Have you tried Murphys ?
It could be, but I trust these lads absolutely.
You’ve always got the option of going away, getting it fixed elsewhere and bringing it back, which they would likely prefer as they cant get any of the cars in for a service til mid January (I asked them to service this whilst they were at it and they couldn’t).
A pal of mine works for the DVLA and they used to send test cars round to secretly check garages were doing Mots as they should. He said they stopped when they realised that garages soon cottoned on, and started writing on the underside of the car warnings for the next tester.
Like someone here said though, the MOT is a very cheap way of making sure your car is safe to drive, or, more importantly that of your loved ones. The MOT lads don’t really care after that.
What happened me thus year was I spent about €400 getting the car readybfir the NCT, then it failed the nct because of leaky shock absorbers and I had to spend another €200. Plus test fee. My uncle told me he doesn’t do anything to his car before his nct niw, just waits to see what grounds he fails on and gets that fixed. So overall I’d say the English system is better.
Ah it is. It’s a safety check only really. They’d never fail you for that.
My lad passed one of the bikes but pointed out it had a big fucking nail right in the middle of the back tyre. “I’ll put that down as an advisory” he said
On a side note, I was waiting in the office for the test this morning, and some lad pulled up in a 19 plate range rover. Hopped out and asked could they quickly look at the tyre which was soft. Had a massive big nail in it, which they couldn’t fix.
He asked how much for another tyre. The lad in the office checked and said “I can get you a matching pirelli for 260” “have you anything cheaper?” "I can get you a reasonable but non matching less good brand for £206.
Your man bought the cheaper tyre.
What does a lad in a hundred grand car be thinking scrimping on a cheap tyre 🤷
An hotelier in Moville was on Claire Byrne there. He was full of “good ideas” like peeling the spuds today and placing them in water and then as he jovially said “Pop them into the Fridge”. The cunt hadn’t factored in the 16 Guinness cans and 6 bottles of Corona already in situ. Do these cunts live in the real world? A spoofer.
HR never paid me and they’ve all fucked off till the new year… Christmas is cancelled. Fuck you all.
I have. In Cork. Murphys should never be consumed anywhere else in the world. It is beautiful in Cork. It is shit everywhere else, doesn’t travel.
Are you that Danny Care fella from Twitter?
I’m not on twitter.
The MOT place will sell you a tyre as well?
Nevermind only seeing all the previous conversation now
Today:
Up at 6.30am
Breakfast
Bring Harley the Wonderdog for walk
Bring Fitzy Jnr to have a blood test
Drive to Sydney to drop presents for various (on Mrs Fitzy’s side of family) relatives at my nieces finely appointed house in the inner west. We were going to go there for Christmas day, but the current restrictions relating to the Sydney outbreak have precluded such a gathering. Which is a great pity. Still, nice to see my two grand nieces ( I have grand nieces and for that matter, grand nephews).
Went to buy lobsters. No lobsters. Got booze instead. Including 6 pack of Canadian Club for underage drinker in family.
Home 3 hours later.
Lunch while reading
Mowed all front and side lawns
Brought Harley the Wonderdog for another walk
Had a swim
Watered the vegetables
Dinner
Watched some shite on TV with herself
Herself went to bed
Washed dishes and cleaned kitchen
Hoovered dining and sitting rooms at 10pm as only time I can do it (herself WFH in sitting room including tomorrow)
Finally sitting here now, finally starting Christmas drinking.
Tomorrow I will go in search of lobster again. In the afternoon we will go and pick up the groceries we have pre-ordered (this does not mean herslef is precluded from still walking around a supermarket for ages even though we are just here to pick up from them)
Home and the Christmas dinner which we now have on Christmas eve. Holidays me hole.
Happy Christmas e-pals.
Into the market for a bit of fresh veg this morning. He told me he ran out of Brussels sprouts at 9, flew off the shelves.
Sprouts are a bizarre one. Bar a pumpkin, I can’t think of any other vegetable that has gotten itself into such a niche where it’s only seen once a year.
Sprouts are rank though so they are probably doing well at that.
You’re not cooking them right.
I’ve tried them everyway. Put this on them, put that on them, fry em with bacon etc. The only reason they are nice with bacon is because of the bacon. I’d rather just have the bacon without the sprout thanks
Fuck.
This kind of happened to me in our old stomping ground a few years back when I was working in there. Got half my pay at Christmas. An admin error. Got a bit worked up on the phone to your wan three days before Christmas, but was relatively calm. Let a few fucks and shits go but not directly at her. Said she couldn’t sort til new year. Gave RD a call. She rang your wan back who tried to claim I was being unreasonable on the phone. RD fucked her out of it, said she’d be going above her if it wasn’t sorted ASAP…full pay was in the bank the next day
Despite a pre booked slot in Dunnes for the Christmas shop, getting back to the car 3 hours later is not cool.
PM me if you’re stuck. I could fire a few quid your way
Imagine the shops closed for two days at Christmas People would lose their lives altogether.
There’s enough bread & milk here to see us through till January.
PM sent.
I’ll survive kid… Shur where would I be spending it? The annual Stephen’s day bro in law jaunt to the pub to bet blindly on donkeys is cancelled. Presents have been all got bar one or two small bits.