Aussie Rules 2009

This is probably starting a bit earlier than I expected, but big news already today with Tadgh Kennelly announcing his retirement. He has a desire to go back and play with Kerry, and is wanting to move back ot be with his family. Had a great career out in Sydney, and was one of the stars of their Premiership winning side. Injuries fooked him right up over the last 2 years, so another year in AFL could have seen him completely bolloxed and be fooked altogether. Sydney are in a big decline now tho, aging players and losing Kennelly wont help. They’ll struggle this year, and next year could be way off the radar altogether.

Link?

he announced it overnight, heard a snippet on newstalk this morning, is he mad coming back with the country in the current state, i mean he wouldn’t be financially set up for life from being down there, or would he?

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2009/01/29/2477615.htm?site=local

Sorry MBB, didnt think you’d doubt my integrity here!!!

http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=71550

An emotional Kennelly said the decision to leave the club and the friendships he had forged there over ten years was far from easy. He said addressing the players to inform them of his decision was particularly difficult.

http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=71560

SYDNEY Swans coach Paul Roos paid tribute to the retiring Tadhg Kennelly, comparing his contribution to that of Demons Irish legend Jim Stynes

I’ve seen him develop into a great player but seeing him over the last two years I can sense he’s been frustrated [by the injuries]," said Roos.

I’m absolutely convinced he’s making the right decision. The easiest decision would’ve been to continue on at the footy club and go through the motions.

Kennelly, a member of the Swans’ 2005 premiership winning side, said today’s decision to head home was a combination of injury concerns and his wish to spend more time with this family

Plenty of news about it on other pages too tho. bigfooty and ninemsn are a couple of others with bits of interviews and info on it all.

Aye I see it now. Glad to see him come home now, he’s breaking down regularly enough as it is, coming home now gives him some chance of realising his true dreams. I wish him all the best.

Now if we could only get Begley back…

[quote=“myboyblue”]Aye I see it now. Glad to see him come home now, he’s breaking down regularly enough as it is, coming home now gives him some chance of realising his true dreams. I wish him all the best.

Now if we could only get Begley back…[/quote]

Ye nearly got him back. St Kilda only took him with the very last pick in the draft. Suprised he dropped so far. But he’ll be a good addition to them. A lot of Lions supporters werent happy he was let go just like that. If he gets on well this year, he’ll be there for a long time. If he struggles to get his game tho he could be let go and I’d say that’ll be that.

I have a feeling he’ll be back soon enough, but time will tell. He was all set to return alright, until Kilda threw him a bone. Lions have dispensed with the Irish recruitment thing, Voss (?) was totally against it, depsite being a former team mate of Colms. I know the fans liked him there and he done nothing wrong. He’s a proud boy, he wont run home without giving it a good lash. Meredith will be another matter, cant see him making it at all.

I dont know why Voss delisted him, because he kept on Pierce Hanley, so he actually isnt against the Irish recruitment thing. hard to know about Merdith alright. Same goes with Dyas, Murphy and other young Irish lads there. All clubs hoping to get the next Kennelly/Clarke and when they dont they end up like Aisake who no one knows where he is now.

Perhaps they had to keep on Hanley, who was only out there a short time?

Where is the big long streak of Cork piss now btw, wasnt he let go by Carlton after falling out with them?

Dyas is a huge loss to GAA…saw him play in a hogan cup final against Pats navan a few years back…he was unbelieveble at centre back…

[quote=“myboyblue”]Perhaps they had to keep on Hanley, who was only out there a short time?

Where is the big long streak of Cork piss now btw, wasnt he let go by Carlton after falling out with them?[/quote]

no, they didnt have to keep Hanley. Voss thought he was a better prospect. Can let go of any player during off season, no obligations really.

Aisake is gone from Carlton. he never even made a squad appearance, or was anywhere close to it. Setanta is not exactly lighting things up there either, and it wouldnt suprise me if this is his last year. he finished early with injury last season, and wasnt anything spectacular and was in and out of the side. Carlton improved a lot, and have a lot of very good young players, along with Judd and Fevola and I expect them to be close to making the finals this year. I cant see Setanta making hte team if they get that far, and I think he could go. Aisake was terrible tho. 4 years there and never made any impression on any sort of training team or anything. Suprised they even kept him that long.

AFL started up there 2 weeks ago, and again, Geelong are setting hte pace. Hawthorn have started with 2 losses, one to Geelong in a great game, and suprisingly then to a supposidly aging and depleted Sydney side. My own West Cost Eagles hammered Port Adelaide at the weekend which is a great result for them. Ran Brisbane close last week in QLD and should have won really.

In Irish player news, as NCC reported, Michale Quinn made his debut and had a very good game by all accounts. Fair achievement after only being there a couple of months.

Setanta is back from suspension and could be back in the team this weekend.

[quote=“Gman”]AFL started up there 2 weeks ago, and again, Geelong are setting hte pace.[QUOTE]

The Pies will put an end to that on Thursday!

[quote=“ChocolateMice;153923][quote name=”].

The Pies will put an end to that on Thursday!

They will in their bollocks. Same old Collingwood, pre-season all the experts reckon they’re top 4 material, could actually win the whole damn thing. Once the live shooting starts, they’re as crap as ever. Geelong will destroy them.

funny story coming from Melbourne, the Roos team made a prank video for a laugh to lighten the mood at monotonous training, and it was posted on youtube. It was a rubber chicken having sex with a dead chicken. in fairness, it was just a bit of craic, but as usual, the PC brigade are out in force over it.

[media=youtube]2prv1_kC_ok

Setanta could be back playing for carlton this week too.

Michael Quinn was interviewed after the game at the weekend and it is on this weeks highlights which is on TG4 tonight. They pay tribute to him at the end of the highlights show then talking about his impressive beginning to AFL

[quote=“Gman”]funny story coming from Melbourne, the Roos team made a prank video for a laugh to lighten the mood at monotonous training, and it was posted on youtube. It was a rubber chicken having sex with a dead chicken. in fairness, it was just a bit of craic, but as usual, the PC brigade are out in force over it.

YouTube - North Melbournes chicken sex video 08.04.2009

Michael Quinn was interviewed after the game at the weekend and it is on this weeks highlights which is on TG4 tonight. They pay tribute to him at the end of the highlights show then talking about his impressive beginning to AFL[/quote]

Demeaning to women? How the hell is it demeaning to women? A rubber chicken with a dead chicken probably bought in the supermarket. Thats brilliant. I love the guy about half way through it “a campaigner” who gives out about them killing the chicken! Fookin clown.

What club is Quinn with?

Essendon Bombers. Not too bad of a side, in rebuilding stage after Sheedy and Hird left. Matty Lloyd will be finishing soon enough so will need another big forward, but Quinn had a good game and got on the ball a lot. Made a couple of errors, but to be expected so early on.

WRT the video, I dont know what is going on there Mac. Dont know how they got that it is demeaning to women, but one othe Roos past legends, Wayne Carey, has recently been in a lot of shite over hitting women and being a prick. So obviously people put 2 and 2 together and get femanism. The campaigner lad is right craic. They killed a dead chicken by driving over it. Idiot.

[quote=“Gman”]funny story coming from Melbourne, the Roos team made a prank video for a laugh to lighten the mood at monotonous training, and it was posted on youtube. It was a rubber chicken having sex with a dead chicken. in fairness, it was just a bit of craic, but as usual, the PC brigade are out in force over it.

YouTube - North Melbournes chicken sex video 08.04.2009

Michael Quinn was interviewed after the game at the weekend and it is on this weeks highlights which is on TG4 tonight. They pay tribute to him at the end of the highlights show then talking about his impressive beginning to AFL[/quote]

OH. MY. GOD.

What the fuck? How did they report on that with straight faces? (“sex acts with frozen chickens”!) How did Brent Harvey apologise with a straight face? Did the “campaigner” REALLY begin by saying “Gee, whizz” and then attack them for killing the chicken? Am I insane? Ridiculous stuff.

Home and Away cutting lesbian scenes and now this. Australia be ashamed.