All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2016 You Are What You Eat

Keegan black card wrong.

Small non-black card wrong.

Small non-red card call wrong. O’Connor probably should have got a yellow for the same incident but you can’t react the way Small did.

Doherty could have gone for hitting Cooper after the goal.

Cooper black card correct under the latter of the law.

McCarthy could have gone for smashing Vaughan.

Kevin McLoughlin possibly should have got a black for pulling back McManamon but it looked like McManamon went to ground looking for the black card.

McCarthy on McLoughlin at 1-12 to 1-11 was a definite push and foul.

The free given to Barry Moran for Mayo’s last point wasn’t a free.

Connolly/Vaughan yellow cards were fair enough - although technically you could argue either or both could have got black as Connolly initiated the off the ball contact and cut across Vaughan’s run to take a pass but Vaughan probably knew what he was doing in bringing Connolly down once he had gone down himself.

From behind the goal where I was the penalty call looked debatable. Hennelly went for the ball and from behind the goal it looked like he knocked it onto Andrews’ knees. He did follow through and bring down Andrews but if he got anything on the ball, even a finger, is it a foul? Not a black card anyway.

No drive at all. Refs wouldn’t want ex players as it will expose how shit they are. I have read 2 accounts of ex players (one was a Louth player and i think the other was Conor Deegan) who did the course and both had similar views/experiences to me. Just simply flabberghasted by the attitude of the refs and the way it was being approached.

Huge “them & us” thing.

Rugby does most things in this country better, but if i was suggesting anything i woukd talk about Aussie Rules. Alot of the old folk are less offended by that than rugby. They pay young lads well to do the line and such things. The refs can be very young too. If you play footie on a saturday for instance you ref on a sunday or visa versa. Kids were getting around 85 dollars a game. Think over 16’s, although i could not be sure. That was at Semi-Pro Reserve level, 1st team would get somewhat older guys.
They were also greatly helped by real (and not lip service) campaigns of respect by players to officials. And believe me alot of the Aussie lads i was around had serious anger issues and tough lives, but they largely still respected officials and your own team mates would lose the plot with you if you abused anyone. 50 meter penalty was the great leveller.

The way Aussie Rules is, a 50M penalty coyld be a certain score. Even if kicked behind or wide the defense is under pressure. You could spend 5 mins trying to get out. It can be demoralizing. Game of territory in that sense.

Forget a black card or even a sin bin. A 30M freekick in front of the goals or a 50M penalty or the likes every time someone body checks someone else or drags them down or whatever would sort out so much shit. Sin bin tactics wouldn’t be long catching on. 3 fouls by any 1 guy in a game means he is red carded, end of story.

Get teams policing themselves. Thats the key.

Fair point. It’d take a lot of the decision making out of refereeing though. A foul is a foul. No that should be yellow or whatever. Stop persistent low level fouling as well.

He did well so.

For something like the Cooper incident that would be a punishment as it occurred outside the scoring zone, but for the Small one and for where most black card instances occur, it isn’t, as the free kick is going to be scored anyway.

The sin bin is definitely worth another go for black card incidents. Can’t see how it would be more chaotic than the current rule at any rate.

Would the basket ball rule - a free from the 13 - for a foul not be sufficient ? No matter where the foul was committed ? Sin bin for 10 mins seems a bit much.

Vaughan was an equally big loss.

Both players are very strong runners from deep.

I think there is a good idea there. The option to bring a free kick forward hurts players the most and does encourage self-policing as team mates will have a go at the player involved. All fouls resulting in any card could lead to a free moved forward to the D for football, the 50 for hurling, if not already inside.

The GAA should communicate continuously on what types of foul are yellow/black/red for hurling & football … and explain why these items are on each list.
Aimed at players & management primarily, and to spectators. Specific info sent to every club at the start and in the middle of each season, put it in all match programmes, on all club and county sites,

Very interesting. Dont ever see much of AFL tbh.

An AIL ref gets 130 quid + expenses per game. probably well over 200 quid in reality.

If you made it onto the Pro12 panel you get a retainer, and a (very) decent match fee + expenses. Id say the busy referees e.g. Clancy, Lacey etc earn more than most of the contracted pros in this country.

Again a good one for Inter County but In Basketball the player that is fouled has to take the free. There would be a lot of time wasted waiting for a junior corner back to trek down to take a free and then trek all the way back. The matches would last 3 hours.
The sin bin is used in Ladies football. Its worth looking at how that works. I’d imagine its probably worth a try

sin bin is an obvious solution but in club games could get v tricky managing several simultaneous sin bins which might have different end times!! very tricky!

Is 10 mins too much?

Be a great way to boost coffers too by ensuring drawn games

Sun Bin for time it takes to do 100 burpees

Brilliant. The ounishment is cumulative fatigue.

Can you imagine the cowboys training for that :joy:

You could get that langer Pat whats his name on the sideline counting them

Would it be ok to have a smoke while you’d be doing them?

wouldnt have thought so but havent given it much thought. Its supposed to be a deterrant and a punishment I guess.

That’s very interesting @Fagan_ODowd. Mayo played in the 1948, 1950 & 1951 All Ireland finals and had a different goalkeeper in all three finals. Billy Durkin started the 1950 final, but went off injured and was replaced by Sean Wynne. I didn’t realise though that he was at fault for the Louth goal. The late Jack Regan who played midfield for Louth in that 1950 final was a neighbour of my parents in his later years. He often spoke about the freak goal that Sean Flanagan got from blocking down a clearance of one of the Louth defenders but I don’t ever remember him mentioning any Mayo goalkeeping calamities.

subs weren’t introduced into the GGA until 2005 so its odd they were making subs 55 years earlier

There was a sub for Offaly in the 1982 final Seamus Darby that made a bit of a name for himself.