All Ireland Senior Hurling Final 2013 - Clare v Cork

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 828609, member: 273”]Yes I do Sid. I was pissed and fuming. In hindsight cork were not concentrated enough. But it shows he was playing for a draw that he blew up more or less straight away.

Davy is a fucking spastic.[/quote]
Referees in All-Ireland hurling finals have always played for draws, they just got unlucky 53 years in a row.

[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 828357, member: 1552”]In fairness they may have found him in McInerney. Great player.

A brilliant collection of young Clare players have arrived on the scene at the same time and they have years ahead of them. They’ll be contenders for a while.[/quote]

They are very good. But they have an absolute belter of a performance yesterday yet couldn’t win. Can’t believe the lack of credit for Cork. They were below par but showed serious balls and the goals were top drawer. If it was KK a couple of years ago there would be serious hullabaloo about how they are never bate etc. that was an extrodinary get out from Cork. Clare won’t play that well again. I thought Cork got match ups wrong as well as being off the pace and nervous for a long part of the first half.

Eddie Brennan was funny after the game. I like him as an analyst. He calls it well, but his passion is allowed in as well. He was genuinely bemused by it all.

Clare conceded three goals and should have conceded one or two more. Without a sweeper their full back line is exposed

A fucking ‘‘sweeper’’? :rolleyes:

Good fucking night.

There is no doubt that he will do damage if he gets he gets the ball in his hand. I don’t think he is capable of that in inter-county hurling. The attempt on goal with the ground stroke was pathetic. It should have been past Nash before he even saw it. Conlon too has struggled this year. Collins and Kelly are two gems though.

After thinking about it I think Cork expected the sweeper system too much and I think they were prepared for more time on the ball and probably set up at training that way. It was a stroke from Davy not to go that way.

It will be a bit if a guessing game what way they’ll go the next time. I don’t think Davy felt they could beat Cork in a long range shooting contest. So what to do now? Go back to sweeper or man on man.

Cork will have to bring another level of intensity.

It’s hard to know who should be in a better mindset.

Ah I was chancing my arm Lockes, but I just couldn’t decide who would tip the balance in this game, always thought it would be very close, which is not exactly ground breaking analysis. Still think Cork will win the replay, but astonished they scored 3 goals.

An absolute privilege to be at that game. We were absolutely haunted to survive it, but still should have won it in the last minute. Crazy shit to go for that sideline, should’ve just played it into the corner.

Cannot wait for the replay.

[quote=“Watch The Break, post: 828595, member: 260”]Very strange buzz alright. Absolutely delighted at how well we played. Appalled that we could have lost the game after playing that well. When Horgan put Cork ahead I was filled with disgust more than anything else. The sheer gall of the cunts to even think about winning after we’d outplayed them the way we did for the 70 minutes. Then the sheer improbability of getting the equaliser in the circumstances we did with our corner-back putting the ball over from the sideline.

It wouldn’t be reasonable to expect it to make sense. Sport’s one thing in life you can normally count on to be fairly definitive, you win or you lose. To have seemingly done both and then to have done neither in a game that’s stressful enough to begin with makes a mess of your thoughts entirey.

We played well though, that’s what really counts. We played better, and were much better than Cork. We got caught with sucker punches but that happens and I’d still take our performance over their’s any day of the week. We have a fine team that’s not the finished article but are definitely much further along the line than any of us expected them to be. The likes of Podge and Tony Kelly have taken on a hero status for young kids in the county in a way no Clare players have since we were looking up to Lohan and Seanie. It’s great place to be in, and conceding a few handy goals isn’t really going to change that.[/quote]
Those first two paragraphs are absolutely unreal, I just felt the exact opposite emotion with Hoggy’s point, could not believe we were on the verge of winning it. O’Donovan doing that was just outrageous then, unreal stuff.

I take your final paragraph up to a point, and ye should definitely be proud of those lads you named and Conor Ryan, but I was delighted with the way our lads fronted up to adversity. Lads who’d had absolute stinkers (Cronin, Lehane, McDonnell) showed up when needed.

Also, Shane O’Neill and Pat Horgan were immense today. Harnedy to a lesser extent.

[quote=“braz83, post: 828645, member: 390”]
Also, Shane O’Neill and Pat Horgan were immense today. Harnedy to a lesser extent.[/quote]
Conor O’Sullivan was pretty pretty good too.

Thought Kearney played well in parts as well. Moylan did ok. Rest were shocking.

Watching it a second time alot of the frees an the red card Clare wanted were preceded by Clare swipes. Hoban on Shane O Neill (who I admit was lucky, but it was more awkward than anything). The McInerney free had a swipe from the keeper just before it on Coughlan. William Egan got a swipe after the play from a Clare player as well. The 21 yard free that Nash took in first half should be retaken for encroachment. Davy was going on as if Cork got handy fres and they should be more ahead at HT for that reason. They had a shit load of wides, they should look at that rather than the ref.
Clare got an extremely soft free just after half time.
McGrath got another soft one in 42nd minute.
McGrath took 9 steps before being fouled by Kearney in 45 min.
Donnellan got a chop free when Kearney clearly got the ball in 52nd min.
The equalizer was preceded by a push in the back on Stephan white.
Basically there was questionable decisions all day, both ways.

The ref also let Clare run alot of steps.

He was shite and too unfit for this level of game. But he was shite for 2 teams. At the time I didn’t really think anyone was being done and was surprised at reaction. On 2nd look it’s sour grapes from Clare. Same for Cork people on the time issue. Look at the moylan sideline and not the ref. that was silly.

Like Braz I was very proud of Cork. They never gave up.

Nash was excellent. 8/10
McDonnell got well beaten.4/10
Conor Sull. Very good, tight as hell. 8/10
Shan O Neill. Outstanding, perfect defending. Needs to be less wreck less in skirmishes. 9/10
Egan. Not great not bad 6.5/10
Brian Murphy. Poor enough, got a good score but was clearly off pace 5/10
Joyce. Struggled with rotating forwards but came into it 6/10
McLoughlin. Never got into it, 4/10
Kearney. Struggled for long period in first half but had a brilliant 2nd. Really caughtonto the Clare midfield. 7.5/10
Harnedy. A real leader, looks for ball at important time. 8/10
Cronin. Outplayed but came good. Needs a big replay. 6/10
Lehane. Great 2nd half. Could be fulfilling the potential. Showed good work rate. 8/10
Coughlan. Never got into it. 5/10
Horgan. Another Glen Rovers great, up there now with John Fitz, Tomas Mul etc. 10/10
Luke O Farrell. Pretty non existent, but got the free that got the goal. 5/10

Subs - all contributed and were involved in scores or important plays.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 828660, member: 273”]Watching it a second time alot of the frees an the red card Clare wanted were preceded by Clare swipes. Hoban on Shane O Neill (who I admit was lucky, but it was more awkward than anything). The McInerney free had a swipe from the keeper just before it on Coughlan. William Egan got a swipe after the play from a Clare player as well. The 21 yard free that Nash took in first half should be retaken for encroachment. Davy was going on as if Cork got handy fres and they should be more ahead at HT for that reason. They had a shit load of wides, they should look at that rather than the ref.
Clare got an extremely soft free just after half time.
McGrath got another soft one in 42nd minute.
McGrath took 9 steps before being fouled by Kearney in 45 min.
Donnellan got a chop free when Kearney clearly got the ball in 52nd min.
The equalizer was preceded by a push in the back on Stephan white.
Basically there was questionable decisions all day, both ways.

The ref also let Clare run alot of steps.

He was shite and too unfit for this level of game. But he was shite for 2 teams. At the time I didn’t really think anyone was being done and was surprised at reaction. On 2nd look it’s sour grapes from Clare. Same for Cork people on the time issue. Look at the moylan sideline and not the ref. that was silly.

Like Braz I was very proud of Cork. They never gave up.

Nash was excellent. 8/10
McDonnell got well beaten.4/10
Conor Sull. Very good, tight as hell. 8/10
Shan O Neill. Outstanding, perfect defending. Needs to be less wreck less in skirmishes. 9/10
Egan. Not great not bad 6.5/10
Brian Murphy. Poor enough, got a good score but was clearly off pace 5/10
Joyce. Struggled with rotating forwards but came into it 6/10
McLoughlin. Never got into it, 4/10
Kearney. Struggled for long period in first half but had a brilliant 2nd. Really caughtonto the Clare midfield. 7.5/10
Harnedy. A real leader, looks for ball at important time. 8/10
Cronin. Outplayed but came good. Needs a big replay. 6/10
Lehane. Great 2nd half. Could be fulfilling the potential. Showed good work rate. 8/10
Coughlan. Never got into it. 5/10
Horgan. Another Glen Rovers great, up there now with John Fitz, Tomas Mul etc. 10/10
Luke O Farrell. Pretty non existent, but got the free that got the goal. 5/10

Subs - all contributed and were involved in scores or important plays.[/quote]

What’s the rule on 21 yard frees? Do defenders have to be on the line?

They must stand on line.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 827470, member: 273”]They won the fucking games. Get over it. They’ll probably win tomorrow an you’ll have some excuse.

Anyway I hope it a brilliant game and Cork pull away near the end. I’m confident now both these things will happen.

Credit where it is due, Davy has got this team playing his way (a good way) and he has improved them. That’s all you can ask really. He’s still an awful dipshit and is an ignorant little shit, but my respect for him as a coach has grown. Proof is in the pudding you could say.[/quote]

Those refs kev, held ye in it in the first half. Great heart from cork to keep going but its becoming ridiculous now.

Ye got 19 frees to 9 in limerick and no sign of it evening itself out today.

Cork lads all around me booing the ref at the end after the equaliser the eejits.

[quote=“twiceasnice97, post: 828663, member: 1061”]Those refs kev, held ye in it in the first half. Great heart from cork to keep going but its becoming ridiculous now.

Ye got 19 frees to 9 in limerick and no sign of it evening itself out today.

Cork lads all around me booing the ref at the end after the equaliser the eejits.[/quote]
Cork got 16 frees. Clare got 17. Cork scored 1-8 from frees. Clare scored 0-11.

Come down off the cross

Did we get any frees when a clare lad fouled a corkman and then got a free himself?

Really looking forward to the replay now. It would be hard for the clare lads who didn’t perform to stomach losing like that.
The keeper full back line o’connor galvin kelly galvin conlon honan and mcgrath will all feel they have a bit to do.

I thought it was a fantastic match. I couldn’t give a shite if it was better or worse than any other matchs.
In corks corner o’neill despite the pull had a great game as did joyce and the other 4 scrambled like hell to keep going. Harnedy and conor ryan’s contest was worth the 320 it cost me to get the family in on it’s own.
Horgan I was pleased for. He has stepped up a level this year and burned off the last of denis walshs fcuking stupidity

I know corkonians will feel if they improve a small bit that they will take it but to my naturally clare focussed opinion I just think we have better players.
Moylan will probably start the next day, but that cuts the bench options .
On another note tom kenny must be going fairly badly not to come on in that type of hug paced open game

[quote=“Watch The Break, post: 828595, member: 260”]Very strange buzz alright. Absolutely delighted at how well we played. Appalled that we could have lost the game after playing that well. When Horgan put Cork ahead I was filled with disgust more than anything else. The sheer gall of the cunts to even think about winning after we’d outplayed them the way we did for the 70 minutes. Then the sheer improbability of getting the equaliser in the circumstances we did with our corner-back putting the ball over from the sideline.

It wouldn’t be reasonable to expect it to make sense. Sport’s one thing in life you can normally count on to be fairly definitive, you win or you lose. To have seemingly done both and then to have done neither in a game that’s stressful enough to begin with makes a mess of your thoughts entirey.

We played well though, that’s what really counts. We played better, and were much better than Cork. We got caught with sucker punches but that happens and I’d still take our performance over their’s any day of the week. We have a fine team that’s not the finished article but are definitely much further along the line than any of us expected them to be. The likes of Podge and Tony Kelly have taken on a hero status for young kids in the county in a way no Clare players have since we were looking up to Lohan and Seanie. It’s great place to be in, and conceding a few handy goals isn’t really going to change that.[/quote]

You cant beat tradition, we have it, you never will

[quote=“Fagan ODowd, post: 828664, member: 706”]Cork got 16 frees. Clare got 17. Cork scored 1-8 from frees. Clare scored 0-11.

Come down off the cross[/quote]

jesus christ…