All Ireland Hurling Final 2025 - Tipp's 29th

Tipp and Cork unchanged. Tipp using a new graphic for All Ireland day @habanerocat

Paddy McCormack into subs. No Kenneally.

Wasn’t he the chap who coughed up the ball which led to Kilkenny’s last gasp goal chance? No messing there.

Only two and a bit more days now.

I don’t trust this Cork team to get over the line. There’ll be a performance, because Pat Ryan almost always get a performance out of them, but I’m not sure PR can get even this group of players over the line. I’m nowhere near as nervous as last year as my expectations just aren’t there anymore.

Ultimately, we are in a far far better place than we were when Kingston and co were in charge, and the last couple of years have been great for a younger Cork supporter like me who experienced pretty much nothing but two decades of mediocrity.

That seems a very harsh and negative move for a bench player for a final.

Wouldn’t be surprised to see Tynan start instead of Connors. Connors has never impressed me in the Tipp jersey.

I like Tynan’s physicality.

Well I hope ye make it over the line on Sunday because Hurling needs Cork back strong and Id like to see the man himself get a medal for his services to the game.

I wont be so generous next yearšŸ˜€

Some few months for Paddy McCormack.

• 2 goals in winning an All Ireland u20
  • Parachuted into the senior squad
  • Parachuted onto the bench for an All Ireland final
  • Serving me 4 pints of craft porter
29 Likes

The chap replacing him must be ā€œflying in trainingā€.

This split season nonsense means there’s only 2 weeks between semi-finals & final.

Back in the old days, when there was a 3-4 week gap, the finalists would head off to Carton House or somewhere for the weekend 2 weeks out & play a proper tough A v B game. Word would come through about some reserve forward scoring 1-6 from play off the starting corner back.

What have we got now? I’d say they had to allow the players to recover properly from the semi-final for a few days & you’re not going to be doing too much this week. So that narrows the window & you have to watch the load.

The Kev of Tipp might have allowed 2x15 minute ā€œmatchesā€ last Friday or Saturday though & McCormack must be burning it up.

I’d be a big fan of McCormack but they are hardly going to throw him in down the stretch if the game is tight. Seems a harsh call alright, Kennelly has had a few decent cameos off the bench for Tipp

I’ve been in Cork (west admittedly) for most of the past fortnight.
Despite what people think there’s a lot of fear among the support, as it gets closer that will intensify, nervousness but still an expectation that Cork are better so they should win.
The manner of Tipps semi final victory has shown they won’t lie down, similar to Clare last year, if Cork get a good start they’ll need to put their foot on Tipps neck

He probably served himself one or two while he was at it.

Cork’s confidence is justified I feel. They’ll win this handy

If it’s on account of that mistake then that’s extremely harsh. You’re talking about a sub for a last few minutes, not a starter, it’s a different situation to someone is flying in training and forces their way into the 15. It’s basically an admission by the manager that he’d backed the wrong player. Seems an odd call. Could always be an injury or niggle I suppose.

A new graphic before the final :dizzy_face:

That’s really ballsy.

@iron_mike was still wearing his 2018 jocks up to last year’s semi final.

I’m for Cork on Sunday. Some of the bandwagon is annoying but Ryan has done done a great job and built a great team playing great hurling. Disappointed for Harnedy, hope he comes on, he’s been Cork’s beat player and leader for over a decade, he’s a great of the game. I’d be happy to see him win an all Ireland. Also Horgan, to lesser extent, his longevity is remarkable. I’m sure I’ll later regret this as ye could go on to dominate. Already looking forward to a crack off ye next year.

The word is McCormack has been going very well in training. He has the highest ceiling of any of the current u20 crop.

Finally it’s very important Tipperary have a Borris representative.

Kennealy is a good yoke but mobility is an issue. When he came on v KK he had two opportunities to shoot during that final play and turned both of them down. He’s a very accurate shooter who I assume is given liability to use that skill set so that hesitancy would have infuriated Cahill.

Tim O Mahony used to serve me cans of cider in Drom many years ago. I may have been slightly underage at the time.

Harsh on Kenneally I would have thought. I expect great things from him in future. Maybe there is a niggle or something. He steadied the ship when he came on against Clare. Scored 2 points when he came on vs Cork in League final. Was exceptional vs Limerick in the league. For one reason or another he was hesitant and played with a bit of fear when he came on the last day. There has been no sign of Seamus Kennedy. Cahill is clearly riding the hot hand in training. There was no sign of Tynan against Galway either and he was pivotal in the semi final so whoever is putting the hand up is getting the nod which is how it should be.

Cahill wouldnt pick McCormack if he didnt intend on giving him minutes either. I read elsewhere that Tipp havent won an All Ireland in nearly 100 years without a Borrisoleigh man on the pitch so Cahill could be very superstitious too.

100%. Gearoid O’Connor and Conor Bowe both still on extended panel but haven’t seen a 26 since the Cork game. The lads who are doing it in training have to be the lads making the matchday panel.

If Sham Kennedy is needed Sunday, he’ll appear.