Allianz National Hurling League 2024

Why is there no inter county hurling in August ffs

Let alone the number of wides they just blasted in the general direction of the goal in the second half.
A terrible outing. This style of hurling is soul destroying for any inside forward. Watching half backs leathering the ball wide from 80 or 90 yards rather than try and play a ball in. Waterford are at the same craic.

An utter crock. Mostly dour games, which get worse as the competition progresses, with the fairly uniform theme that if a side get a decent lead, all things being equal, the other team fold their tent because deep down they want to make a statement in a couple of opening skirmishes, but have no interest in an extended campaign. Played on boggy wet surfaces on boggy wet cold days that make you miserable on the telly, never mind in the uncovered stand The vast majority of teams would rather be training.
And it’s getting worse.
Every year I look forward to the start of it, and every year you end up with a game like that.

Michael Cleary. Wouldn’t have scored in a brothel that day

Tipp had 35 shots and got 15 scores. 9 missed frees - yikes!!!

Forde 5, O’Connor 2, Ryan 2, Connors 1.

Yer man McCarthy would have scored 8 of them.

Guilty as charged your guardship.

I’d be more worried if they didnt have the shots in fairness. Tipps biggest problem appears to be that they don’t know what their best team is still. Plus Byrne at 6 won’t do at all. Question mark over their midfield pairings as well. Clare were very impressive in the first half though. The ball was sticking in the hand. Lohan has built a serious panel there. Good additions added again this year.

Going to be a right day out in Ennis in a couple of weeks.

Imagine if poor auld Colm Bonnar had presided over that

In fairness, Bonnar wouldn’t have got us out of the group stage to start with. Fourth the year he was over Tipp, behind Dublin.

What were attendances from the two semi finals ?

Tipp 2-9 inclusive are not at the races

cry baby GIF

Glass half full me says Tipp were brutal against Clare in a League Quarter Final in 2016 and still pissed the All Ireland. Missing frees just sucks the life out of a team and if even half the missed ones were nailed things could have been different.

I have massive reservations about these new sliotars and the impact they are having in the shocking striking on display today and in most games these past couple of years at I/C level.

Anyway, glass half empty me says Tipp are just brutal. Someone on here a few weeks ago was saying this was a fine Tipp side… its the worst I’ve ever seen and the lads who remember the famine think likewise. Trying to copy other counties with this bastardised rubby league style game that is alien to us.

Barry Hogan has a big, booming puckout when he takes 3 steps up to it, and we should be utilising that and hitting the full forward line every time. Instead he’s doing this one step floater to midfield thats neither here nor there.

Why are the full backs/half backs striking these 30 yard stick passes to midfielders/half forwards who are being marked and have defenders up their holes? Its mental stuff. Outside of Morris there is little or no craft or guile in the forward line. They run out of ideas so quickly and then there are no shooters out the pitch so in short, we’re fucked.

Amen

It’s great isn’t it.

It was me. I’m beginning to think you may be right.
May I ask an honest question.
Do you think that when it boils right down to it, Tipperary hurling in general is too free spirited to actually want to make the sacrifices and apply the iron self discipline that are now an absolute prerequisite to compete with the limericks of this world?

I take no joy whatsoever in saying this but to use your own oft used phrase is easiest here, Tipp are fundamentally useless

That sentence brings immense joy to many people all the same.

Fuck Tipp