There’s an awful lot of people on this thread hanging for post of the year nominations.
Totti - Cheers, i think its time for an update.
TASE - I also agree whole heartidly, sport is a massive entrance to any community. I’m involved in 2 Aussie Rules teams, one as a coach and the other we train with them on friday nights. I’ve been in a place called Northam out in rural WA working on a big Detention Centre job, its probably been the most interesting and enjoyable time yet, for a myriad of reasons. We train with one of the 2 local teams here and they are simply a brilliant bunch of lads, the way they have brought us into their team/club/circle would have to be experienced to be believed and its not fake.
The guys we work with on site are the best Aussies i’ve met also, most of them are rural lads which there is a clear difference with, but also a few young lads from Perth have really fitted in with us as well. The majority of Irish lads here are bang on too even if a few idiots have caused some trouble, but this isyouth and drink fulled and nothing different from any other young fellas ignorence really.
The most interesting thing about this place is the Tribal war going on with 2 Aboriginal families which is inter mixed with a real underbelly of race hatred, mostly it must be said from the Aboriginals. If they are not fighting with each other they attack whites. Its a rough cunt of a town in a way, but also a great place and sad to see the crap can’t be dealt with. I’ve already too many stories to tell than to go on about them here, but just google Northam riots or whatever and you’ll get an idea. I would naturally have alot of sympathy for the Aboriginal community, but to be honest in my limited (but action packed) experience here the Blacks are the cause of the vast majority of issues here.
I like the place for the laugh on friday night drinking 3 dollar beers after training, the work and the decent money that you can save as your not paying for much and the for the friends i have made here. But its all tempered by the fact i can’t walk home at night at home on my own. We live right in the middle of the rough area and 3 doors down from where one riot started. Its entertaining, sad and perplexing all at once.
I have also made a 2nd trip to Sydney. I actually really enjoyed it, but that may have to do with the circumstances of meeting friends over and where we went, but there is definitely some really nice areas to enjoy. I would only go live there if i was making good coin and had a place in Coogee or somewhere like that. There are alot of Irish knobs there, but from my experience there is way too much going on for one to be complaining about them, just ignore them.
Are you gone native Kev?
Barry would never stoop so low
In what way Dan? Its taken me an awful long time and alot of miles traveled to find somewhere i really like and am somewhat comfortable with. The thing is of course this place has many similarities (except the race issues & riots) with where i’m from myself. It says alot i suppose. I wouldn’t make the money at home though and being where i am now offers and opportunity to do plenty study etc and i have very little distractions.
Thing is, we have guys asking us here to sponsor us, its going that well with some of these lads. Last night the club president of the football club just said straight out to the 4 of us training, if ye want to stay we’ll arrange it, no big deal. He hasn’t been full of shit so far so i don’t see reason to see why they wouldn’t either. Not sure if thats what i want though, although the option of home/here might be a good one. The experience i’m getting in Strength & Conditioning is great too, i don’t think i’d get it as easy back home.
Kev you’ll be president of the country soon enough. And rightly so, from what I can tell.
IKWT ! Flying the flag properly in Austraila.
That’s the thing, i’ve gone somewhere where there are no Irish and can make myself more learned/sophisticated by mixing with the locals here and experiencing their culture. Most of these tards in Oz mix solely with peoples they went to school with or from the same locality as them.
Be careful, Kev.
http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/newsfeatures/news/newsarticle/tabid/5586/newsid/130488/default.aspx
Football Club rookie list player Paul Cribbin suffered facial injuries and damage to his teeth after being the victim of an assault in the early hours of Sunday morning.
Cribbin, who was with fellow Collingwood rookie list player Caolan Mooney, advised the club of the unprovoked attack, which occurred in Melbourne’s CBD at around 2am on March 11. After being located by police, he was transported by paramedics to St Vincent’s Hospital where he remained overnight for assessment. The 19-year-old Irishman has since been discharged from hospital.
Police are investigating the incident so the club will not comment further on that matter. Given Cribbin was under the influence of alcohol, the club will separately be discussing the player’s conduct with him in due course, and will provide an update if and when appropriate.
The Irishman joined the club as an international rookie at the end of the 2010 season after visiting the club for a trial in 2009.
Cribbin played 12 VFL games in his first season at the club last year where he impressed on a half back flank, averaging just under 15 disposals. He suffered stress fractures in his feet and also required a hernia operation.
The County Kildare product made his NAB Cup debut against Melbourne[/url][/b] last week and has played in [b][url=“http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/vfl%202012%20season/tabid/15604/default.aspx”]all three VFL practice matches so far this season.
He lost two front teeth and fractured a bone in his gums, thats a decent slap he got himself there.
I’d prefer if AFL clubs adopted a “no Irish” policy.
maybe he should learn to behave himself the silly cunt
Hes from Kildare, those cunts will never learn.
you’d prefer GGA players to be at home sponging off the state?
no doubt that cunt was looking for a slap, its no coincidence that a lot of irish get assaulted out there, cheeky muldoons acting the hardman like they do at home
where is the best place to head to for a weeks holiday from brissy-have to leave the country for the week and will be fairly broke
Fiji?
Malahide pal.