Allianz Hurling League 2017 Final

Aboy clinkers

His regular Monday Daily Star column?

Don’t know, mate . I don’t read newspapers - especially red tops.

Alright Jayo boy

This result will embolden the limericks once again

No he’s not

Ger Lough. The ultimate WUM.

Goes to show how daft this talk about teams being unbeatable is though. Tipp squeaked past Galway last year and were beaten by them the year before. All-Ireland favourites for sure but a long way from unbeatable.

It also blew away this shite about squad depth that always comes around when a team is doing well. Every sub looks great because he’s playing on an extremely good team and people start raving about all the options that are there. But once the key members of the team have a rough day, and other players need to step up, you see how deep the squad isn’t. “Imagine being able to leave Bubbles on the bench.” You didn’t need much imagination to understand that yesterday.

The consolation for Tipp is that Galway are their antidote and no other team is likely to bring that pace and aggression at the back, combined with that size profile at the front. Kilkenny might bring the attitude, but not the combination of pace and physicality. Waterford might bring the pace but not the attitude. Most teams will give Tipp that extra bit of time and space and that will be enough for them to beat most teams.

Strange match yesterday, Galway were physically stronger to a man, massive team, out-worked Tipp in every line.

Barrett and Cahill should have been hooked after 20 minutes, they took off Stephen O’Brien instead, while it is only a League Final in April a 16 point beating is unacceptable.

Fair play to Galway, got it spot on yesterday.

Bang on with all of that.

I’d like to reiterate that I’ve tipped Galway to win this AI for months now.

His display yesterday and throughout most of the league this year is a complete odds with his Championship displays for Tipp since his debut in 2013. 1-05 in the AI Final last September, crucial goal in the Semi-Final etc. etc. Eaten bread is soon forgotten.

This time last year Clare and Waterford were touted as the two teams that would be contesting the AI Final, Clare never rose a gallop after.

The only people talking this Tipp team up are the press, there is nothing emanating from within the squad or strangely enough, the fans. I wouldn’t be surprised if Cork beat them in 4 weeks, they won’t lack motivation after being written off by everyone. Long road for Tipp through Munster this year, the qualifiers might be an easier route…

So you are a bandwagoner as well?

I foresee the mother of all hammerings for Cork in a month.

Ah stop it now will ya

The Tipp lads have lost it altogether… Cork will be beaten a point a man in 4 weeks time

How many times will you tell us this in.the coming months?

Tipp wouldn’t be able to lose to Cork even if they tried to. Their forwards are way too good, what they did to Wexford is what they’ll do to any team that can’t outworking them for 70+ mins.

I don’t remember anyone touting Clare or Waterford for the all Ireland final.

Probably won’t mention it again until after they win.