I work in the food industry, fucking auld women about 60 are the most contrary. Cunts.
+1. The only positive about Tullow is the nice hotel (Mount Wolseley).
No that was his brother Gupta
Wolseley is average at best.
Today is first day in 3 weeks ive felt somewhat normal after a blast of antibiotics starting earlier this morning. Constant cold or cough the last few weeks while trying to manage wife/kids with strep A/RSV/Scarlet fever - zero craic. But another lockdown would have prevented that ironically enough. 3 hours in blanch centre and an hour in tesco floored me last night. The usual pre Christmas seshwans have been limted so leopardstown on 27 Dec will be hit an awful wallop as will the arrival of Cabaret King to the NH game in Fairyhouse on either New Years Day or mid Jan. Hark now hear the angels sing…
My best friends daughter who was rattled with cancer this time last year has made a full recovery, all her hair has grown back, and a make up voucher i got her was gratefully accepted even if i was wary she might take offence. In saying that a guy i wouldnt know too well but was with us at liam gallagher this year, got sepsis on tuesday, suffered 3 heart attacks, a brain haemorrhage then died and funeral is tmrw leaving behind two kids. God help that family. Hard to get the head around that.
Hug your loved ones, eat drink and be merry but keep an ear/eye out for those in need/less fortunate
Be Roy Curtis
I’m all set. I’ve bought a shit load of what look like unimaginative presents, for people who i may or may not see over Christmas. In fact they’re deviously generic and adaptable, and can please whoever i end up having christmas dinner with. I’ll do whatever causes the least bother, while keeping the kids happy. It could be with the oul lad and siblings etc, either of my two exes or even my last in laws. I’ll go with the flow and find out on Christmas day. Theoretically i could end up eating four Christmas dinners, unlikely, though two isn’t an unrealistic prospect. I’m welcome everywhere though…which probably says more about them than me.
Bizarre really, and a bit sad- but its always like this and it always ends up a grand day, I’ll feel positively heroic by the end of it. Truth be told i would like to take a solitary spin to Portstewart, walk the length of the beach, and then eat a Bernard Matthews sliced turkey sandwich in the car. I’d be more than happy, in fact I’d be delighted with myself for getting away with it.
Anyway. Happy Christmas gents, you’re a great bunch of lads and i haven’t a bad word to say about any of you- smile and take it easy, no matter what. If you’re feeling under pressure don’t worry- everyone is fighting a great battle most of the time, including during Christmas…(except @iron_mike. That hoor has it all wotked out)
(Btw @Cheasty I’m still up for it)
(…fair play to me, i don’t know how i do it)
Dunnes have done a remarkable job of convincing the country that it’s a premium experience, in fairness they’ve done a lovely job on most of their large stores,
They have a store in Limerick called Jetland and it’s a status symbol to be seen there, so I’ve heard anyway, there’s a lidl and a tesco very nearby and they wouldn’t get a quarter of the crowd, I like Dunnes myself but management tend to be the biggest cunts you’d ever encounter, I’ve seen them treat staff atrociously on many occasions, you’d love to deck them.
Irish supermarkets are crap in general, I love doing into supermarkets on the continent, generally they’re fantastic
Anyway the big day is nearly here,
My movements between now and the 27 are set in stone, you could set a watch by me, but that’s what we like, Christmas is for kids and to a lesser extent young adults without kids meeting up with old friends etc, a Christmas with restrictions is no good for them so this is great to have a country free of Covid fear or restrictions, we learned a lot about ourselves.
Happy Christmas to all who sail here, it’s obviously a difficult time for many for a variety of reasons, I always try to make it as special for my kids as my parents did for us growing up, it’s about nostalgia and there’s some sadness in that. There’s a lot of people you’d miss, life goes on,
Happy Christmas,
I had reason to be in our local Tesco, Dunnes, Super Valu & Aldi today - walked to all thankfully as you couldn’t be trying to drive through town today. Anyway, Dunnes was absolutely chaotic while the others were busy but calm. I’d rarely shop in Dunnes but you could smell the stress levels in it from the door. No idea why that is when everywhere else is ok
Dunnes mission every year is to "win Christmas " . Ask any manager and they will tell you that. There is significant pressure put on stores coming into the last quarter of the year. They have now gone central distribution with a lot of their suppliers which piles on more pressure
When you start a family you bring different traditions or adopt new ones that become meshed with those of your wife. I’d no problem with spiced beef. I even ventured into Cork yesterday to pick it up. However the missus and her family would never put the baby Jesus in the crib until Christmas day or the 3 wise men wouldnt arrive on until the 8th. When she was out yesterday the whole cast were present when she came back.
She’ll introduce a new tradition tomorrow cos of that. Egg and chips for Christmas dinner
When she was out yesterday the whole cast were present when she came back.
I hope the few extra weeks in purgatory will be worth it pal.
Hug your loved ones, eat drink and be merry but keep an ear/eye out for those in need/less fortunate
Great post @Spidey. You come across as a very decent poster here. You’d be a great man to have a few scoops in a cathedral with I’d imagine.
Wishing all TFKers and their families a nice Christmas.
Everything more or less boxed off here. A little jog done this morning and might go get the car washed after all. Out to the Carlingford Brewery for lunch later. I might get a few takeaway bottles there for later, maybe an auld growler, as I’ll be driving. I’ve had a cunt of a mouth ulcer this week, so have stayed away from the fridge full of Red Stripe. That’ll change tonight, but not many, as we will be heading to Tipp (via Limerick city) after Santa’s visit in the morning for a few days. Will take it easy tonight, watch a Christmas movie, and should be good for the later.
Thinking of those less fortunate, and trying to retain some sense of perspective. I’d a fella here to do a job the other day and another fella had fucked something up, and after a fuel injector going the previous day, I was raving on about it being one of those weeks. The young lad said “I had one of them last week. Buried the father after him going into hospital four weeks ago with a few chest pains”. I felt like some stupid cunt, complaining about relatively small things.
Thinking of our fallen e-brothers, men I never knew personally and especially their families at this time of year. Thinking of the poor souls who’ll be relying on the lovely people at the local Indian restaurant here who do their annual free takeaways and sitdowns for anyone who needs a meal tomorrow. Hope those here struggling in any way (health - mental or physical; finances; martial strife, etc.) get some reprieve over the Christmas period but I realise it can also exacerbate those issues and what I say won’t matter a jot. Regardless, I sincerely hope @Cheasty you get through the Christmas period ok.
Take care of yerselves and try to avoid the arguments over the next few days.
Was in Dunnes at 7:30 for the last few bits and had the turkey picked up in the butchers by 7:50, was a breeze none of the carnage of yesterday. All set now for preparing for tomorrow, will hit Casey’s for 3/4 this evening before our annual trip to mass in the cathedral at 10pm, wishing everyone and their families a joyous and peaceful Christmas.
No idea if I’m set or not. Working this evening till 10 or so (hopefully). I’d imagine I’ll have the M7 to myself tonight
Anyway, merry christmas all. I personally hate this time of year for many reasons but I hope you all enjoy it as best you can.
Take care of yerselves and try to avoid the arguments over the next few days.
Fuck off you bollox
Peace and Love Mike, peace and love
Nailed Dunnes earlier, in and out before 9. Smashing work. Picked up a few other bits. Coffee then and some TFK’ing as I’m in the car wash queue. The back of it is broken now.
Herself and the lass did food bank deliveries last night, and they both came home in tears. I’m glad my lass saw it tbh as she was getting detached from reality, but it was a hard lesson. She’s still quiet today. Count your blessings everyone. We are all on a thin skim of ice.