Allianz National Hurling League 2024

Its not.

Lot of immensely skilful players in the game at the moment, true for you. The problem is the rucks, which constrict the action’s flow.

Limerick would still win if the handpass was removed.

The game as a contest is broken now due to illegal steps and throwing but the Sunday game et al and all the other MSM who have their cushy gigs won’t call out this shambles.

You either have rules or you don’t.

You are spot on, as usual.

You’re 100% right, this shite about the handpass is only brought up by the counties that are losing. Limerick are the best with or without a throw ball

They are playing to the rules as they are applied. They took the throwing from the Kilkenny lads

Totally agree. I’m trying to coach u12s now and really difficult to coach the handpass, they just want to throw it.

All the young fellas just throw it now. And sure why wouldn’t they. It’s wrong. But sure it’s way easier and more accurate than a hand pass. TBF to the refs it’s impossible to call it live some throws are technically handpasses they are just so fast the ball hardly leaves the hand

@Glentaisie all the Dunloy lads going back in with Antrim. Big boost but what’s caused the u-turn?

I thought they all pulled out to put all their eggs in the All Ireland Club basket.

Sure they’ve had a grand break now. Go back in and get intercounty level for a few months would hardly harm things

That’s fine so, let’s legalise the throw.

Antrim’s own Michael Duignan.

The new trial rules would be a better way of fixing it than just legalising throwing imo. Speaking of which I haven’t seen much in the way of an outcome or analysis of the trial.

Little surprised to see that Tipp were slight favourites yesterday in the bookies. I fancy them but thought they’d be underdogs against Clare

Will Clare want to win?

It’ll all come down to who doesn’t want to win it the most

The Kilkenny’s will surely be happy enough to win it given they are guaranteed to get out of Leinster and they won’t face any potential opponents again for a long while

A Kilkenny v Tipp league final is what the general public probably wants. A real throwback.

I doubt they have much interest in winning it, like I doubt training has been altered in any way for this and I’d anticipate there will be a behind closed doors game scheduled for next weekend v Galway if they win tomorrow where both teams go full strength and full bore at each other like the last two years pre championship.

But Clare still have every chance as there is emerging depth and their conditioning looks very good throughout the panel. In Lohan’s first three league campaigns any side we would put out minis half a dozen starters would really struggle to compete physically against any other half decent division 1 side, that is no longer the case.

Will Tony Kelly, Mcinerney and Taylor make it back for the Limerick game?