Allianz National Hurling League 2024

Team largely picks itself at this stage, although I don’t know what the story is with injuries re: the likes of ROF and Sean Twomey.

Collins

S. O’Donoghue D. Cahalane E. Downey

G. Millerick C. Joyce R. Downey

T. O’Connell D. Fitzgibbon

D. Dalton C. Lehane S. Harnedy

P. Horgan A. Connolly S. Barrett

Lehane and Horgan shouldn’t start on current form but nonetheless.

Thought McManus was very good on league Sunday tonight. Very knowledgeable and articulate. Doesn’t get bogged down in systems and tactics talk either.

He’s a great addition.

I’d imagine lehane and Horgan are nailed on starters?. In fairness they’ve been in the trenches for years and are battle hardened.

This is Lehane’s year I feel

Indeed.

Horgan fine but he and Connolly in the same line won’t work imo. No justification to start Lehane on past or present form .

No Willie Maher at the Laois game v Meath yesterday. A prior engagement in the States is how its being spun. Will be interesting to see next weekend for the arrival of Kerry.

A nation holds its breath.

Hard to know what Waterford are at at all. Billy Nolan was playing as a free man but didn’t know where to play. He was rushing up the field when Wexford were taking puck outs and racing back if the puck out went long. There was an acre of space in front of our full back line all through the first half which was exploited when the Wexford no8 ran through unimpeded and buried a goal. A sweeper is surely to fill that space and clear ball. I’d say Nolan touched the ball less than half the number of times that TDB would have in an average game and to much less effect.
Wexford played with a full forward line and made hay. I’d say poor Conor Ryan has never had to man mark a proper corner forward in training and hadn’t a clue what to do. He’s a grand lad to make an overlap or pass a ball back to the goalie though in fairness.

On the other hand right in front of me in the second half when we were chasing the game PJ Fanning won a ball on his 70. Looked up and could see no forward to play the ball to - they were all outside the 50 crowding the middle for some reason. He turned around and played it back to the keeper, who to be fair also looked up but still could see no forward in space, so he drove the ball as far as he could and wide.

The other point of note I thought was the Wexford were a noticeably bigger team than us and more physical. I would be very wary about our championship prospects. I’m sorry @peddlerscross that you had a big bet on a Waterford win yesterday but I couldn’t understand what that optimism was founded on.

Is there any chance Davy is keeping his cards close to his chest?

None.

I’m worried that is the case alright.

What the fuck is he even trying to do? The worse his defensive shite performs the more he seems to think the answer is to be more defensive

He must be keeping his gameplan hidden. Trouble is, there’s absolutely no point in doing so really. Far better to get your plan set and tweak personnel.
I only say that he must be because I can’t fathom that he possibly couldn’t??

Even the most bog standard club manager would have some semblance of a plan that’s easy for players to follow.

Stick Dessie and someone else - Patrick Fitzgerald/Stephen Bennett? - inside and tell them not to ever move outside the 45. Work like dogs around midfield and feed the inside pair.

You’ve one of the best forwards in the country in Hutchinson and he’s employed in this kind of water boy/work horse role. Imagine Galway using Whelan or Limerick using Gillane in a similar manner? No, you can’t.

It’s a terrible waste for Waterford. Two years wasted. He has never changed, he never will, he never evolves. Just keeps doing the same thing, it’ll work about 10% of the time against the better teams and he uses that as justification for the shit the other 90% of the time.

If the Waterford County Board have any sense they’ll boot him out the day after their inevitable exit in Munster.

Not a hope. That would mean he’d be going into the Championship with a ‘structure/setup’ that hasn’t had any goes at all yet in a competitive match which would be suicidal.

It was a must win game at home to a Chin-less Wexford.

It was a shocking result but you live and you learn.

Great opportunity for The Wexford People to go with a midweek edition headline:

“Chin-less Wonders”

Fagan, how you think wexford bigger team than waterford. I would say the opposite. Wexford without chin, Ryan, Mcdonald and jack o Connor are a very small team. Ye in contrast have big lads like Fitz, kieiy leavy, etc.

It’s mad.

I think you’d enough cover for Hearne’s goal but they just didn’t get involved.

Davy ball is never going to be the answer.