All Ireland Under 21 Hurling Championship - 2014

2008, he almost single handedly* pulled Tipp over the line against Clare in the 2008 Munster under 21 final.

*along with a littany of bad decisions from Jason O’Mahoney

So what did you disagree with?

Ah. I had misread your to say “unremarkable”. I have accordingly amended my rating to an Agree.

[QUOTE=“myboyblue, post: 992013, member: 180”]A quick search brings this back

2003: D Herity; G Joyce, C Hickey, M Phelan; K Coogan, J Tyrell, JJ Delaney; S Hennessy, T Walsh; C Phelan, P Cleere, W O’Dwyer; A Fogarty, M Rice, B Dowling. Subs: S O’Neill, E McCormack.

2004: D Herrity; S. Maher, J. Tennyson, M. Fennelly; T. Walsh, P.J. Delaney, C. Hoyne; S. Hennessy, P. Cleere; S. O’Neill, W. O’Dwyer, E. Reid; C. Fitzpatrick, C. Phelan, R. Power. Subs: M. Rice for Fitzpatrick (injured, second half); B. Dowling for Cleere and E. Larkin for Reid (52nd minute); J. Phelan for O’Neill and N. Doherty for Delaney (56th).[/QUOTE]

That 2003 team had brought shame to the county for being the only one to lose a minor match in Leinster for an age a few years before redeeming themselves at u21 level. At the time they were seen as an average enough bunch who did well to win an All-Ireland.

Richie, Cha and co lost an u21 to Galway in Limerick one year. I was disgusted at the time, esp when some Cyril Farrell lookalike turned around to me and started fist pumping at the end. It was probably no harm for those lads in the end

[QUOTE=“the man himself, post: 992228, member: 1766”]They did beat the All Ireland champions Clare in the Munster Final to be fair, fairly easily too IIRC.

Tipperary: J Logue, K O’Gorman, Padraic Maher, M Cahill, J Barry (0-02, 1f), B Maher, C Hough, S Hennessy (0-02, 1f), N McGrath (1-03, 1-00f), S Carey (1-03), Patrick Maher (1-0), B O’Meara (1-03, 0-01f), M Heffernan (0-02), P Murphy (0-02), J O’Dwyer (1-03).

That was the Tipp team in 2010, can’t find a 2009 team but it would have a lot of them plus Pa Bourke, Gearoid Ryan, Thomas Stapleton, Callanan and maybe a few more I’m forgetting[/QUOTE]
It was 5 points after we went 1-3 to no score up, missed a penalty and another goal chance before tipp scored. That wasn’t the way tipp were lined out either, P maher was centre back, B Maher and Barry were wing backs with Fez and McGrath centre field. We were destroyed at midfield and buggy won puckout after puckout at centre forward. The only positive that day was Conor McGrath roasting Cahill from start to finish, think he scored 5 points off 5 balls from play.

That was the lineup for the All Ireland final of that year. John Coughlan got suspended in the All Ireland semi so Paudie Maher had to go back full back with Brendan Maher going centre and Hough coming in. Paddy Murphy had a great game too for Tipp in that Munster final I think

Yeah himself and buggy switched between full and centre the while game with both being much stronger in the air than either of the Clare players, absolute carnage but your midfield pairing dominated that game, Fez is a huge loss. Camin Morey and Cathal Chaplin were the centre back and full back for us that day, you wouldn’t pick them out of their club teams now.

Mark Keane was a fantastic free taker, in the Colin Ryan class and a great guy to have on a team.

Main problem was the fact that the whole team drank enough to fill a small reservoir. My sister hung out with one of the players from that team and he was constantly on the lash. At the same time she shared a class in LIT with a senior Limerick player who had gone back to college in his late 20s. She innocently filled in the senior player on the drinking exploits of the younger guys and was gobsmacked when he told her that he rarely drank and when he did it was not to excess : ‘But sure I thought all ye hurler lads drink.’ She told me that he was well cheesed off. Those under-21 lads seriously destabilised the whole spirit of the senior team; their success meant that they had to be introduced into the side but their drinking made a mockery of the senior guys. Dowling’s talk on Newstalk the other night was a million miles away from that 21s team.

[QUOTE=“Nick Rivers, post: 992330, member: 2763”]Mark Keane was a fantastic free taker, in the Colin Ryan class and a great guy to have on a team.

Main problem was the fact that the whole team drank enough to fill a small reservoir. My sister hung out with one of the players from that team and he was constantly on the lash. At the same time she shared a class in LIT with a senior Limerick player who had gone back to college in his late 20s. She innocently filled in the senior player on the drinking exploits of the younger guys and was gobsmacked when he told her that he rarely drank and when he did it was not to excess : ‘But sure I thought all ye hurler lads drink.’ She told me that he was well cheesed off. Those under-21 lads seriously destabilised the whole spirit of the senior team; their success meant that they had to be introduced into the side but their drinking made a mockery of the senior guys. Dowling’s talk on Newstalk the other night was a million miles away from that 21s team.[/QUOTE]

i think i speak for the whole forum when I say fuck off posting dribble like that here

I’ll never forget the crowd at the Tipp v Limerick U 21 match in Thurles in 2002. Missed the first 20 minutes with the traffic crawling in from the Holycross road. I would love to know what the attendence was at that game. I doubt any of those games were televised back then. A pity really as they were unreal games.

Only the finals were televised in those days. I think they only started televising the A/I semi finals around 2006 or 2007 and the provincial finals since 2008

Can you still email TG4/ Nemeton and get copies of the games with no commentary? I remember you used to be able to a few years ago.

You wouldn’t get an atmosphere at a Munster Senior match these days…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XSB7Tt-OeSc

[QUOTE=“Nick Rivers, post: 992330, member: 2763”]Mark Keane was a fantastic free taker, in the Colin Ryan class and a great guy to have on a team.

Main problem was the fact that the whole team drank enough to fill a small reservoir. My sister hung out with one of the players from that team and he was constantly on the lash. At the same time she shared a class in LIT with a senior Limerick player who had gone back to college in his late 20s. She innocently filled in the senior player on the drinking exploits of the younger guys and was gobsmacked when he told her that he rarely drank and when he did it was not to excess : ‘But sure I thought all ye hurler lads drink.’ She told me that he was well cheesed off. Those under-21 lads seriously destabilised the whole spirit of the senior team; their success meant that they had to be introduced into the side but their drinking made a mockery of the senior guys. Dowling’s talk on Newstalk the other night was a million miles away from that 21s team.[/QUOTE]
Who changed their user name to post that?

The 2002 final in limerick was a great game. That was the evening of the pyramid. Limerick were 10 up at ht with a good wind but Tipp levelled. I have it on video tape somewhere in the attic

@glasagusban and then he agreed with what he just posted.

She sounds like a proper cunt.

Fuck off back to the Alan Ryan thread Ned

You’re an awful blackguard Fagan.

What has become of TFK? Lads posting stories that their sister heard in college about the hurling crowd (she’d have been friendly with them) and other tards liking and agreeing with them. Respect for Limerick hurlers past and present, please.