You put bad managers in place and you select teams based on politics and agendas and that’s what happens.The performances of the senior team under JBM have shown up how inadequate Corks underage system is.In a county of our sporting heritage i demand better from those running the administration of the gaa in this county.I would be hopeful when Kenneally finally fucks off we’ll have a decent management team in place.Lack of talent isn’t the problem bad management is but sure we’ll just shove the two fingers up at the haters and begrudgers and drive on.
Do you ever have anything fucking positive to say?
KK team about 10 years ago were 16 points up on Tipp at half time in the AIF. It was regarded as very good Tipp team too. game was in Nowlan Park, not sure of the year. That was a special team.
The Tipp team of 2010 beat nothing, Galway were beaten before the final when they were made travel to Thurles. Galway let that scandalous decision get to them. Tipp had a better team the previous year and lost heavily to Waterford.
Whilst I’m having a go at Tipp here its only fair to say their team during the Limerick 3 in a row era was very good, two years they were much better than Limerick and one year in particular only refereeing decisons cost them the Munster title. Brislane was sent off in the same match. Again not sure of the year but they completely out hurled Limerick in Thurles.
Did Limerick win a few in a row ten years ago - what happened to those teams?
It was a well balanced Limerick side which had some very strong players down the spine of it but lacked real superstars. They were excellent at grinding out wins at that level and winning tight games in fairness to them. Pretty much all of the better lads got a chance in some form or other at senior level but justn didn’t make the step up.
Shocks was the superstar, especially the name he had made for himself at Colmans. Never really kicked on at senior though.
Shaughs, Mark Keane and Lawlor were all excellent players on that side. Pat Kirby got on in the third year as a minor and looked to be one for the future, think he played senior as a minor as well and soon disappeared without a trace. James Bulter was a classy player as well, small and quick, he scored a brilliant goal against Cork in PUC around 200r or 2005 and then soon disappeared. Anyone know what happened him?
They also dished out a few hidings against Cork in a Munster final and they fairly hockeyed Galway I think in an A/I final as well.
A bit harsh in fairness Chewy they had plenty of stars but the liquor got them all. Eoin Foley, Lawlor and a few more could have gone down as all time Limerick greats. Of the ones that did make it Reale, Lucey, Begley, Conor Fitz, Geary, Moran and Conor Fitz all went on to have decent-good inter county careers. Shaughs was the real star though. Unfortunately he was burnt out by his early twenties, some player in his pomp. Mark Keane probably never had enough in him to justify his inclusion at senior level, but what a freetaker .
[QUOTE=“chewy louie, post: 992147, member: 1137”]Shaughs, Mark Keane and Lawlor were all excellent players on that side. Pat Kirby got on in the third year as a minor and looked to be one for the future, think he played senior as a minor as well and soon disappeared without a trace. James Bulter was a classy player as well, small and quick, he scored a brilliant goal against Cork in PUC around 200r or 2005 and then soon disappeared. Anyone know what happened him?
They also dished out a few hidings against Cork in a Munster final and they fairly hockeyed Galway I think in an A/I final as well.[/QUOTE]
Mark Keane is a blast from the past. Jaysus they had high hopes for that lad. He started the drawn match v Waterford in 03 that wasn’t televised and had a good game. I think extra curricular stuff took over shortly after.
Depends on the subject.
Their back line was awesome in fairness. Up front they lacked what i would call down and out matchwinners.
The likes of Paul O’Grady and the Tobins were all decent but bar Shaughs who came in around 2001 as a sub and then played 2002 they had few enough free scoring forwards.
Fellas like Eugene Mulcahy, Eoin Foley and Pat Kirby(think he played in 02) never came through really but all were quality at u21.
Reale, Lawlor, Lucey, Begley, Moran, Timmy Houlihan etc. all had stints and the likes of Reale were class acts in their time
Pat Kirby played senior while doing the Leaving Cert I think.
[QUOTE=“Special Olympiakos, post: 992125, member: 366”]KK team about 10 years ago were 16 points up on Tipp at half time in the AIF. It was regarded as very good Tipp team too. game was in Nowlan Park, not sure of the year. That was a special team.
The Tipp team of 2010 beat nothing, Galway were beaten before the final when they were made travel to Thurles. Galway let that scandalous decision get to them. Tipp had a better team the previous year and lost heavily to Waterford.
Whilst I’m having a go at Tipp here its only fair to say their team during the Limerick 3 in a row era was very good, two years they were much better than Limerick and one year in particular only refereeing decisons cost them the Munster title. Brislane was sent off in the same match. Again not sure of the year but they completely out hurled Limerick in Thurles.[/QUOTE]
Tipp and Limerick met in the finals of 01 and 02. Limerick won the 01 final by a point (3-14 to 2-16 if I recall) and finished with 14 men after Sean O’Connor was sent off in the 2nd half. That was the night Tipp tried to build a pyramid in front of Mark Keane trying to block the late pointed free that won it.
In 02 Tipp completely shat the bed in normal time as they led by 4 points with time up before a Shaughs goal let Limerick back into it. Tipp put the puckout out over the sideline and Limerick took a quick one to Kevin Tobin who levelled it with the last puck. Peter Lawlor was running amok and Brislane drew a filthy belt on him straight in front of the ref at the start of extra-time and was correctly sent off. I could be wrong but I don’t think Tipp even scored in extra-time that night and Limerick won it 1-20 to 2-14.
[QUOTE=“Elvis Brandenberg Kremmen, post: 992190, member: 1624”]Tipp and Limerick met in the finals of 01 and 02. Limerick won the 01 final by a point (3-14 to 2-16 if I recall) and finished with 14 men after Sean O’Connor was sent off in the 2nd half. That was the night Tipp tried to build a pyramid in front of Mark Keane trying to block the late pointed free that won it.
In 02 Tipp completely shat the bed in normal time as they led by 4 points with time up before a Shaughs goal let Limerick back into it. Tipp put the puckout out over the sideline and Limerick took a quick one to Kevin Tobin who levelled it with the last puck. Peter Lawlor was running amok and Brislane drew a filthy belt on him straight in front of the ref at the start of extra-time and was correctly sent off. I could be wrong but I don’t think Tipp even scored in extra-time that night and Limerick won it 1-20 to 2-14.[/QUOTE]
Tipp were about 8 or 9 points up and cruising and a succession of soft frees kept Limerick in touch. The gap was 4 before Tipp realised this wasn’t won yet. I think Brislane was sent off for two yellows in normal time too?
Are U21 hurling discussions the closest we have in GAA terms to soccer hipsters?
Ah here. That lad was/is remarkable.
[QUOTE=“Special Olympiakos, post: 992125, member: 366”]KK team about 10 years ago were 16 points up on Tipp at half time in the AIF. It was regarded as very good Tipp team too. game was in Nowlan Park, not sure of the year. That was a special team.
Whilst I’m having a go at Tipp here its only fair to say their team during the Limerick 3 in a row era was very good, two years they were much better than Limerick and one year in particular only refereeing decisons cost them the Munster title. Brislane was sent off in the same match. Again not sure of the year but they completely out hurled Limerick in Thurles.[/QUOTE]
They did beat the All Ireland champions Clare in the Munster Final to be fair, fairly easily too IIRC.
Tipperary: J Logue, K O’Gorman, Padraic Maher, M Cahill, J Barry (0-02, 1f), B Maher, C Hough, S Hennessy (0-02, 1f), N McGrath (1-03, 1-00f), S Carey (1-03), Patrick Maher (1-0), B O’Meara (1-03, 0-01f), M Heffernan (0-02), P Murphy (0-02), J O’Dwyer (1-03).
That was the Tipp team in 2010, can’t find a 2009 team but it would have a lot of them plus Pa Bourke, Gearoid Ryan, Thomas Stapleton, Callanan and maybe a few more I’m forgetting
He was fucking brilliant. Far too much was expected of him as for most of his time playing with limerick he was the only threatening forward we had -that’s not an exaggeration. We currently have 4 or 5 guys as good. In his time if you stopped him there was pretty much no way the other 5 would cobble together a winning score.
[QUOTE=“the man himself, post: 992228, member: 1766”]They did beat the All Ireland champions Clare in the Munster Final to be fair, fairly easily too IIRC.
Tipperary: J Logue, K O’Gorman, Padraic Maher, M Cahill, J Barry (0-02, 1f), B Maher, C Hough, S Hennessy (0-02, 1f), N McGrath (1-03, 1-00f), S Carey (1-03), Patrick Maher (1-0), B O’Meara (1-03, 0-01f), M Heffernan (0-02), P Murphy (0-02), J O’Dwyer (1-03).
That was the Tipp team in 2010, can’t find a 2009 team but it would have a lot of them plus Pa Bourke, Gearoid Ryan, Thomas Stapleton, Callanan and maybe a few more I’m forgetting[/QUOTE]
Was it 2009 Callanan got an all star nomination at centre forward while still u21? Seams Hickey marked him that year and didn’t give him a puck, in fat I think he outscored him by 1 point to 0.