Artur Boruc

Poland would have been buried by half time if it wasn’t for him last night.

Pure quality as well as being a mental fooker.

My second favourite player after Aiden. Only saw a couple of minutes of yesterday’s game but caught the half time analysis and saw his saves. Funnily enough I think the weakest part of his game is one on ones. He’s by no means bad at them, just his shot stopping ability his phenomonal and this is secondary.

Are you off your rocker like the great man himself? His one on one style is Schmeichelesque and the only way you can beat him is by rolling it through his legs, like that hun did in March. He’s outstanding at saving all type of shots in my opinion, including one on ones, and I definitely wouldn’t see it as a relative weakness in his game.

I thought it was funny last night on RTE. On Sunday before Germany-Poland, Billo mentioned that Strachan said he was one of the top 5 'keepers in the world and it was Souness in particular who dismissed it by saying if he was he wouldn’t be playing for Celtic and the other two broadly agreed with him. Then going through the saves at half-time, Dunphy chirps in with 'Excellent 'keeping and this is a guy who’s among the top 5 ā€˜keepers in the world.’

Yeah it’s the timing of his jump though that can be a small bit off. He rushes out and springs forward and spreads his legs and that’s intimidating as fuck and very hard to beat. But the thing is if you know he’s going to do it you can see him doing it a little bit and just clip it under him. The hun didn’t of course - he just got lucky - but Kaka’s goal last year was a bit like that. Unless he surprises you with the sudden spring forward then you can see him jump and just poke it under him.

Obviously this wouldn’t always work and he’s still better at one on ones than nearly every other goalkeeper in the world - just think he can do a small bit of work on it. Whereas a header bouncing down into the corner of the goal - I think he’s just extraordinary at that sort of save.

[quote=ā€œtherock67ā€]Yeah it’s the timing of his jump though that can be a small bit off. He rushes out and springs forward and spreads his legs and that’s intimidating as fuck and very hard to beat. But the thing is if you know he’s going to do it you can see him doing it a little bit and just clip it under him. The hun didn’t of course - he just got lucky - but Kaka’s goal last year was a bit like that. Unless he surprises you with the sudden spring forward then you can see him jump and just poke it under him.

Obviously this wouldn’t always work and he’s still better at one on ones than nearly every other goalkeeper in the world - just think he can do a small bit of work on it. Whereas a header bouncing down into the corner of the goal - I think he’s just extraordinary at that sort of save.[/quote]

But surely you have to recognise that a 'keeper can only save a certain amount of one on ones. When he does that star-jump like lunge forward (that TFK astro team fans will have seen me replicate on numerous occasions) he saves the ball with all parts of his body. He saved the first one on one last night with his knee, the second with his thigh and then did it again when the lad was cutting in from the right and saved with his legs. The law of averages suggests he’ll get done through his legs the odd time but these occasions are few and far between compared to the amount of saves he makes. Who’s to say that if he stood up big with his legs closed he wouldn’t get beaten to either side more often?

I’m sure he would get beaten more often if he stood up straight Bandage. I think you’re reading too much negativity into what I’m saying. I just think he can work on the timing of it a bit. Like against the hun at Ibrox. If he’s not going to get close to where the ball is struck from then he shouldn’t do it. It’s just a timing of the execution type thing.

Fair enough but you do realise I’m very defensive of my Artur.

http://www.celticfc.net/news/stories/news_020708103319.aspx

fighting fit boruc ready for celts return

HAVING produced yet another outstanding personal performance in a major international tournament, Artur Boruc believes that he will return to Celtic fighting fit and ready for pre-season training.

The Polish No.1 first established himself as a national hero with his displays in the 2006 World Cup in Germany and succeeded in repeating the feat in this summer’s European Championships in Austria and Switzerland.

Boruc was Poland’s most outstanding player in the games against Germany, Croatia and Austria and, despite his side going out in the group stages, was voted among the players of the tournament.

It has been a busy summer for the 28-year-old, whose wife also gave birth to their first child during the championships and as he explained, he will return to Glasgow lean and hungry for the challenges of the new season.

"Right now I weigh around 115kg,ā€ he commented. ā€œIt has been such an intense summer I probably weigh less than I should, but I’m really feeling in good shape.

"Some people have joked about my fitness level in the past but I think a lot of that is to do with my style of play.

"I like to have a laugh sometimes and maybe my style makes me look a little casual.

"But it’s part of my game. I stay on my feet as long as possible and try to cover as much of the goal as I can. I wait for my opponent until the last second and normally it works well.

ā€œAnyway,ā€ he added, ā€œas far as I’m concerned mental preparation is more important than physical preparation, particularly for a goalkeeper.ā€

The personal accolades have continued to pour in in the wake of the championships and having had a star named after him following his World Cup displays in 2006, Boruc was this year named ā€˜Goalkeeper of the Tournament’ by Germany’s highly respected ā€˜Kicker’ magazine.

"These statistics only concern individuals,ā€ he commented, ā€œbut it doesn’t mean much if the team isn’t successful too.

"Nobody will remember good individual displays if the team has not been successful.

ā€œWe play as a team and whatever happens, that’s what matters most.ā€

My understanding of Polish is basic enough but the below article from The Holy Goalie’s website seems to suggest that he’s asked for a transfer. As far as I can make out, he says that he wants to leave for a new and inspiring challenge. He mentions his relationship with the fans and how proud he is of the team’s achievements over the past few seasons. He talks about the getting to the latter stages of the Champions League and says he’s grateful to Celtic and owes the club a great deal. Equally, he says that he feels he’s repaid the €1.5m transfer fee that Celtic paid for him and asks the club to respect his wishes to leave and not to ask for an exorbitant fee for him. Maybe one of you can get a better grasp of it but I think I’ve got the general jist of the article.

http://www.arturboruc.com/news.php?id=1440

ā€œPanie prezesie, chcę wyjechać z Glasgow. Niełatwo mi o tym mwić, wiele tutaj przeżyłem i osiągnąłem, związałem się z kibicami, nigdy o minionych latach nie zapomnę. Potrzebuję jednak nowego, inspirującego wyzwania, chcę się sprawdzić w najmocniejszej lidze, może angielskiej, a może włoskiej. Dlatego proszę, by przez wzgląd na ostatnie sezony mi pan pomgł. Zażądał za transfer godnych pieniędzy, ale nie szaleńczo dużych. Przecież dał pan za mnie Legii tylko 1,5 mln euro, przecież tę kwotę spłaciłem po wielokroć, przecież także dzięki mnie Celtic wreszcie - i to dwukrotnie - zagrał w 1/8 finału Ligi Mistrzw. Ja sporo zawdzięczam klubowi, klub sporo zawdzięcza mnie. Czuję, że czas się rozstać i proszę, by nie blokował pan transferu za wszelką cenę. Proszę o wsparcie.ā€

[quote=ā€œBandageā€]My understanding of Polish is basic enough but the below article from The Holy Goalie’s website seems to suggest that he’s asked for a transfer. As far as I can make out, he says that he wants to leave for a new and inspiring challenge. He mentions his relationship with the fans and how proud he is of the team’s achievements over the past few seasons. He talks about the getting to the latter stages of the Champions League and says he’s grateful to Celtic and owes the club a great deal. Equally, he says that he feels he’s repaid the 1.5m transfer fee that Celtic paid for him and asks the club to respect his wishes to leave and not to ask for an exorbitant fee for him. Maybe one of you can get a better grasp of it but I think I’ve got the general jist of the article.

http://www.arturboruc.com/news.php?id=1440[/quote]

Feck that.

Here you go Bandage…

Dear President (of club presumably), I want to leave Glasgow. It is not easy for me to say, especially because of the fans which I will never forget. I need a new inspiring assignment , I want to try myself out in the strongest leagues, maybe in England maybe Italy. So I ask you for help. I want to go for good money but not crazy money. Remember Sir you bought me from Legia for 1.5 million Euro and I have paid you back that amount many times. Thanks to me (!) Celtic have played twice in the last 16 of the Champions league. I have done a lot for the club and the club have done a lot for me. I feel that it is time for me to leave and I ask you kindly not to block my transfer at all costs.

I told you on AFR some months back that at the time he signed the contract he told the Polish press that he would move if he got an offer to one of the big European clubs.

[quote=ā€œbalbecā€]Here you go Bandage…

Dear President (of club presumably), I want to leave Glasgow. It is not easy for me to say, especially because of the fans which I will never forget. I need a new inspiring assignment , I want to try myself out in the strongest leagues, maybe in England maybe Italy. So I ask you for help. I want to go for good money but not crazy money. Remember Sir you bought me from Legia for 1.5 million Euro and I have paid you back that amount many times. Thanks to me (!) Celtic Thanks to me (!) Celtic of the Champions league. I have done a lot for the club and the club have done a lot for me. I feel that it is time for me to leave and I ask you kindly not to block my transfer at all costs.

I told you on AFR some months back that at the time he signed the contract he told the Polish press that he would move if he got an offer to one of the big European clubs.[/quote]

your quote there says "Thanks to me (!) Celtic "
on other celtic websites it says ā€œi have helped Celticā€

Crisis averted. Crisis averted.

It’s a new section on arturboruc.com which includes press articles about Boruc.

The above is an article from the Polish press written by a journalist. He’s basically writing what he would say if he was Artur himself.

In other words, get stuffed Polish journalist - the Holiest of all Goalies is remaining a Celt.

yet another massive slip up from bandage.

larry, I was merely looking to cause suspense on the forum. I got 3 replies so job done as they say.

Artur Boruc, the Polish face of McDonald’s:

YouTube - Artur Boruc McDonald’s advert

Boruc has been suspended by Poland for 2 games for going on the piss after their friendly the other night. What a character. What a man.

Boruc suspended after boozy party?

Poland’s football coach, Leo Beenhakker, has suspended goalkeeper Artur Boruc and midfielders Dariusz Dudka and Radoslaw Majewski for ā€œunacceptable and irresponsible behaviourā€ after Wednesday’s defeat against Ukraine.

Head of the Polish Football Association (PZPN), Michal Listkiewicz, said that Beenhakker was extremely upset and disappointed, because he does not tolerate even the slightest violation of personal conduct rules.

After the match against Ukraine, the three players moved to another hotel away from the rest of the team, and against the direct orders of the coach. They have been accused of taking part in a drunken party, but Glasgow Celtic’s Artur Boruc denied the allegations: ā€œNothing like that happened. Someone wants to destroy the atmosphere in the national team,ā€ he told the Sport.pl portal.

Leo Beenhakker is to talk with the players next week and decide whether they should be punished. Listkiewicz said that he does not know if the coach will pick the players for the World Cup elimination matches against Slovenia and San Marino in September.

Leo Beenhakker appeared very angry after the match against Ukraine whuch Poland lost 0-1. Normally he lets the players wind down and go for a beer after a game, but this time he categorically forbid them to leave their hotel.

Poland’s first match in the qualifying group for the 2010 World Championships in the Republic of South Africa will take place in Wroclaw on 6 September. Four days later, the players will leave for San Marino.

He didn’t even play in the match did he? Think Beenhakker said that Fabianski’s form was too good to ignore or some shite like that.

Yep, Fabianski played alright. I don’t think Beenflicker realises he’d be out of a job only for The Holy Goalie’s Euro 2008 displays.

Beenhaker seems to have a problem with the HG - strange considering how good he has been for Poland