All-Ireland U-21 2012

Every time I’ve seen him v Cork, he’s been the worst player on the pitch.

It’s disappointing we didn’t beat those minnows tonight, bigger fish to fry no doubt.

D’youknow was used 31 times by Dennis Maher in that interview :lol:

I hope we beat Waterford tomorrow night.

Tipp in Ennis for the final - Revenge for 2008 :guns: :guns: :guns:

Disappointing performance from Limerick. All bluster and not nearly method to their hurling. The amount of ball they wasted by just driving it down the centre of the Tipp defence was shocking. They seemed to be relying on Downes and Dowling catching the ball and barreling through the Tipp backs. Grand if it works I suppose but it looks terrible when it doesn’t.

Tipp’s use of the ball was very good even if their shooting was atrocious. There’s a lovely simplicity to a ball carrying game when it’s done right. Several times Tipp players soloed 20-30 yards with the ball and handpassed it to their left or right without looking, and it still went straight to hand to a supporting player. They look well coached without being especially exciting.

The park won’t be good tomorrow night I’d say.

Possibly not but one thing in our favour should be the amount of development squad/under 21 challenge matches that have taken place so far this year, while we will have 5 lads who played last Saturday a lack of cohesiveness and gameplan like Limerick tonight shouldn’t be an issue you would hope.

Christ, that was shite. :mad:

Well that was shocking. Never got going at all, silly mistakes all over the place, no intensity or urgency. It was like they were waiting for someone else to turn it on but it never happened. What makes it worse is that Tipp team look average enough. Downes and Dempsey were probably the only positives.

In the end Tipp looked more like a team whereas Limerick were very disjointed.

Was not happy with the management and selection but it was worse than feared.

a harmless effort.

We are not good in depth. The current senior panel better get some trophies.

I think the final is in Limerick regardless.

All Munster under 21 matches are played on a home and away basis. Same as the minor championship aside from the minor final which is curtain raiser to the senior final

That was pathetic. Lots of mullocking and bluster but no real heart. Failed to win clean ball time after time, and then the odd time we did we went down dead ends or over complicated things.

With better finishing Tipp could have won by 12 points or more.

No, It’s deffo in Limerick .

If it was in Limerick it would surely be noted on the fixtures section of the Munster GAA website.

Of course its not. CM is full of shit

[quote=“Watch The Break, post: 664316”]If it was in Limerick it would surely be noted on the fixtures section of the Munster GAA website.[/quote]it’s definitely in limerick

Two highlights of the evening:

The Tipp physio, yum, yum

Meeting exiled forumite Shannonsider *

Banner ready for Déise

By Diarmuid O’Flynn
Thursday, July 19, 2012
It’s a measure of the growing health of hurling across the province that the second Munster U21 hurling semi-final (Cusack Park, Ennis, throw-in 7.30pm) sees the Clare hosts — Munster minor champions 2010 and 2011 and beaten finalists of 2012 — face Waterford, Munster minor champions of 2009.
And the team Clare beat to win their two minor titles? Waterford.

The team beaten by Clare to win their U21 title in 2009? Waterford. On and on it goes — one of either Clare, Waterford and Limerick have contested the last five U21 finals, Limerick the reigning champions. The old Tipperary/Cork duopoly is still strong but these days they’re having to face down some very serious opposition from the other three.

So we come to this game, and two teams bristling with heavy artillery. From the side that suffered honourable defeat in last Sunday’s Munster SHC final against Tipperary, Waterford name goalkeeper Stephen O’Keeffe (superb last week), Ballygunner brothers Phillip and Pauric Mahony and Gavin O’Brien, all of whom were starters in that game.

In addition they have Martin O’Neill, who came on as a sub last Sunday, then midfielder Jake Dillon and corner-forward Brian O’Halloran, both of whom were with the senior panel last year. A wealth of talent there then, but it’s matched by Clare. From the senior team pipped by Waterford in Munster, then pipped again by Limerick in the All-Ireland qualifiers, Clare have named the four teenagers, Seadna Morey, Colm Galvin, Tony Kelly and Aaron Cunningham, along with high-scoring Conor McGrath, Podge Collins, Cathal McInerney and Patrick O’Connor — that’s nine players who are on or near the Clare senior starting 15, a formidable line-up.

Add in the injured Darragh Fives (Waterford) and Dara Keane (Clare), both out with injuries (though Fives is closer to making a return) and it’s clear these are two serious teams.

Though there are several survivors on each side from the minor game three years ago, that result (Waterford beat Clare 3-9 to 0-12 in the semi-final) is now pretty meaningless. Huge progress has been made in both counties and kudos to the structures in Clare and in Waterford that they have managed to hold onto so many of their best players and bring them through to senior.

The bookies have installed Clare as hot favourites and there’s no doubt that Cusack Park will have a bearing on events, but Waterford at 5/2? Seems very generous.

Nevertheless I expect Clare to come through here. They are being jointly managed by Donal Moloney and Jerry O’Connor, the two men who guided the fortunes of the Munster minor-winning team of 2010 and 2011, two men who obviously know how to win.

Expect a game and a half, however.

WATERFORD: S O’Keeffe; J Barron, S O’Keeffe, M Wyse; R Barry, Phillip Mahony, E Madigan; P Prendergast, J Dillon; G O’Brien, E Murphy, M O’Neill; F Murray, Pauric Mahony, B O’Halloran.