All Ireland Senior Hurling Final 2013 - Clare v Cork

Darren Honan MOM 14/1. The lanky bastard will cut loose tommorrow

no.

John Conlon or Horgan will be MOTM

Good article by Donal O’Grady on the tactical approach of the teams:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/allireland-final/ourchoice/donal-ogrady-cork-must-stifle-clares-early-gusto-242249.html

[quote=“Hisenberg, post: 827429, member: 1749”]Cork to win and win well. Cant believe the way people are tipping Clare. Clare have beaten Wexford, Galway and Limerick to get to a final, all shit teams to be fair. Gonna sky plus the sour puss on Davy when the final whistle goes.[/quote]ah fuck off, Limerick were going to win all around before them untill they shat the course as usual

Davy is a gent. You are a bitter cunt. Now…

Yeah, I remember that,

There’s a big responsibility on Clare tomorrow. The All Ireland Hurling Final is one of the great days in the life of this country and while its great to see one of the lesser lights making a rare appearance on the big day, there’s a real fear that this All Ireland Final could be the dampest of damp squibs and Clare will go the same way as Antrim in 1989 and Waterford 2008. It really is incumbent that Clare make this some kind of a contest.

And Clare also didn’t play against opposition who had legitimate scores conveniently waved wide. Include that too!

slapped a few hundred there on cork-3
h’on to fuk

Lot of parallels with 2002. In 2002 Clare beat Wexford in the qualifiers, Galway in the quarter final and in the semi final Munster Champions, Waterford who had ended a long drought winning their provincial championship. Waterford in 2002 like Limerick this year had beaten Cork & Tipperary in the Munster Championship. Once Clare faced one of the bluebloods of the game in the 2002 All Ireland final, they were destroyed in a few minutes.

Clare to peak on the big day and their wonderful youngsters to crown a great celebration of the game of hurling. Davy to go stark raving mad.

Clare to win 2-23 to 1-17.

I wonder if the 2008 hammering Waterford shipped will play on Davy’s mind

Good point. There’s a lot of people saying that no matter what the result tomorrow that Clare will be winning plenty of All Irelands in the years to come and I’ve even heard talk of them being the ‘next Kilkenny’. The history of hurling is peppered with exceptionally talented young sides amounting to very little at the business end of winning senior All Irelands. Who knows maybe it’s different this time and these lads will go on to dominate but it’s also quite possible that defeat tomorrow and it could be many years before we see them in a Final again.

Davy is sound. He was guest of honour at a Boston Scientific do at the Radisson not to long ago and according to some he did it for free as he’s someone who’s had a stint installed himself. Not sure if I believe he did it for free but I do believe from people I know who work there that he was good craic made time and photographs for everybody who asked.

Hopefully. That’s the sort of wildcard that can swing an All Ireland final. If we cope with the Cork puckout and are prepared for the pressure they’ll put on our ball carriers inside our own 45 then we’ve a great chance. We’re hard to contain when we have that platform because of our good fortune in having a spread of players who have pace and and really good basics. But that’s the first box that’ll have to be checked for us to win, we have to be creating that second or two to play the right ball, and Cork’s surest way to beating us is preventing that from happening.

It’s not easy to tell whether the game will be decided by the pattern and shape it takes on, or the flair of a few individuals within two very disciplined approaches. Cork for me have a better structure to their game, more consistently effective in their build-up play and they seem to have a better collective understanding of what they’re doing in every move.

Clare on the other hand have a rigid system but not the same level of coordination within it, not from 8-15 at least. There’s a free flowing element to our attacking play that’s difficult to stop, but it’s all about having the supply. With enough accurate ball being put in front of Kelly, Galvin, and Collins, we’ll run up enough of a score to win most games. Without it, we can look pretty uninspired.

It’s a tough one to call. We’ve every chance, it’d be fucking amazing if we did it, but it’s going to take a big performance. Hopefully it’s in them.

I’m delighted you have gone this way. You have been so wrong this season about so much it makes me comfortable that you are going for Clare.

Honan is due a big game. He has underperformed all season.

Looking forward to it now. It is cold and windy in Dublin

Must be a long morning for the players

Fuck… the nerves…

is anyone from Cork nervous about this or are we just presuming we’re going to win handy by 7 or 8 points?
im thinking
Cork 0-23
Clare 1-14

or thereabouts