn’t look like a goalies hurl but it does look like a very large bas.
If it takes one game of the reg having a tape in his pocket then grand. The teams could be informed of this beforehand.