All Ireland Under 21 Hurling Championship - 2014

change your question to ask why he wasn’t picked to start, because a number of different people have given you proof enough that he was good enough to start.

I fear you might be a little bit retarted

[QUOTE=“Esteban de la Sexface, post: 956192, member: 2695”]change your question to ask why he wasn’t picked to start, because a number of different people have given you proof enough that he was good enough to start.

I fear you might be a little bit retarted[/QUOTE]
nobody has, do you want me to take the posts from Limerick people on the limerick thread over here saying exactly why he shouldn’t?

@Kid Chocolate: We bet tipp all over the field in 2012 and ran ourselves into the ground. Tipp emptied the bench while we had nothing to introduce and they pipped us at the finish. Allen took a very strong lesson from this but didn’t get the balance fully right. He didn’t think we could win a shootout in 70 mins and the following year based on this premise he developed two styles of play, a starting 15 based on workrate to keep the game close, and then introducing scorers like downes, dowling, and Moran after 50 mins or so. It clearly worked to an extent but the danger in that approach was always clear. Downes was hampered by injury during the year and tobins form was good and kept him benched (this was a call he got wrong IMO). Hannon was nailing the frees up until the Clare game and there wasn’t a need for dowling just for frees.

Babs Keating won 2 of them and he was fit to be institutionalised

I think this is another one of your opinions, we’ll let it slide

you are on record here as saying Dowling isn’t fit enough for 70mins intercounty hurling aren’t you?

everything I say is one of my opinions, and if it looks like a fact I probably made it up to suit my argument, like you do.

Unless of course it is a question, like, where were you educated? Which you didn’t answer.

Where are you employed?
Where do you socialize?

Fucking Columbo you aren’t

From what I saw all year this year up until the tipp game, yes. He has improved a bit recently but he still should be fitter and is playing below his potential. I’m not sure what the argument that you’re having is.

I’ve spelled out why he didn’t start last year, if you can’t grasp it then I think you’re very dim.

Edit, to make this very clear for you: he is a good player. He is extremely talented. He is playing beneath his full potential this year.

[QUOTE=“Breaking my balls, post: 956152, member: 2493”]Lets have a look at his I/C Career to date so shall we;

Minor Level - Hurled 3 years at this level, was phenomenal in his last 2 years where he almost single handedly beat Cork on his own at the Gaelic Grounds in his last year and was, along with Carmody, unreal below in Waterford when the same team lost in Extra Time. Not a bad start.

U21- Was the best player on the field, including Aidan Walsh, on the night of one of the best games of Hurling ever played when we beat Cork in the Munster U21 Hurling Final in 2011. Tore Clare a new arsehole below in Ennis the same year along with Hannon and Downes. (Tony Kelly was shite that night, a Munster Semi Final big game scenario, which going by YOUR logic means he will never be above average IC Hurler). Was our best player in the ill fated Galway Semi Final when others struggled. In 2012 he was decent when we went down to Tipp. He was poor in a poor display by the whole team last year in Thurles in 2013 but was still top scorer for us. He was poor the other night.

Senior (The big one);

2012- Top scored and was one of the best players on the park from either side on his debut v Tipp in Thurles. Scored two points from play from 70+ yards. Went on an absolute fucking rampage in the Qualifiers and clocked up crazy scores. Walked all over Clare in Thurles when we knocked ye out of the Championship playing very well from Half Forward. Another night where Tony Kelly was fierce quiet in a huge game (by YOUR logic must be average enough?? no?). Was one of our best performers v Dublin in Thurles.

2013 - Came off the bench to win us the game v Tipp. Came off the bench and threw scores over from everywhere v Cork in Munster Final. Came off the bench and was our best player along with Browne v Clare in Croker, apart from the 1 sideline ball ye like to harp on about.

2014 - Won us the game v Tipp in Thurles, no matter how many from frees.

And he is 20 years old. You are talking some fair wank pal. Now do one.[/QUOTE]

Firstly I never said he was a poor hurler. I had reference to the fact that 6 teams he has been a key player on have made it out of Munster and yet he has yet to win an All Ireland. Aside from the Limerick seniors the other 5 sides he was on were as good as anything left in those competitions and he was one of the marque players on them teams and they are the days greats are made, yet Dowling came up short.

Why would you reference Tony Kelly when talking about Dowling. Kelly has had off days, no doubting that, but they have been few and far between. He almost singlehandedly beat a star studded ASR team including Dowling on his own at Harty Cup level on what was an average enough Flannans side in 2011. Clare were poor and well beaten by Limerick in the 2011 under 21 championship but that was no fault of Tony Kelly’s same Limerick’s defeat was not the fault of Cian Lynch the other night - both lads battled manfully up against lads 4 or 5 years their senior.

He didn’t do ramage against Clare in 2012, he didn’t even score from play the same night and he didn’t score from play against Clare last year either, it is feint praise to say he was one of the better lads last year, aside from hitting a poor sideline a few frees he did little of note. He did well off the bench last year in Munster in his cameos but the fact that he was warming the bench is a slamming indictment of the lad and his inability to train and get himself fit enough to fulfill his potential.

Your post and praise of his performances is riddled with hyperbole. He is a good hurler, nobody is denying that but he is nowhere near the superstar ye are proclaiming him to be and he won’t be either as he doesn’t have the workrate or attitude to be one.

I would like to be proven wrong on this, as I said earlier he was an outstanding hurler from a young age and I hope that he does find the apetite for work that is needed but I wouldn’t hold my breathe

The amount of times I heard after the Munster final, that we won’t always get away with not starting our best team all the time, I’d have a fortune. The Clare game was probably the right time to change, but it must be the hardest thing in Sport for a manager to change a winning team.

[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 956207, member: 1533”]From what I saw all year this year up until the tipp game, yes. He has improved a bit recently but he still should be fitter and is playing below his potential. I’m not sure what the argument that you’re having is.

I’ve spelled out why he didn’t start last year, if you can’t grasp it then I think you’re very dim.[/QUOTE]
FFS…@Joe Player…you can take this one outside

How embarrassing, he’s just admitted he did state this.
You should have wait just a little longer…

[QUOTE=“Kid Chocolate, post: 956213, member: 553”]How embarrassing, he’s just admitted he did state this.
You should have wait just a little longer…[/QUOTE]

No he admitted he thought this, he didn’t admit he stated it. Not in this thread anyway. he has explained very succinctly his reasoning for Dowling being a sub, none of which mentions he wasn’t fit enough. Why do you keep calling for this JoePlayer fella? Is he your minder for weekend releases?

You’d really wonder about lads who have been involved in hurling and football all their lives and not seeing a 21 year old with unfulfilled talent could make a balls of it 3 or 4 more times and still become a legend. He has 3-4 years to reach maturity and another 2-4 after that to reach his physical peak. It sounds like a nice rest and a trip away would do him good.

Jesus there is some unbelievable tools frequenting this place. Every now and then it raises it’s head how ignorant some people on here are. The last few days has been eye opening.

[QUOTE=“chewy louie, post: 956208, member: 1137”]Firstly I never said he was a poor hurler. I had reference to the fact that 6 teams he has been a key player on have made it out of Munster and yet he has yet to win an All Ireland. Aside from the Limerick seniors the other 5 sides he was on were as good as anything left in those competitions and he was one of the marque players on them teams and they are the days greats are made, yet Dowling came up short.

Why would you reference Tony Kelly when talking about Dowling. Kelly has had off days, no doubting that, but they have been few and far between. He almost singlehandedly beat a star studded ASR team including Dowling on his own at Harty Cup level on what was an average enough Flannans side in 2011. Clare were poor and well beaten by Limerick in the 2011 under 21 championship but that was no fault of Tony Kelly’s same Limerick’s defeat was not the fault of Cian Lynch the other night - both lads battled manfully up against lads 4 or 5 years their senior.

He didn’t do ramage against Clare in 2012, he didn’t even score from play the same night and he didn’t score from play against Clare last year either, it is feint praise to say he was one of the better lads last year, aside from hitting a poor sideline a few frees he did little of note. He did well off the bench last year in Munster in his cameos but the fact that he was warming the bench is a slamming indictment of the lad and his inability to train and get himself fit enough to fulfill his potential.

Your post and praise of his performances is riddled with hyperbole. He is a good hurler, nobody is denying that but he is nowhere near the superstar ye are proclaiming him to be and he won’t be either as he doesn’t have the workrate or attitude to be one.

I would like to be proven wrong on this, as I said earlier he was an outstanding hurler from a young age and I hope that he does find the apetite for work that is needed but I wouldn’t hold my breathe[/QUOTE]
I liked how I phrased it better.

What is the actual argument you’ve been having? I can’t make this more clear for you, he is a good player, he has the the talent to be an exceptional player (which he has been at every grade in the past), he currently is not fulfilling his full potential IMO. Which part of this do you disagree with?

@Esteban de la Sexface, I’ll look after my self pal. He’s currently not fit enough. Great name.

Fagan, why do you need to add a personal insult whenever disagreeing with someone?

I’d say keeping a winning team motivated is harder and changing a losing mentality to a winning one is far harder

@Kid Chocolate[/USER] is after getting the absolute run around this afternoon. He better hope [USER=2493]@Breaking my balls doesn’t follow him over to ClareHurlers.com and embarrass the shite out of him in front of his crew. :smiley: