Cork will win because they have to win, they will force the win. I actually think Cork are going to give them a hiding
Im think that too.Its their time,I feel.
Could be a thrashing.
Midfield will be key. Cork will need to do a job on Jake Morris running from deap he is a match winner. I just hope thereās no red cards, bar that Dalton ape
About yer man making a mistake as sub. In all the coverage of the phantom point nobody has mentioned that Noel McGrath should not be hitting that wide from where he was and his so called standing in the game. Would have been as culpable as that young lad imo had KK nicked it.
What was he supposed to do in that scenario. There was no one to give it to in full forward line.
If he dropped it into Eoin Murphys hand and it didnt go dead it would be a different thing.
Donāt think Darragh McCarthy offers enough from play to be a starter tbh.
His free success has now really evened out now with a good sample size, so heās not much above Forde at all.
If he was a 95% success regularly you have to start him, when teams are getting 8 or 9 scoring chance frees a game regularly, but if heās not, then he shouldnāt be starting.
Jesus I didnāt realise you were late 20ās at most. You read older.
Ah someone had to be dropped for Paddy McCormack. He was class in the U20 final and could bring a different dimension off the bench. I expected Tipp to lose on Sunday and was going to mention McCormack, Euan Murray and Cathal Oā Reilly from Hollycross as players whoād elevate the senior team in the next few years. Conor Martin looked to have a bit about him in the 20ās too.
He was very good in the semi final. Scored a goal and set 1 up. Of course the fear is heāll lose the head and get put off. But Cahill has trusted him all year and would be harsh not to start him now.
Any word on whoāll be on the frees? Lot of pressure for a 20 year old in an all Ireland final. But I get the feeling he doesnāt really do nerves
Best of luck pal. I really hope Tipp do it for you so you can go back to your happy place of slating the Cork players ![]()
Cheers boss. I miss the good old days pre-Ryan when we were a load of shite.
My worry for tipp is their young lads who look good are a year or two too young and the two lads who might turn on the magic in the two McGrathās are probably a season or two past it.
They just donāt have enough lads at the very peak of their powers to beat cork for me.
Score the insurance point- what else !
The Borris man ye have has ye brainwashed
He reads like a Frank Mcourt type regaling on 1930s Ireland.
Iād be shocked if he moves McCarthy off frees
My Dadās from Cork, in his 80s now & has stopped going to games. His health is fairly good generally, thank God, but itās the long day, hustle & bustle, walking to & from ground with mobility reducing a bit & just generally sitting in a bucket seat for hoursā¦the matchday experience is a younger personās game. I mentioned before how his hip seized up when he went to Chadwicks Wexford Park for the switch on of the Qatari style floodlights a couple of years back & he struggled to get home. I was lambasted for it, even though I was in another county at the time.
Anyway I digress. I grew up going to Cork every summer & being brought to north Cork junior hurling championship matches & these random tournament games you used to get back in the 1980s or 1990s. Running amok in the field in Kilworth & these other small places like Glanworth, Shanballymore, Kildorrery, Ballygiblin & so on. And being brought to Munster championship games where heād meet up with brothers in law & my cousins etc.
His Garda career brought him to Wexford but he always retained the love for Cork & Cork hurling. He won north Cork junior championships with Kilworth & assures me this was a very big thing & they would get attendances of 5k-10k back in the day (more impressive than scoring all the points in a victorious county final? probably not). He moved to Enniscorthy with work & Kilworth won the county junior the year he left. Shamrocks of Enniscorthy won their only two Wexford seniors in the 1960sā¦& you might see where is going. His time there was in between the title winning campaigns. He was transferred to Wexford town & joined the Faythe Harriers & the Shamrocks won their second title that year of 1969. He hurled with the Harriers for over a decade & retired as a veteran after the 1980 campaignā¦& the Harriers then won the county senior in 1981. So he barely missed out on 3 county titles with 3 different clubs, but this is hardly a coincidence really.
All the time he would be planning weekends back to Cork to catch club games & following Cork whenever he could. I never became an avid Cork fan myself but Iād always favour them slightly in any game when I was a āneutralā. Maybe itās my Dadās advancing years but Iāve more recently found myself thinking fondly back to all those childhood trips to Cork. Heās also been getting great enjoyment out of this Cork team under Pat Ryan & I was delighted for him after the Munster Final, which we watched together.
But then those pricks from Kingfishr came along & went & nearly fucking ruined everything. How could you look at that singerās earnest head & not want to puck the face off him? Luckily I get on so well with my Dad that I still want Cork to win (I think) but Kingfishr have a lot to answer for. Equally I wouldnāt be distraught if Tipperary prevailed for reasons outlined before - Gemma, Roz, Sharlene, Una, the Ryan sisters in the UCD BCOMM class around the millennium, elite INTERNETTER @peddlerscross & so on. Wherever you are & whoever youāre watching the game withā¦enjoy & savour the day.
Thanks Marty
The lead singer of Kingfishr is from Enniscorthy so it is par for the course.
I saw that mentioned on here during the week. I was one part shocked & the other part appalled.