Any of ye ever dig a grave?

Same as that around here Link. It’s considered an honour in a sense to be asked by the family to dig the grave as it is deemed you are well got by that family and the deceased in particular. The diggers are always well looked after, most essential being the feed on the day of the funeral.
Closing the grave has different rituals in different parishes/areas. Where I am, the grave is not closed until the glut of those gathered and the family move on. Later the family come back together for a short prayer and to read the wreathes. In other places each neighbour takes a turn in filling in the grave while the rosary is said. The next guy cuts in to take his turn. That was strange the first time I saw it.
I was asked once to open a grave. It was strange, but there was good craic at it too. After the sad talk, there was some funny stories, the drink, the slagging at fellas workmanship etc. Took 2 days off work to do it, the bosses thought I was trying a fast one when I told them why I was off.

[quote=“KIB man”]When its pissing rain or midges biting the neck of you there is no time for delicate work

Stop Ive heard horror stories. I suppose lots of the old family graves are full to the brim really. Even in my own family the last time the two family graves had to be opened…i wont get into it.

Cremation is the way forward. If anything should happen to me you know my wishes forumites.[/QUOTE]

Be fuck all decent land to be digging into though in West Clare too I’d say. Pure rock that spot.

All the lads with the same avatar is getting a bit confusing.
Has a new aliiance been formed out of the ashes of last night?
[A desperate attempt to tie into this thread]

and bog!!

Bad enough your knowledge of sport is limited at best but geography also :clap:

The Burren is up in North Clare near the Galway border you buffoon.

[quote=“KIB man”]Bad enough your knowledge of sport is limited at best but geography also :clap:

The Burren is up in North Clare near the Galway border you buffoon.[/QUOTE]

Who the fuck mentioned the burren?!!!

So you’re telling me the west of Ireland isn’t infected with stone? :eek:

Get the fuck out of here!

http://www.kpscontractors.co.uk/assets/burial_services.jpghup

Thats in the middle of an urban area someplace ill bet,that short spoade your man has wouldnt be up to much.Id say if you were put on a shovel your hands would fall off you after ten minutes,fucking townie wimps.

The likes of Cian Foley would do that sort of thing, townie cunt.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Who the fuck mentioned the burren?!!!

So you’re telling me the west of Ireland isn’t infected with stone? :eek:

Get the fuck out of here![/QUOTE]

I thought it was West Clare you were referring to earlier. I must be mistaken:rolleyes:

Its boggy land back at the homestead and part of the reason is that there is fuck all stone to drain the land.

Now run along.

That should be on the things that are wrong thread.

Had to do it three times so far…Either neighbours or the for the family members of close friends…

Shan has been busy digging one on here since approx 21.50 last night.

Wahey. Slurpy slurp. Banter the scanter

I hope it’s a double plot so we can put him and witj in. :pint:

Is it only a matter of time before the HSA are all over this?

Good thread tho link. Have never been involved in gravedigging myself but I’d say it could be a good part of a grieving process if the deseased is close to you

A more barbaric activity you couldn’t engage in. Only savages in the bogs would still be at this in this day and age, i mean come on, to be dancing around on a piece of blessed ground, tossing thigh bones and shin bones out over your shoulder as you come across them and each time you find something valuable god knows where it ends up.
I know from experience the Waterford graveyard out the cork road, all the graves are dug by a mechanical digger, much quicker and it doesnt leave a bad taste in the mouth for the grieving relatives, who have seen THE LINK and his boozed up cronies driving pick axes down through the lids of other poor peoples coffins

[quote=“Cian Foley”]A more barbaric activity you couldn’t engage in. Only savages in the bogs would still be at this in this day and age, i mean come on, to be dancing around on a piece of blessed ground, tossing thigh bones and shin bones out over your shoulder as you come across them and each time you find something valuable god knows where it ends up.
I know from experience the Waterford graveyard out the cork road, all the graves are dug by a mechanical digger, much quicker and it doesnt leave a bad taste in the mouth for the grieving relatives, who have seen THE LINK and his boozed up cronies driving pick axes down through the lids of other poor peoples coffins[/quote]

It sounds like a scene from Ft. Ted or something :pint:

a cross between father ted and the riordans i’d say would be more acurate, but shure hey thats what culchies want

[quote=“Cian Foley”]A more barbaric activity you couldn’t engage in. Only savages in the bogs would still be at this in this day and age, i mean come on, to be dancing around on a piece of blessed ground, tossing thigh bones and shin bones out over your shoulder as you come across them and each time you find something valuable god knows where it ends up.
I know from experience the Waterford graveyard out the cork road, all the graves are dug by a mechanical digger, much quicker and it doesnt leave a bad taste in the mouth for the grieving relatives, who have seen THE LINK and his boozed up cronies driving pick axes down through the lids of other poor peoples coffins[/QUOTE]
:pint:

Funniest post I’ve read in a while

Good thread too