Allianz National Hurling League 2024

They’ll surely be playing a sweeper so TDB will be there surely. Seems to be playing Calum Lyons as a midfielder.

Jack Prendergast is up there as their best player, he’s a serious yoke, probably the most underrated hurler in the country at the moment.

That Padraig Fitzgerald is a dangerous forward aswell, he probably should be starting but won’t.

If they picked something like:

O’Brien
Fitzgerald Prunty Daly
Fagan TDB Bennett
Barron Lyons
Prendergast Hogan Bennett
Patrick Fitz Hutchinson Padraig Fitz

I’d give them a chance; I think the likes of Montgomery, Kiely & Nolan could be useful players too.

But the team won’t be anything like that, I imagine. Even Mark Fitz is a bit wasted at corner-back, has the hurling to play higher up but at least he lets you build from the back.

First thing he did when he came on at half time yesterday Montgomery was a stupid foul and a handy point for Wexford to cut the gap and keep their momentum going. The goal he missed I’d have scored with my Mickey.

Again just in front of me for the throw in after half time three of our forwards stood in a clump on the left side touch line. Looked ridiculous and classic Davyball. Obviously some kind of pre prepared move for when we won the throw in. We didn’t win the throw in.

This shite is an inherent part of davyball. Do something innovative but totally ignore what happens if the opposition get the ball.

Clare scored a goal in Thurles last year against Waterford when your full backline were all up past the 45 for some reason. You wouldn’t see it in an U10 game.

Wasn’t there something similar in a Clare game in the MSHC?

Just after half time. Clare were fuck acting and the opposition got a goal?

Davyball. TM.

Davy’s not afraid to try things.

Apart from trying to play some forwards obviously. He’s terrified of that it would seem

If memory serves me correctly Davy once sent on Eoin McGrath in an All Ireland semi final with the express purpose of trying to get Tommy Walsh sent off. Tommy just laughed at the good of it and continued to lord it.

I was in the canal end that day and Eoin Murphy, Prendergast and Kearney all went straight in and kicked their opponents as the game was about to start. Richie Power was levelled by McGrath too if memory serves me correct. Real stupid shit. They were warming up on the Hogan stand side and shouting and roaring and lepping about.

Fitzgibbon to 11, Roche to midfield and Eoin Downey there somewhere would be my changes to that.

I reckon Meade will start. An awful pity Ethan Twomey got injured - I feel he could have a starting spot nailed with consistent gametime.

Coleman and Robbie should strengthen that team further. Both definite starters if fully fit. I think we could see both start the Clare game if their recoveries go according to plan.

Whats the story with Flynn now. Saw him pull up in Kilkenny game. I hope its not as serious as last one.

Supposed to be 2-3 more weeks. Not as serious, but the same hamstring so management need to be cautious

Tis gas the amount of fellas who think they know more about intercounty management than a man like Davy who has an amount of game plans in his back pocket to play the game.

Davy be grand.

Is next years league more a less set now?

Dublin and Waterford in 1B - it won’t be worth a fuck to either.

Should have went back to 6&6

6 & 6 infinitely better than 7 & 7.

Do waterford have cork at home first. The tight pitch and surroundings won’t suit cork. Waterford win that & they’re up and running.

2008 all Ireland? If not then they did something similar that day

Eoin Murphy looked particularly ridiculous. It just wasn’t in him. He was a pure hurling corner back

Ah I think it will suit their running game a lot more. They turned Waterford over there 2 years ago. That being said it was after Waterford list to Limerick and they had turned on Cahill. I certainly wouldn’t take a Cork win for granted though. They have Tipp at home as well.

If Waterford go out and perform to even 80% of what they’re capable of, I could see them beating Cork.

But if they deliver performances anything like they did in last year’s Championship then no pitch, big or small, will help them win the game.

ah yes, the final, read fagans post too quick. Tommy Walsh had the helmet pulled off him (wayhey) before the game started, but dont think that was McGrath alright. I remember thinking these lads were going to get hammered going at that craic. Utter stupidity.

The new pitch in Walsh park looks as big and wide as any other now. Would have suited Cahills Waterford side but a disadvantage for Davys defenders.