I Could go either way but id pick cork clare havent got any test since they played them last and thatll count against them. While they came in under the radar yesterday with limerick goin batshit clare will lose the run of themselves now i cant see how that expectation couldn’t affect such a young team. Clare were excellent yesterday but a lot of those long range shots wont go over another day. But fair play to them im delighted for north clare lads especially patrick o connor. Along with ger Farragher and canning hes the best underage club hurler ive ever seen (ive relations who hurl for tubber) and after clowns doubting him after one bad game last year hes flying it. north clare lads are generally alright sorts. clare clearly have bags of skill, dont know do they have the full back line to see this out though.
[quote=“Piles Hussain, post: 819974, member: 363”]
The last time Cork lost an AI final to a team that wasn’t Kilkenny was 1956 when Wexford took them.
The only other teams to beat them in a final are Dublin, Leix and London.
I don’t think Clare will be joining our exalted company.[/quote]
I don’t get that type of logic. What link do the current Clare team have to those non Kilkenny teams Cork have beaten down the years?
Cork have never beaten Tipperary or Limerick in Croke Park and that has to count as a black mark against them.
No logic, it was just a tidbit.
I don’t get why people, Clare lads mainly, think that the same things were successful for cork in the 1st game won’t be again? I’m not saying it will replay itself exactly, but to dismiss Cork keeping Kelly quite or anything else is silly thinking.
I’m sure Davy will endeavor to have his best players in their best positions so they can cause the most damage and no doubt he will analyze Cork to the max but sometimes a player is suited to another. There is a big chance Murphy could shut Kelly down again.
I also don’t see how CP is much of an advantage is to Clare when Cork have similar strengths. And a shoot out could very easily suit Cork more, especially if Kelly and Collins were even restricted by 10-15%.
I’m not saying Clare won’t win, but I don’t think it will be from out running Cork or Cork letting themselves get exposed. I was very impressed with Clare and how their game has moved on, but it has to be tempered with how poor Limerick were. Cork had a far tougher semi and the general standard was a fair bit above Sundays game.
[quote=“fenwaypark, post: 819814, member: 276”]I cant see Clare getting beat. They are a superb team, who are well drilled and play a system that suits their skill set really well. They have some serious talent on the bench aswell.
As Sid stated already, Cork forwards relished the space they were afforded in first half of semi when Dublin played an orthodox six. Once they reverted to seven backs, the Cork forwards struggled as they dont have the physical presence to thrive in the reduce space.
Nash, O’Neill and O’Sullivan have been heroic for Cork this year and are the main reason we are in the final. I would disagree with Kev on McDonnell. He is struggling for form and would have been substituted against Dublin but for a lack of alternatives.
The Cork half back line is very poor at this level and are lacking pace. It is near on impossible to see then cope with the pace and movement of the Clare forwards.
I genuinely see Clare winning this by 6/7 pts plus.[/quote]
I’m seriously happy you have taken this stance
[quote=“Piles Hussain, post: 819974, member: 363”]
The last time Cork lost an AI final to a team that wasn’t Kilkenny was 1956 when Wexford took them.
The only other teams to beat them in a final are Dublin, Leix and London.
I don’t think Clare will be joining our exalted company.[/quote]
You’ve touched on possibly the most important issue of all here. In the last 17 All Ireland Finals, Cork have faced Kilkenny, Cork have a losing record of 7-10. In the last 17 All Ireland Finals facing opposition other than Kilkenny, Cork have a 16-1 winning record, the only defeat as you said been to Wexford in 1956. The bottom line is, Cork don’t lose All Ireland finals to opposition other than Kilkenny.
That is brilliant, can someone bump the previous posts from Manuel where he tipped Laois to put it up to us, Wexford to beat us, Galway to beat us and Limerick to beat us as well.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 820054, member: 273”]I don’t get why people, Clare lads mainly, think that the same things were successful for cork in the 1st game won’t be again? I’m not saying it will replay itself exactly, but to dismiss Cork keeping Kelly quite or anything else is silly thinking.
I’m sure Davy will endeavor to have his best players in their best positions so they can cause the most damage and no doubt he will analyze Cork to the max but sometimes a player is suited to another. There is a big chance Murphy could shut Kelly down again.
I also don’t see how CP is much of an advantage is to Clare when Cork have similar strengths. And a shoot out could very easily suit Cork more, especially if Kelly and Collins were even restricted by 10-15%.
I’m not saying Clare won’t win, but I don’t think it will be from out running Cork or Cork letting themselves get exposed. I was very impressed with Clare and how their game has moved on, but it has to be tempered with how poor Limerick were. Cork had a far tougher semi and the general standard was a fair bit above Sundays game.[/quote]
On kelly, he was Ill all week leading up to the cork game, should not have been playing.
Cork have never beaten a Munster team in an All-Ireland final in either hurling or football whereas Clare have a 100% record against Munster teams in All-Ireland finals. The weight of history is against Cork here.
Shhhhhh!!! Let them send Brian Murphy to mark him
Ya fair enough, obviously a hindrance, but the point still stands.
Both teams are much better teams now than they were then IMO, it’s just a case of how much Clare have closed the gap. They have closed it significantly but I think Cork will improve as well.
It’s very interesting.
For what it’s worth, an it’s a long way off, word is it’s Kenny will lose out, not McDonnell.
im not sure if it could ever be said that cork fear clare or even think of them as rivals really, there was a period allright from 1993-97 where clare put it up to us but in the grand scheme of things it could really be considered only a blip on our behalf rather than progress on Clare’s side , hopefully clare can make a game of it anyway in a few weeks.
This is not a game clare will relish, physical confrontation is something that is fundamental for them to win games, the whole fist pumping thing, hunger and all that bullshit, they like to have something or someone who they feel they can “timber” or “get stuck into”… they wont get that with Cork as the current team is physically smaller than Clare and has interest in getting involved in this messing … Limerick got sucked into this shit , sunk to the level of davy and played the game on his terms… you wont see that with Cork, Clare will have to hurl to beat us, and that scares them…
Kev, Kelly was sick going into that match and Murphy isn’t fit at all right now. Kenny will be dropped alright, Murphy will pick up Collins.
[quote=“mickee321, post: 820182, member: 367”]im not sure if it could ever be said that cork fear clare or even think of them as rivals really, there was a period allright from 1993-97 where clare put it up to us but in the grand scheme of things it could really be considered only a blip on our behalf rather than progress on Clare’s side , hopefully clare can make a game of it anyway in a few weeks.
This is not a game clare will relish, physical confrontation is something that is fundamental for them to win games, the whole fist pumping thing, hunger and all that bullshit, they like to have something or someone who they feel they can “timber” or “get stuck into”… they wont get that with Cork as the current team is physically smaller than Clare and has interest in getting involved in this messing … Limerick got sucked into this shit , sunk to the level of davy and played the game on his terms… you wont see that with Cork, Clare will have to hurl to beat us, and that scares them…[/quote]
jesus Christ…what is wrong with these cork cunts??..Clare are actually quite light mate…its cork who will bring the physicality…
Yeah I’ve seen a few lads say Clare are a big team. They aren’t.
They are the lightest team in the country by a good bit. People seem to think because Davy is managing them that they are big physical players despite them being really slight and skilful. They are the opposite of the Clare team of the nineties in many ways.
i believe what Davy says
I fancy Clare to do it.
It would be a big mistake to put Murphy, a player coming back after a lengthy absence, on Kelly.
Cork should have learned this from Kilkenny playing unfit players against them.
Kelly would run him ragged.