All-Ireland U-21 2013

In recent years UCC has been strong Cork with a healthy KK & Waterford presence.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 803389, member: 273”]

I never ever said it was the only way, and I also stated several times it would probably only ever work with Cork an maybe Limerick. On top of the that the Cork Development squads are run thru the 2 Colleges, so there is a direction there.

Cork HAVE the hurlers. I’m 100% sure of that. The development squads are well set up and pretty well looked after. The issue is there is a complete disconnect between the Develoent people who coach at 14-17 and the County Board who bring in the old CB lads for the Minor and U21 jobs.
.[/quote]
The pt is Cork simply don’t have the hurlers. The problem is that most of Cork are living in the past and believe that Cork have the hurlers and its just a case waiting for it all to come right. Meanwhile all the other counties have the proper development structures in place and are powering ahead leaving Cork in their dust trail.

Do they practice shooting at all in Clare? The amount of wides between last Sunday and this evening is atrocious.

shooting into a low sun in fairness

0-17 to 2-15
Made heavy work of beating a 14 man Waterford.
Tipp will be favs for the final.

Sending off killed Waterford, second yellow was a rush of blood to the head. Enjoyable match in fairness. Tipp v Clare should be a cracker.

What was the second yellow for dodgy?

We have a serious amount of improving to do if we are to be within ten of tipp. Ridiculous amount of wasted chances. kellys injury looked serious.

Do the lads who don’t get into college get a look in in Cork at all?

Clare midfielder Galvin was going through and the Waterford lad Prendergast just stuck the hurley out and kind of pulled across his neck, already on a yellow it was a bit of a crazy challenge. The ref had no choice but to dismiss him. Not a nasty, malicious tackle but he had to go.

Of course they do Fagan. But you could argue they are at a slight disadvantage if they are not particularly good as their coaching at Minor & 21 is so poor.

[quote=“His Holiness Da Dalai Lama, post: 803498, member: 1503”]0-17 to 2-15
Made heavy work of beating a 14 man Waterford.
Tipp will be favs for the final.[/quote]
Dunno about that hhddl, cork were so poor last night that you have to respect Clare now. The open spaces of Semple Stadium will suit Clare’s attack no end IMO. Hopefully our lads will perform but it should be a great game. The winners will take serious beating.

I’m not sure if you are trolling Kev, but there isn’t much co-relation between who is picked for the Cork universities and who is played for the Cork U-21s. Going by this year’s team club is more important.

Regarding Cork, I didn’t see the match, but I’m not surprised by the result. A lot of mediocre hurlers being either played out of position and/or players who have little experience at inter-county level and/or players who were focused on the football rather than hurling. On top of that the group of hurlers isn’t suited to Ger Fitz’s style of hurling in the slightest.

[quote=“Turenne, post: 803584, member: 232”]I’m not sure if you are trolling Kev, but there isn’t much co-relation between who is picked for the Cork universities and who is played for the Cork U-21s. Going by this year’s team club is more important.

Regarding Cork, I didn’t see the match, but I’m not surprised by the result. A lot of mediocre hurlers being either played out of position and/or players who have little experience at inter-county level and/or players who were focused on the football rather than hurling. On top of that the group of hurlers isn’t suited to Ger Fitz’s style of hurling in the slightest.[/quote]

I never said that.

I really am surprised at how many lads, usually who may dislike my ways, rush in to javelin a cut off me yet don’t read what I actually say.

It was a very strange selection.

Kev, I was asking Fagan if he was trolling you, not if you were trolling us.

Regarding the club vs colleges thing, of the new players brought in, Lester, Lordan and Daniel O’Mahony were recognised due to their club performances. Barry Lawton on the bench because of colleges.

There was a scathing article in todays Examiner about Cork hurling, a number of people apportioning the blame to the Newtownshandrum style of hurling and feel that Cork need to switch to a more traditional game at all levels

thats no revelation, Cork have been calling out for that for years, that hand passing shite is terrible and only for good for players not wanting to put theirs hands in the fire

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 803389, member: 273”]I absolutely agree Mullach. That’s the thing, I don’t think we can rely on the Fitz/Sigerson alone. But it has worked in recent years for Cork. This years hurling team would be in Div 2 and long since out of hurling without the Fitz.

I never ever said it was the only way, and I also stated several times it would probably only ever work with Cork an maybe Limerick. On top of the that the Cork Development squads are run thru the 2 Colleges, so there is a direction there.

Cork HAVE the hurlers. I’m 100% sure of that. The development squads are well set up and pretty well looked after. The issue is there is a complete disconnect between the Develoent people who coach at 14-17 and the County Board who bring in the old CB lads for the Minor and U21 jobs.

A blind man could see Ger Fitz is not up to that level of management. He had very little coaching experience before it. Kenneally over the Minors is just a bully and is absolutely terrible for young fellas. These 2 are the exact example of that phrase I heard recently about a coach can improve a team by 5% but can disimprove them by 30%. Kenneally got alot of credit for coaching Valley Robers to an Intermediate county yet it was a freakishly talented group for a relatively small club and they lost half the squad for the next 2 years with various injuries. These are guys that if they got a job at Nemo or Ballyboden or somewhere they’d be fucked out after 3 weeks.[/quote]
Ye are welcome to our current and recent minor and u21 managers and selectors.

You mean the traditional style our Minors and U-21s played this year.