Athletics Thread

Brilliant. Absolutely fucking brilliant.

Over the moon for her.

Best thing of all is you know she’s running clean.

Fair play. 3 gold medals today.

The cynics might say the best lads are going to Tokyo but this is a decade of structures and coaching and coach development by Athletics Ireland. Wait til the kids with the Eastern European parents get throwing

What happened the Moses girl who won gold in 2017? (I don’t remember her winning, I just read it last night)

She’s probably not pushed on the way you’d hope but she’s young and had an injury or two

Having said that it’s a huge jump from junior to senior athletics and a lot of athletes won’t go much faster than they manage at 20/21. It’s not unlike minor and senior in GAA but it’s objective and the times don’t lie.

Magnificent. Take your other sports and shove them up your hole :+1:

Yuriy Sedykh RIP

His 86.74 world record at the 1986 European Championships in Stuttgart still stand and is the longest standing world record in men’s Track and Field.

I was in the Mardyke the night himself and Litvanov repeatedly broke the world record, incredible scenes

Cork City Sports 1984. One of the greatest ever duals in the history of Track and Field. Think it was 6 times between them they broke the world record that night.

Sunday week in Abbotstown

Lovely stuff. Hopefully it’s carried out in a proper manner.

Also all male prospective candidates should sport a mullet for a minimum of 2 years

Ability to spit bile at any reference to Kerry GAA will be viewed favourably

Euro cross country on RTE2 now

Exciting mixed relay last leg now

Fourth. The age old story for Irish running.

4th for the men’s as well. Some achievement for them

1 week after a huge PB in the marathon Finnoula goes here