All Ireland Senior Hurling Final 2013 - Clare v Cork

The fans wont know what to do with themselves tonight. Half relieved, half sickened and fully drained as they calm their nervous thirst.

Its a strange mixture of feelings. Relief being the prominent one once the pints start flowing.

I’m still wrestling with the conflicting thoughts that Cork are simply not good enough/Clare are a even better side than most think or else we had a huge offday. Hopefully the latter.

Ye weren’t good enough
Ye wont be as bad again
Clare are an excellent side

Enjoy the relief.

The first 55 minutes of that was absolute rubbish.

Cork were beyond useless. Can’t be that bad again? Surely?

Brian Gavin didn’t have a great day. O’Neill should have walked and the free in the first half should’ve been retaken. He was correct to play more than 2 months as there was at least 30 seconds of fuck acting in the initial 2 minutes.

The Clare goalkeeper is irritating.

Conor Ryan was superb.

Wasn’t a patch on the first 2 of the Kilkenny Tipperary trilogy. Gavin reffed one of those by different rules altogether.

I must read the rest of the opinion on this now to see am I correct.

Another thing, Conlon seemed to be struggling to strike the ball of his left. His left hand came off the stick every time. I’d say his participation was medically assisted.

Clare have perfected the art of celebrating frees also. FFS sake.

Are you done now pal?

Ya ffs Shane McGrath used to be bad for it for us but every Clare player was at it today.

Hell of a performance from our lads today. Talk about rising to the occasion. Some fantastic individual displays with Conor Ryan in particular playing an absolutely magnificent game. In hindsight, we should have brought the sweeper back into play when we had the cushion midway through the second half but we were going so well it would have been hard to change things.

Cork were dead and buried without the goals as they were beaten all ends up in almost ever sector of the field, but they went looking for the goals and they got them and it was a sickener of a lesson for our boys. Thankfully DoD showed balls of steel at the end and we have our chance to finish the job in three weeks time.

[quote=“Watch The Break, post: 828576, member: 260”]Hell of a performance from our lads today. Talk about rising to the occasion. Some fantastic individual displays with Conor Ryan in particular playing an absolutely magnificent game. In hindsight, we should have brought the sweeper back into play when we had the cushion midway through the second half but we were going so well it would have been hard to change things.

Cork were dead and buried without the goals as they were beaten all ends up in almost ever sector of the field, but they went looking for the goals and they got them and it was a sickener of a lesson for our boys. Thankfully DoD showed balls of steel at the end and we have our chance to finish the job in three weeks time.[/quote]
I expect you to finish it.

Clare should go out now and hurl the shit out of Antrim on Saturday. Treat having another match as a positive. Best way to keep the momentum going for them. Should be no question of resting any players, which would be ridiculously dispespectful to their opponents and deter any neutral support.

[quote=“Watch The Break, post: 828576, member: 260”]Hell of a performance from our lads today. Talk about rising to the occasion. Some fantastic individual displays with Conor Ryan in particular playing an absolutely magnificent game. In hindsight, we should have brought the sweeper back into play when we had the cushion midway through the second half but we were going so well it would have been hard to change things.
I was waiting for Davy to make the switch throughout the second half, astonished he didn’t do it the second time ye built up a 4 pt lead.
The game would have been a replay of the semi final, with Clare perfectly suited to closing out the game on points. Of all games to leave the full back line exposed, Davy does it in the final.

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 828414, member: 686”]The fans wont know what to do with themselves tonight. Half relieved, half sickened and fully drained as they calm their nervous thirst.

Its a strange mixture of feelings. Relief being the prominent one once the pints start flowing.[/quote]

Very strange buzz alright. Absolutely delighted at how well we played. Appalled that we could have lost the game after playing that well. When Horgan put Cork ahead I was filled with disgust more than anything else. The sheer gall of the cunts to even think about winning after we’d outplayed them the way we did for the 70 minutes. Then the sheer improbability of getting the equaliser in the circumstances we did with our corner-back putting the ball over from the sideline.

It wouldn’t be reasonable to expect it to make sense. Sport’s one thing in life you can normally count on to be fairly definitive, you win or you lose. To have seemingly done both and then to have done neither in a game that’s stressful enough to begin with makes a mess of your thoughts entirey.

We played well though, that’s what really counts. We played better, and were much better than Cork. We got caught with sucker punches but that happens and I’d still take our performance over their’s any day of the week. We have a fine team that’s not the finished article but are definitely much further along the line than any of us expected them to be. The likes of Podge and Tony Kelly have taken on a hero status for young kids in the county in a way no Clare players have since we were looking up to Lohan and Seanie. It’s great place to be in, and conceding a few handy goals isn’t really going to change that.

[quote=“treaty_exile, post: 828594, member: 233”]I was waiting for Davy to make the switch throughout the second half, astonished he didn’t do it the second time ye built up a 4 pt lead.
The game would have been a replay of the semi final, with Clare perfectly suited to closing out the game on points. Of all games to leave the full back line exposed, Davy does it in the final.[/quote]

You’re probably right. It’s not an easy call to make when you’re going well though, even the full-backline had been doing ok and there’s always a danger in hurling of completely upsetting things with changes when you’re still essentially in the driving seat. We were doing way better off of our own puckout than we did against Limerick for example, and not being a man short on the breaks probably had a lot to do with that.

Will have to be considered for the next day in any case. As will starting Cathal Mc or Duggan. Honan is all bark these days, and to be honest he’s not even barking as convincingly as he used to. Lots of raw talent, painfully limited understanding of how to use it.

[quote=“Watch The Break, post: 828596, member: 260”]
Honan is all bark these days, and to be honest he’s not even barking as convincingly as he used to. Lots of raw talent, painfully limited understanding of how to use it.[/quote]

I think he is one good first touch away from going to town on a team. He got one ball in the first half with himself & O’Neill isolated 25 yards from goal, if he got that ball in hand cleanly and turned it was a goal. He was unlucky too with his attempted ground stroke that Nash saved. If Davy sees fit to persist with him then i think he is right, when it does click he will bury a team on his own.

Exactly. I know it might be hard for some people to tell, like those that have only seem him play this year, where he has look like a lanky donkey most of the time. But those that have seen him a couple of years ago will know that if he ever comes good and fulfills his true potential he will, as you say, bury a team on his own.
Given what Clare have elsewhere on the pitch, if that part of the equation were to fall into place, it could get scary.

Far too much of a gentle giant for his own good. Davy needs to go to town on him. That pull for the goal chance was just poor. Should have buried it. He has the hurling in him.

Yes I do Sid. I was pissed and fuming. In hindsight cork were not concentrated enough. But it shows he was playing for a draw that he blew up more or less straight away.

Davy is a fucking spastic.

[quote=“His Holiness Da Dalai Lama, post: 828603, member: 1503”]Exactly. I know it might be hard for some people to tell, like those that have only seem him play this year, where he has look like a lanky donkey most of the time. But those that have seen him a couple of years ago will know that if he ever comes good and fulfills his true potential he will, as you say, bury a team on his own.
Given what Clare have elsewhere on the pitch, if that part of the equation were to fall into place, it could get scary.[/quote]

That image of him is based on an U21 game against Galway from four years ago. Contrast what he’s actually done this year with Cathal Mc finishing Wexford off in five minutes. Honan has raw talent, but his game has barely developed in the last five years. This thing of him being due a big game is a logical fallacy in its own right. If you give a lad with his raw ability enough chances, well on the law of averages he’ll have a good game eventually. But how many other lads do you fuck over in the meantime? You can’t keep giving one guy chance after chance and giving no chances to other guys. It’s not right.

There’s a touch of Dan Shanahan 1999-2003 about Honan.