Get an instructor to work out a programme with you. Start light and fuck what everyone else is doing. I generally found that doing a set of 12 with said weight good,rest, then slightly increase weight and do ten reps, rest, increase weight again and then do eight. This can be reversed also and start off heavy.Techniques like this are a good introduction until you find what is good for you and learn a bit more about specific training.
I have the heart rate monitor thingy on the exercise bike I use and always tried to keep it around 150, whihc seems to be just about the right mark for me.
calculator thingy here: http://exercise.about.com/cs/fitnesstools/l/bl_THR.htm
[quote=āGmanā]like so? ? ?
http://media.ebaumsworld.com/picture/sexyitaliana13/bellybutton.jpg[/quote]
Depending on her personality, Iāve done worse.
Yours in shock,
[quote=āThe Pukeā]As I see ChocolateMice has mentioned suppliments does anybody on here take themā¦A lad I know went to some coaching workshop in L.I.T last year and they had the IRFU dietician at it and she said that only elite athletes should be taken them and that they would have little or no affect on a club player at any sportā¦
Does anyone take that berocca stuff also lads is it any goodā¦My sleeping has gone to fuck over the past year and I coud do with a bit of an energy boast in the morning and around 6.30/7 p.mā¦[/quote]
regarding supplements Puke, iāve had this chat with a few top club runners (would be close to olympic standard) and for the most part if youāre on supplements and not maintaining an exercise regime similar to michael helps youāll piss them away.
long and the short, the human body can only process a certain amount of each nutrient and anything after that is removed as waste.
try a sugar boost next time youāre feeling a bit tired, maybe a bar of chocolate or cereal bar / smoothie if youāre more health conscious. a lot of the time tiredness can be related to dopamine or seratonin levels (as opposed to simply running low on calories/energy) which can be replenished easily with the right foods.
failing that, i usually grab a few multibionta or echinacea tabs if i feel like iām run down. (alright if i mention a particular brand rock? no affiliation)
[quote=āGmanā]I have the heart rate monitor thingy on the exercise bike I use and always tried to keep it around 150, whihc seems to be just about the right mark for me.
calculator thingy here: http://exercise.about.com/cs/fitnesstools/l/bl_THR.htm[/quote]
If you can do that while keeping the RPMāS between 80 and 90 for 15 minutes on a decent level you wont be long getting fit. I used to be able to do it on level 11 but i reckon i wouldnāt sustain it on level 5 now for ten minutes! The rowing machince can be great too.
With regards to weights, I use the flatulence rule of thumb.
If you are bench pressing for example and doing 3 sets of 15 reps then by the end of the 2nd set you should be letting fly a hum dinger of a fart.
If not, then the weights you are using are too light.
After a few weeks on weights youāll be sorted but it did nothing for my fitness.
Swimming for eg will help your breathing and wonāt hurt joints.
Running cycling etc > 34 yers of age is not for me.
used to love using the rowing machineā¦great work-outā¦canāt do it anymore due to cartilage trouble in me kneesā¦canāt cycle a bike anymore either or else a load od fluid builds up in the knees
10 minutes on a bit at 90 on a hard level is only good for getting the heart rate up to 140 or 150 so you can go and do proper exercise.
When I was around 18-22 I did a 9 mile cylce after work 5 days a week and while I now have quite amazing ankles I donāt think it did me a bit of good.
Yours in honesty,
[quote=ātreaty_exileā]regarding supplements Puke, iāve had this chat with a few top club runners (would be close to olympic standard) and for the most part if youāre on supplements and not maintaining an exercise regime similar to michael helps youāll piss them away.
long and the short, the human body can only process a certain amount of each nutrient and anything after that is removed as waste.
try a sugar boost next time youāre feeling a bit tired, maybe a bar of chocolate or cereal bar / smoothie if youāre more health conscious. a lot of the time tiredness can be related to dopamine or seratonin levels (as opposed to simply running low on calories/energy) which can be replenished easily with the right foods.
failing that, i usually grab a few multibionta or echinacea tabs if i feel like iām run down. (alright if i mention a particular brand rock? no affiliation)[/quote]
Thats what happens with Protien anyway. The body just pisses it out if its not needed. Youād see some young lads shovling the stuff into them after fannying about in the gym, they might as well be throwing their money away for all the good its doing them. You see plenty of it around Limerick with all the young rugby lads trying to get big. Lads as young as 14 doing wieghts is wrong and gyms not supervising this is even worse.
[quote=āGarda Sean Horganā]10 minutes on a bit at 90 on a hard level is only good for getting the heart rate up to 140 or 150 so you can go and do proper exercise.
When I was around 18-22 I did a 9 mile cylce after work 5 days a week and while I now have quite amazing ankles I donāt think it did me a bit of good.
Yours in honesty,
GSH.[/quote]
Well it was done as part of a wider work out that included running, rowing and cycling at a high intensity for 45 mins⦠did wonders for me at the time.
yeah the cycling Iād be doing would be in lieu of a day or night without running. generally would only do the cycling in the off season just to keep ticking over, and then go hard at it in Feb/Mar with a bit of running and weights to try get the fitness levels back up and shake off the wintering.
this very routine got me flying a few years back after 3 years out of the saddle, 3 weight sessions(light enough) and 2 good cardio sessions a week, i never felt as good.
i dont have the time now but manage a weights session most weeks and two good runs to keep the weight off.
I think if you look back on it in 30 or 40 years time it will be regarded as a brilliant joke Puke. Iām not willing to debate the merits of that particular joke on the open forum at the moment but PM me if you want to discuss it in further detail.
Have taken up road cycling recently and did 5 hours of it or so a week for last eight weeks or so and think it has done wonders for my fitness (which was poor). I have noticed a significant difference in my climbing ability in particular where Iād have far more energy over fairly tough climbs like Howth Hill. Might not be great for calorie burning or whatever but suppose it all depends on what your into. Find cycling to be far less boring than joggin/doing weights and as a result have stuck at it longer than i would a different activity. Why the negativity around it here? Understand that it might not be as intense as other exercises but surely if you put required effort in it will have all the benefits of running etc if looking to improve fitness?
I used to do a lot of cycling larry. It definitely gets you fit and burns the calories if you do enough. Thereās a reason why the pros do 7 hour training rides though. An hour of cycling every day might involve a lot of free-wheeling or not very difficult riding on the flat. Probably get fuck all benefit out of it. But jaysis if doing a couple of hard climbs doesnāt get you fit I donāt what does. These days Iād rather jog up the hills I do than cycle. Iām thinking the muscles used for cycling waste away if you donāt use them whereas the ones for jogging are much the same as walking.
Starting cycling to college last month and was fucked the first few days even though I was fit enough to run a marathon around the same time.
[quote=āThrawneenā]I used to do a lot of cycling larry. It definitely gets you fit and burns the calories if you do enough. Thereās a reason why the pros do 7 hour training rides though. An hour of cycling every day might involve a lot of free-wheeling or not very difficult riding on the flat. Probably get fuck all benefit out of it. But jaysis if doing a couple of hard climbs doesnāt get you fit I donāt what does. These days Iād rather jog up the hills I do than cycle. Iām thinking the muscles used for cycling waste away if you donāt use them whereas the ones for jogging are much the same as walking.
Starting cycling to college last month and was fucked the first few days even though I was fit enough to run a marathon around the same time.[/quote]
Yeah I try to make the hour or so I do quite tough to prevent much free-wheeling etc. Interesting point regarding muscles for cycling and how they waste away. Suppose itās all about building them up again after having time away from cycling. Sure wouldnāt the pros take a couple of months completely off from now until their training camps? How long was your cycle to work and what was terrain like as a matter of interest?
I was cycling to UCD from Sandycove so itās about 30 minutes very gradually going uphill and into a vicious north-westerly wind. The wind is the worst part by far. Really makes it tough. Iād work up a fair old sweat going full-throttle.
I donāt think the pros would ever spend so long without doing any cycling at all would they? Anyway Iād imagine yeah in training camp youād build muscle back up fairly quickly riding long days every day.
Sorry. What did you make of the climb? Was it worth it?
Ah yeah, it definitely was. Itās mainly a hike, semi-steep climb to the top until you reach the plateau at the top. The altitude and lack of sleep fucked me up on the final climb. It was very hard to sleep up that high and we started the ascent in the middle of the night, I must have puked about 15 times on the way up but once I started going back down again I was grand. The bug we caught fucked us right up though, Mrs. Fran wasnāt fully right for about a year.