Allianz Football League 2013

[quote=“scumpot, post: 766720, member: 182”]…
Agree Dublin miss Alan Brogan massively…think Kilkenny will need to step up a bit in his absence…if anything Kilkenny holds up the ball too much at times…
…[/quote]

admin might need to make this a members only thread…think jack o’shea is robbing my opinions…:confused:

[quote=“massey ferguson, post: 717480, member: 189”]I hear hes goin to cavan

Sent from my GT-S5369 using TFK App[/quote]

They’re being nice calling him a “star”

Former Kildare star James Kavanagh is set to revive his inter-county career by pitching in with Galway in 2014.

Tribesmen football manager Alan Mulholland has confirmed that Kavanagh (28), who is now living in the county, has joined his squad for gym training ahead of pre-season training, which starts for them later this month.

Kavanagh left Kildare prior to last season when he felt he couldn’t give full commitment to Kieran McGeeney’s panel.

Kavanagh’s wife was expecting a baby at the time and a move to Galway, where they were building a house, was imminent.

He subsequently moved from his club Ballymore Eustace to Milltown, who he played with in this year’s Galway club championship.

But at the time he distanced himself from speculation linking him to Mulholland’s Galway squad.

After a year living in Galway now, he is ready to commit to them and Mulholland is looking forward to working with him.

“James has been in with us doing some gym work and we’re delighted to have him,” he confirmed.

“He’s happy to give it a go with us.”

Mulholland added that Kavanagh has been suffering from a knee injury, which was bothering him towards the end of his Kildare career.

“It’s minor enough but provided that doesn’t bother him… he’s looking forward to it,” added Mulholland.

Kavanagh was one of Kildare’s most prolific forwards during the early part of McGeeney’s time and developed a reputation for scoring spectacular points.

He was educated in St Jarlath’s Tuam and captained the senior team during his time there, playing in the epic 2002 All-Ireland semi-final and replay against Jack O’Connor’s Colaiste na Sceilge which they won before eventually being crowned Hogan Cup champions.

Kavanagh developed a good rapport with Michael Meehan that season and Galway supporters will hope that can be reignited 12 years on. He joins Galway at a time when Mulholland has changed his back-room team, with Donal O Fatharta stepping down for personal reasons and Alan Flynn concentrating exclusively on the U-21s.

Former All-Ireland winners Declan Meehan and Paul Clancy, who was previously a selector under Justin McNulty at Laois for a year, replace them.

Another interesting addition is Brian Talty, the former Galway midfielder who was an integral part of Paul Caffrey’s management team in Dublin from 2005-08. Talty has agreed to come on board to work with Galway’s Dublin-based players.

Former Galway manager Liam Sammon will act in an advisory capacity to the management along with Martin Conroy.

As Kildare footballers go, not a complete cunt. Actually can kick a bit of football too, unlike the likes of Callaghan, Bolton etc.

That’s because he’s a Galway man.

Is he from Galway originally?

Grew up in Galway in Jarlaths, and has lived in Galway a few years now as well.

He said this in January

Kildare footballer James Kavanagh has said speculation linking him with a switch to the Galway team this season is wide of the mark.
The Dublin-based garda recently quit the Kildare panel and has a new house in Milltown, Galway, leading to speculation he would be switching his inter-county allegiance to the Tribesmen this year.
However Kavanagh, whose wife is expecting their first child, said: “I just need to take a step back.”
The 27-year-old two-time All Star nominee told the Kildare Nationalist: "There is nothing there with Galway at all. It’s obviously going to be said because I’m moving to Galway and leaving Kildare but there’s nothing in that at all.
"I am disappointed to be leaving the lads I have trained with for a long time. A bit of you feels that you’re leaving them down.
“But I have to make a decision and I feel I’ve made the right decision for now. Whatever comes down the road, we’ll see but this is the way it has to be for the moment.”
“I need to get a few things sorted and down in concrete before I can go back and get going again” - James Kavanagh
"Linda’s due our first child at the end of February and we’ve a house as good as built down here in Milltown and with me being on shift work in Crumlin as well, it was all becoming a bit too much for me.
"I just feel that I couldn’t give 100% at the moment and this level, it’s all or nothing.
"I wouldn’t consider myself retired. I just need to take a step back. I’ve been travelling up and down the road to Galway the last couple of years and it was tough but I was managing it. But circumstances have changed now.
“I just feel I have come to a stage now where I need to get a few things sorted and down in concrete before I can go back and get going again.”
Kavanagh grew up in Galway and played on the St Jarlath’s team in the early 2000s. He was part of the Kildare Under 21 team that won the Leinster title in 2004 and made his senior debut the following year.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 766495, member: 273”]They are my favorites Sid. And that of many others. They have the best structure, the meanest defense, big goal scoring forwards who win their own ball. They have an astute manager who knows he’ll need to tweak a few things. Dublin have some very good young players coming thru, but they are quite small in general. They also have played most games at home against depleted teams not as far in their perpetration as the Dubs. The games I saw they was little or no pressure being put on the forwards, it was very open. I don’t think teams were deliberately letting the Young Dubs think this is handy enough this Senior IC crack, but at times it almost seemed like that.

They are a force, no doubt. But Ciaran Killkenny and Alan Brogan need to be fit and have games under the belt before I’d be getting overly worried about them yet. They still have big issues, their midfield ( even allowing for MDM’s endeavor) is still inferior to a few other of the main teams and their Centre back is a liability but discipline wise and positionally.

If Cluxton is forced to kick 50-50 kick outs to Donegal, Cork, Kerry or Mayo the nice clean ball the backs have been attacking with in the league will be gone. Then they will run into trouble. Teams know this is an area to attack Dublin. Also they are very vulnerable to counter attack thru the middle die to aforementioned midfield and centre back.

It’s a very interesting championship coming up, they are getting more and more open all the time. But nearly all field sports in the world teams that win have the best defensive records, I don’t think right now any other team has one to match Donegal’s. mind you, was Lacy to be out for longer he would be an incalculable loss to them.[/QUOTE]
Bump

But he didn’t. Hence my change of view. He didn’t change anything and thought it would be enough.

In your defense and that of big Jim, I was reliably informed tonight, by a club mate no less, that McHugh is completely at fault for his own leaving, and was basically acting the cunt.